ham 2004 event image2004 SKYWARN
Recognition Day

Last Updated: 12/9/04 - tjs

Local amateur radio operators and members of the National Weather Service (NWS) participated in the Sixth Annual SKYWARN Recognition Day on Saturday, December 4, 2004 (0000-2400 UTC). SKYWARN Recognition Day was developed in 1999 by the National Weather Service and the American Radio Relay League. It celebrates the contributions that volunteer SKYWARN radio operators make to the NWS. During the day SKYWARN operators visited NWS offices and contacted other radio operators across the world.

Equipment was setup at the La Crosse NWS office by the Riverland Amateur Radio Club and the Mississippi Valley Amateur Radio Association with operators working radios throughout the event. Everyone involved had a great time.

We made a total of 453 contacts in 44 states, including 50 other National Weather Service offices. We also made contacts in several Canadian Providences. In previous years, our office has never topped 300 contacts so we far exceeded our goal.

We operated on 2m, 10m, 15m, 20m, 40m, 80m, APRS, and CW, logging the most contacts on 20m (215). The busiest contact times were Friday evening (7 p.m. - 9 p.m.), Saturday morning (8 a.m. - 11 a.m.), and Saturday afternoon, (1 p.m. - 4 p.m.). Here are some of the results...

  • Total # of contacts made: 453
  • Total # of NWS offices contacted: 50
  • Total # of states worked: 44
  • Total # of International Contacts made: 7
  • State with most contacts: Pennsylvania (35)
  • Most contacts made on 20m (215)
  • Busiest hour of contacts: 21:00-22:00 UTC (72)

Several groups and amateur radio operators visited our office during the event, including a group from Grant County, WI, Viroqua, WI, and WXOW Television (Channel 19 - La Crosse, WI). Tours were given of our operations area.

A special thanks goes out to the Riverland Amateur Radio Club and the Mississippi River Amateur Radio Association for their participation and use of equipment. As always, we appreciate the time and effort you put in to assist our office.

Radio operators or loggers included:

  • Terry Miller - KB9YXV
  • Tom Speropulos - N9IGS
  • Tom O'Brien - WB9BJQ
  • Craig Goldbeck - N9ETD
  • Greg Hovland - KC0IKU
  • Todd Shea - KB9YXS
  • Ken Cook - KB9YXT
  • James Ackerman - KC9CSS
  • Roger Reader - KA9BKK
  • Bradley Ackerman - KC9EJP
  • Mary-Beth Schreck
  • Mark Smick - N9UNW
  • Tom Peterson - KC9ECI
  • Donna Miller
  • The National page for SKYWARN Recognition Day can be found at: http://hamradio.noaa.gov

    ham 2004 event image
    Pictures from the event: (click on image to enlarge)

    ham 2004 event image ham 2004 event image ham 2004 event image ham 2004 event image
    ham 2004 event image ham 2004 event image ham 2004 event image ham 2004 event image

    USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.