sr_big.gif (18231 bytes)  National StormReady Homepage

North Dakota StormReady Information

StormReady Communities in North Dakota

  • Bismarck - through September 29, 2009
  • Bowman - through October 19, 2009
  • Dickinson - through October 19, 2009
  • Fargo - through January 24, 2012
  • Jamestown - through July 9, 2009
  • Mandan - through July 3, 2009
  • Minot - through May 10, 2012
  • New Rockford - through July 19, 2011
  • West Fargo - through January 24, 2012
  • Williston - through May 24, 2012
  • Is your community next? Contact your local County Emergency Manager for further information

StormReady Counties in North Dakota

  • Bowman County - through October 19, 2009
  • Burleigh County - through February 17, 2011
  • Cass County - through January 24, 2012
  • Cavalier County - through June 12, 2011
  • Eddy County - through July 19, 2011
  • Grand Forks County - through January 28, 2010
  • Morton County - through July 3, 2009
  • Pembina County - through November 25, 2009
  • Stutsman County - through July 9, 2009
  • Walsh County - through September 30, 2009
  • Ward County - through May 10, 2012
  • Williams County - through May 24, 2012

When Seconds Count...StormReady Communities are Prepared!

Ninety percent of all presidential declared disasters are weather related, leading to around 500 deaths per year and nearly $14 billion in damage. To help Americans guard against the ravages of severe weather, the National Weather Service has designed StormReady, a program aimed at arming America's communities with the communication and safety skills necessary to save lives and property.

About StormReady

StormReady prepares communities with an action plan that responds to the hazards of all types of severe weather -- from tornadoes to tsunamis.

The entire community - from the mayor, emergency managers, to business leaders and civic groups - can take the lead on becoming StormReady. Local National Weather Service forecast offices work with communities to complete an application and review process. To be officially StormReady, a community must:

  • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
  • Have more than one way to receive severe weather forecasts and warnings and to alert the public;
  • Create a system that monitors local weather conditions;
  • Promote the importance of public readiness through community seminars;
  • Develop a formal hazardous weather plan, which includes training severe weather spotters and holding emergency exercises.

Storm Ready Recognition Porcess

An advisory board, comprised of National Weather Service warning coordination meteorologists, and state and local emergency managers, will review applications from municipalities and visit the locations to verify the steps made in the process to become StormReady. StormReady communities must stay freshly prepared, as the designation is valid for three years.


The North Dakota StormReady By-laws

North Dakota StormReady By-Laws

The North Dakota StormReady Advisory Board

John Paul Martin
  Warning Coordination Meteorologist
  National Weather Service Office in Bismarck

 Board Members
Ken Jarolimek
  Training, Exercise, and Local Programs Manager
  North Dakota Emergency Management
Dave Rogness
  Emergency Manager
  Cass County 
Jim Campbell
  Emergency Manager
  Cass County
Edward Lodwig
  Emergency Manager
  Williams County 

Jeffrey Savadel
  National Weather Service Office in Bismarck
Mark Frazier
  National Weather Service Office in Grand Forks
Greg Gust
  Warning Coordination Meteorologist
  National Weather Service Office in Grand Forks

Members at Large

 Mary Senger
  Emergency Manager

  Burleigh County
Brent Nelson
  Emergency Manager
  Walsh County is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.