Skywarn Spotter Training Schedule


South Dakota Severe Weather Awareness Week 2015

Wednesday April 22nd is Test Tornado Day:

     Test Tornado Watch at 10 am CDT

     Test Tornado Warning at 10:30 am CDT


Minnesota Severe Weather Awareness Week is April 13-17 2015

Thursday April 16th is Test Tornado Day:       

     Test Tornado Watch at 1pm CDT; Test Tornado Warning at 1:45 pm CDT

     Test Tornado Warning & Watch cancelled at 2 pm CDT

      Second Test Tornado Warning at 6:55 pm CDT (for participating counties)


Skywarn Spotter Training Classes are coming soon!  This training, provided for free by the National Weather Service in Aberdeen, is a 2 hour session on severe weather spotting, thunderstorm identification, and severe weather safety.

Please check the calendar below frequently as additional classes are still being scheduled in some counties.  You may contact the Emergency Manager listed on the calendar, or contact David Hintz, Warning Coordination Meteorologist, with any questions.

March, 2015 - Upcoming
Day City, State Time Location
26 Pierre, SD
(Hughes County)
7:00pm CDT River City Transit Building
Contact Information: Rob Fines 605.773.7454
31 Herried, SD
(Campbell County)
6:30pm CDT Herried Firehall
Contact Information: Lawrence Goehring 605.955.3598

April, 2015 - Upcoming
Day City, State Time Location
07 Timber Lake, SD
(Dewey County)
7:00pm MDT Timber Lake Firehall
Contact Information: Ted Schweitzer 605.865.3202
08 Bowdle, SD
(Edmunds County)
7:00pm CDT Bowdle Firehall
Contact Information: Leland Treichel 605.287.4394
09 Clark, SD
(Clark County)
7:00pm CDT Clark City Hall Community Center
Contact Information: Mike Gravning 605.532.3822
13 Glenham, SD
(Walworth County)
6:30pm CDT Glenham Firehall
Contact Information: Shannon Thompson 605.649.7878
15 Wheaton, MN
(Traverse County)
6:30pm CDT Wheaton Ambulance Garage 401 12th St. N - Wheaton
Contact Information: Lynn Siegel 320.563.0872
20 Milbank, SD
(Grant County)
7:00pm CDT Milbank Firehall
Contact Information: Sheryl Ward 605.432.4637
21 Webster, SD
(Day County)
7:00pm CDT Day County Courthouse
Contact Information: Wes Williams 605.342.2222
23 Aberdeen, SD
(Brown County)
6:00pm CDT Brown County Courthouse Community Room (basement)
Contact Information: Scott Meints 605.626.7122

March, 2015 - Completed
Day City, State Time Location
10 Redfield, SD
(Spink County)
6:30pm CDT Courthouse Basement
Contact Information: Larry Tebben 605.472.4591
11 Miller, SD
(Hand County)
7:00pm CDT Miller Fire Department
Contact Information: Nehemia Volquardsen 605.853.2408
19 Sisseton, SD
(Roberts County)
6:00pm CDT Sisseton Fire Hall
Contact Information: Jim Person - 605.698.3800
24 Watertown, SD
(Codington County)
3:00pm CDT Extension Office
Contact Information: Jim Sutton 605.882.6272
24 Castlewood, SD
(Hamlin County)
7:00pm CDT Castlewood Fire Dept.
Contact Information: Dave Schaefer 605.783.7831
25 Watertown, SD
(Codington County)
7:00pm CDT Extension Office
Contact Information: Jim Sutton 605.882.6272 is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.