Spotter training sessions have completed for 2013.  Please check back for next year's sessions in early 2014!


The National Weather Service in Cheyenne conducts spotter training sessions, which are normally scheduled throughout the Spring months each year. Attendees are taught the basics of thunderstorm development, storm structure, the features to look for, and where to find them. What, when and how to report information as well as basic severe weather safety are also covered. The session is a multi-media presentation, which includes detailed video. These spotter classes typically take about 1½ to 2 hours, and are open to the public. No prior experience is required, and there is no registration necessary to attend.

Below is the list of severe weather spotter training events scheduled for southeast Wyoming and the Nebraska panhandle in 2014. This page will be updated as new talks are scheduled.

If you have any questions about these events, contact our Science and Operations Officer, Rob Cox, at 307-772-2468 extension: 766.


View NWS Cheyenne Storm Spotter Training in a larger map

There are currently no outreach events scheduled. is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.