Weather Bureau logo

Brief History of National Weather Service Offices 
Past and Present

National Weather Service Logo

 

The National Weather Service (known before 1970 as the Weather Bureau) has had many offices. Many of them evolved as the aviation industry expanded, supporting local airport observations. Many also had varying warning and forecast duties. However, in the 1990's, the NWS was consolidated into 120+ offices, each with roughly the same duties.

The following is an attempt to list all past and present NWS/WB offices. If you have information on any of these, or ones that were missed, please contact Chris.Geelhart@noaa.gov .  Several offices have more detailed histories available, which can be accessed by clicking on the city name. 

Other NWS history pages:

 

Forecast and Observation Sites National Sites

AWSC -- Agricultural Weather Service Center
CWSU -- Center Weather Service Unit
DCO -- Data Collection Office
DFO -- District Forecast Office
FAWS -- Flight Advisory Weather Service
RDO -- River District Office
RFC -- River Forecast Center
SigSvc -- U.S. Army Signal Service Office

WBO -- Weather Bureau Office
WBAS -- Weather Bureau Airways Station
WBFC -- Weather Bureau Forecast Center
WBMO -- Weather Bureau Meteorological Observatory
WFO -- Weather Forecast Office
WSO -- Weather Service Office
WSFO -- Weather Service Forecast Office
WSMO -- Weather Service Meteorological Observatory
WSCMO -- Weather Service Contract Meteorological Observatory
HC -- Hurricane Center
HQ -- Regional/National Headquarters
NMC -- National Meteorlogical Center
NCEP -- National Centers for Environmental Prediction
TC -- Training Center
TWC -- Tsunami Warning Center

 

Location Type Years Details
ALABAMA
Anniston WBO
WBAS
1905-1953 The Weather Bureau established a 1st-order station in Anniston in 1905.  This station closed in 1931 and became a 2nd order station on July 1 of that year.  It was promoted back to 1st order in 1947, but observations were discontinued in 1949 and the office became a general public service office, which closed at the end of August 1953. The WBAS was in operation from the end of 1946 to February 1950. 
Auburn AWSC 1963-1995? An agricultural weather station was established at Auburn University in 1963.
Birmingham WBO
WBAS
WSFO
1895-1993 Volunteer observations in Birmingham first began in April 1882. The period from 10/1886 to 6/1893 saw no observations. Government observations began again 8/14/1895 on a volunteer basis, with a regular Weather Bureau office established 7/16/1903. The office was in the Title Guarantee Building before permanent WB quarters were built in 1907. A separate WB Airport Station operated from 3/13/1943 to 12/1/1945, when both stations were consolidated at the airport. New airport facilities opened 10/3/1965. A Weather Bureau Forecast Office was established in 1969; the forecast functions moved to separate facilities in 1971. All Birmingham operations transferred to a new facility in Calera 11/30/1993.

Calera

WFO 1993-present The new Weather Forecast Office was established in Calera, about 25 miles outside Birmingham. The new office opened 11/30/1993. The site began upper-air weather observations in August 1994. The office has direct access to 3 WSR-88D radars (Calera, Hytop, Maxwell AFB). The new AWIPS computer system was installed in April 1999.
Centreville WSMO 1970-1995 A Weather Service Meteorological Observatory was established in 1970, to operate the WSR-57 network radar.  Upper-air observations were added in 1974 after being moved from Montgomery.  The office was closed in 1995 after the radar was decommissioned, and the upper-air responsibilities moved to the WFO in Calera (Birmingham).
Huntsville WBAS
WBO
WSO
WFO
1941-1954, 1958-present The Weather Bureau established an Airways Station at the Huntsville Municipal Airport on the south side of town, and became the official observing site for the city in 1945.   It was closed in July 1954.  A permanent Weather Bureau Office was opened in October 1958, and was equipped with a WSR-3 radar.  Operations moved to the Huntsville-Madison County Airport in October 1967.  The radar was replaced in 1977 with the newer WSR-74C model, and it was upgraded with Doppler capability in 1991; a WSR-88D radar followed in 1997 at nearby Hytop.  As part of the NWS modernization, the Huntsville office was planned to be closed by 1997; by the end of the year, the only operations remaining were for radar and surface observations.  Local lobbying efforts were successful for a new Weather Forecast Office in 2002, on the University of Alabama at Huntsville campus, and staffing was increased to 18 people; official operations began in January 2003.
Mobile SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
WFO
1870-present The Signal Service established facilities in Mobile on November 6, 1870. The office was destroyed by a fire in November 1880, causing the loss of early records and equipment. It reopened the next day in a new facility. It operated at various locations downtown, most recently at the U.S. Court House from 1936 to April 1953, when the downtown office closed. Meanwhile, an office opened at the old Bates Field (now Brookley Field) in 1939, and relocated to the present Mobile Regional Airport in December 1941. It has remained at this airport since then, with the most recent facility built in 1994.
Montgomery SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
1872-1995 The Signal Service established operations in downtown Montgomery in the fall of 1872, with responsibility passed to the Weather Bureau in 1891.  An airways station was first established at Gunter Field in April 1939, operating until 1942, when the U.S. Army took over.  A new WBAS was opened at Dannelly Field (now Montgomery Regional Airport) in January 1944, and the city and airport offices were consolidated here in 1954.  Rawinsonde observations began 6/1/1956 after being moved from Gunter Field AFB.  A WSR-3 radar was installed in October 1958 and run through 1971; it was replaced with a WSR-74C in 1977.  The upper-air program was moved to Centreville in 1974.  The office was closed in 1995.
Tuscaloosa WBAS 1933-1937  
ALASKA
Anchorage WBO
WBAS
DFO
WBFO
WBMO
WSFO
WSO
WSCMO
WFO
RFC
CWSU
HQ
1929-present

The first Weather Bureau office in Anchorage was established 7/1/1929 on 4th Ave.  It moved to Merrill Field in 1943, where rawinsonde observations began in June 1946.  The office was moved to the new Anchorage International Airport 11/1/1953.   A forecast office was established in July 1964, and moved off the airport grounds in November 1968; a separate meteorological observatory remained at the airport, while another office provided international flight documentation and briefings.  The WSMO was contracted out in October 1980.

The Alaska RFC was established in 1971; river forecasts had been issued by the Alaska Regional HQ for a few years before.  It was co-located with the Anchorage WSFO and the regional HQ.  It was located at the Hill Building and the Federal Building downtown, before moving to near the airport in 1995.  In 1997, the office assumed responsibility for the Pacific Region as well, and was renamed the Alaska-Pacific RFC in 2000.

A Center Weather Service Unit operates out off the Air Route Traffic Control Center, while a separate Alaska Aviation Weather Unit is co-located with the local WFO.

Annette WBAS
WBO
WSO
1947-present The Weather Bureau opened an Airways Station in July 1947, initially taking surface observations but assuming upper-air observations at the end of the year. 
Barrow WBO
WBAS
WSO
1920-present The first Weather Bureau building in Barrow was opened September 1920, but was severely damaged in a fire 12/19/1924.  Upper-air observations began in 1940. The site was upgraded to a first-order station in 1941.
Barter Island WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1956-1988 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established in December 1956, taking over from the Air Weather Service.  Surface and upper-air observations were taken.   The station became a NWS Contract Meteorological Observatory in 1982, then closed at the end of 1988.
Bethel WBO
WBAS
WSO
1923-present A second-order Weather Bureau station was operational from 1923 to 1942, then upgraded to a first-order station.
Bettles WBAS
WBO
WSO
1968-1976 The Weather Bureau opened an airport station in Bettles in May 1968, operating overnight while the FAA took observations during the day.   The FAA took over full-time by 1976. 
Cold Bay WBAS
WBO
WSO
1954-present The Weather Bureau took over weather operations at the former Thornborough AFB in July 1954.  Upper air observations began in August 1955.
Cordova WBAS 1945-1964 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established in September 1945, taking over operations from the Air Force.  Responsibility was transferred to the FAA 11/15/1964, and the WBAS was closed.
Big Delta WBO
WSO
1968-1971 The Weather Bureau opened an office at the FAA Flight Service Station at Fort Greely in December 1968, operating overnights while the FAA was responsible during the day.  The office was closed in the early 1970's.
Fairbanks WBO
WBAS
DFO
WSO
WSFO
WFO
WSCMO
1929-present A Weather Bureau office opened 7/15/1929 in the Horseshoe Building in downtown Fairbanks, with complete weather and climate observations starting November 1929.  The office moved to the new Courthouse building, one block away, in July 1933. The first radiosonde observation was made 5/24/1933. Weather observations increased to 24 hours per day and radiosondes increased to twice a day in March 1941. In July, 1942, all forecasting and observation observations were moved to the Army's Ladd Field. In July, 1943, observations were moved to nearby Weeks Field, and all forecast operations moved to weeks field the following summer.  Observations were moved to the new Fairbanks International Airport, four miles southwest of town, on 8/22/1951 and forecast operations were moved there in early October. In 1953, most forecast operations were transfered to Anchorage and Fairbanks became a standard WBAS. By the late 1960s, a small number of  meteorologists were assigned to Fairbanks in support of fire weather and air pollution forecasting. In April, 1974, following the passage of  legislation to remove all legal obstacles to construction of the trans-Alaska oil pipeline, Fairbanks was reestablished as a WSFO, with forecast and observation  functions at the Fairbanks International Airport. In late 1977, forecast operations moved to the new Federal Building and Courthouse in downtown Fairbanks, while surface and upper air observations remained at the airport. The first (and only) WSR-88D radar in Interior Alaska was installed on Pedro Dome, 20 miles northeast of Fairbanks in the summer of 1993. In 1998, forecast operations moved to the new International Arctic Research Center building on the University of Alaska campus. In September, 1999, responsibility for ASOS augmentation at the airport was transfered to a contractor with FAA administration. NWS staff continued to launch RAOBS from the airport until March, 2006, when this was transfered to a contractor with NWS administration.
Farewell WBAS
WSO
1967-1971 The Weather Bureau established an office at the FAA Flight Service Station in 1967, operating 16 hours a day.  In 1970, it was reduced to a single shift on weekends, then closed in 1971.
Gambell WB/UA  1942-1953 An upper air station was established in Gambell in 1942.
Gulkana WBAS
WBO
WSO
1967-1971 A WBAS was opened at the Gulkana FSS station in July 1967, primarily operating during the overnight hours.  It was replaced by an Automated Meteorological Observing Station in 1971.
Homer

WBAS
WBO
WSO

1967-present The Weather Bureau established an office at the Homer FSS in 1967, operating primarily overnight during the week. Weekend shifts were added in 1971.
Iliamna WBAS
WBO
1967-1970 The Weather Bureau established joint operations with the Flight Service Station in Iliamna in April 1967, operating two shifts a day.   Operations were fully assumed by the FSS in May 1970.
Juneau WBO
DFO
HQ
WSFO
WFO
1917-present The Weather Bureau began issuing forecasts for Juneau in 1917, then expanded the forecasts to Fairbanks and the Tanana Valley. In May 1919, Juneau was established as the district forecast office for the state. A regional headquarters office was opened in 1941, then moved to Anchorage in the mid 1940's.
Ketchikan WBO 1940-1947 The Weather Bureau assumed operations of the Ketchikan station from cooperative observers in September 1940.  At the end of 1947, the Weather Bureau office was closed.
King Salmon WBAS
WBO
WSO
1955-present The Air Force turned over surface weather operations to the Weather Bureau in November 1955, with upper-air observations transferred in December 1955.  The Air Force resumed taking observations in 1975, and the NWS office was operated 1 shift a day.  The NWS resumed observations when the Air Force base was closed in 1993.
Kodiak WSO 1973-present A National Weather Service office was established in January 1973, assuming operations from the U.S. Navy.  Surface and upper air observations were taken.
Kotzebue WBAS
WSO
1942-present  The Weather Bureau took over for the Signal Corps at Kotzebue in October 1942.   The station began 16 hour per day operations in 1971, with the Flight Service Station taking observations during the remainder of the day.
McGrath WBAS
WBO
WSO
1942-present The Weather Bureau opened an airport station at the McGrath Airport in April 1942, and began radiosonde observations in 1946.  The station remains in operation today.  Routine radiosonde observations began in October 1954. 
Minchumina WBO 1967-1969 This station operated briefly in the late 1960's in support of fire weather forecasting.

Nome

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1930-present A second-order station was established in Nome in 1916, then upgraded to a first-order station 8/1/1930.  It originally was in the city of Nome, then relocated to the airport 3/1/1946.
Northway WBAS 1942-1957 A Weather Bureau Airport Station opened in October 1942, taking over for the Air Force.  Upper-air observations were transferred to the Cold Bay office in June 1955, with the station operating 16 to 20 hours a day afterward.  The office was closed in July 1957.

Palmer

TWC 1973-present  The Palmer Observatory was established in 1967 as part of the Coast and Geodetic Survey.  It was transferred to the NWS in 1973 and renamed the Alaska Tsunami Warning Center.  Its area of responsibility was expanded to include the west coast of Canada and the United States in 1982.  Operations were further expanded in 1996 to include any Pacific tsunami that may affect these areas, and it was renamed the West Coast & Alaska Tsunami Warning Center.  Around 2005, further expansion in operation was done to include the U.S. Gulf Coast, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands, and the Atlantic coasts of the U.S. and Canada.

Saint Paul

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1945-present The Weather Bureau took over operations of the St. Paul Island station from the Army.  Upper-air observations were added in 1947, when the station was moved to the airport. 
Sheyma WBO
WBAS
WSO
1960-1973 The Weather Bureau took over operations of the Sheyma station from the Navy Weather Service in 1960.  The Air Force, which had earlier operated the station, resumed responsibilities at the beginning of 1974.
Summit (Cantwell) WBAS
WSO
1968-1976 This station started as a joint operation with the FAA, and was separated in 1970.  The station was closed after an automated station took over in October 1976.
Talkeetna WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1966-1991? This station was established for a joint operation with the FAA, which had been handling the observations for several years prior.  The NWS portion became a contract meteorological observatory in 1980.
Tanana WBAS 1968-1969 A joint Weather Bureau/FSS operation began in May 1968, with the Weather Bureau operating overnights on weekdays.  The FSS assumed full oeprations when the Weather Bureau office was "temporarily" closed in July 1969, but the office was never reopened.
Umiat WBAS 1947-1952 Joint operations with the CAA were conducted from 1947 to 1952, with only a couple Weather Bureau employees involved.  The station became a part time CAA station in 1952.
Unalakleet WBAS
WSO
1967-1990 Joint Weather Bureau/FSS operations began in 1967, with the Weather Bureau operating evening and overnight on weekdays, and 24 hours on weekends.  By 1973, the station operated days throughout the week, and evenings on the weeknights.  An Automated Meteorological Observation System was installed around 1976, which took observations when the weather office was closed.   The office itself was closed in March 1990.

Valdez

WSO
DCO
1972-present The NWS established an office in downtown Valdez in October 1972 to take aviation observations for 8 hours a day on weekdays.  This was expanded to 16 hours a day on weekdays and 8 hours weekends, beginning in January 1975, with an additional weekend shift added in July of that year.  A full 24 hour a day operation was established in March 1977 when the office was moved to the Coast Guard building. 

Yakutat

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1948-present The U.S. Army transferred weather operations in Yakutat to the Weather Bureau in June 1948.  Upper air observations began in the mid 1950's. 
ARIZONA

Flagstaff

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1943-present  A Weather Bureau office opened at the Post Office bulding in June 1943, then moved to the municipal airport (now Pulliam Airport) in January 1950.  Office operations dropped to 8 hours a day in April 1981, but later expanded back to 16 hours.  In 1998, the office staff and focus was expanded as part of the NWS modernization, going to 24 hour operations and taking over upper-air duties from the Winslow office.

Payson

WBO 1945-1952 A Weather Bureau station opened in November 1945, but dropped down to part-time status the following January.  It resumed 24-hour operations in July 1948, before permanently closing in May 1952.

Phoenix

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSFO
WFO
1876-present  The Signal Service commenced operations in Phoenix in January 1876, with the Weather Bureau taking over in 1891.  The city office remained downtown until 1953.  An airport station was established in May 1933 at Sky Harbor Airport, but closed in 1935 before being reactivated in 1939; the two offices were combined at the airport October 1953.  Pilot balloons were released beginning in 1930, continuing until 1966.  The office was upgraded to a Weather Service Forecast Office in June 1971, and became a Weather Forecast Office as part of the modernized NWS in the 1990's and moved to the Salt River Project administration building in Tempe.
Prescott WBAS
WBO
1942-1964 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established at Love Field 8/8/1942.  The station operated part time much of this period, with personnel from the CAA/FAA staffing the other times.  The station was closed 12/31/1964.
St. Johns WBAS 1944-1945 A Weather Bureau Airport Station operated at Saunders Airport from June 1944 through the end of 1945.

Tucson

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
WFO
1875-1880, 1891-1895, 1932-1934, 1940-present  The Signal Service opened a station in Tuscon in October 1875, although the Army had been taking observations in the area since 1866.  This station closed in 1880; a Weather Bureau station was established in October 1891 at the University of Arizona, but it closed in 1895.  In 1932, a Weather Bureau Airport Station was established at Tucson Municipal (now International) Airport, but was transferred to the CAA for a period from 1934-1940.  Upper-air observations began in March 1956.  A WSR-74C radar was commissioned in January 1983, and decommissioned after a WSR-88D was installed in the area in the 1990's.  The office itself was relocated to the University of Arizona campus in February 1997, and the office was upgraded to a Weather Forecast Office.  A contract meteorological observatory remained behind at the airport to conduct upper-air observations until 2004, when the function was also moved to the university campus.

Winslow

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1931-1998 A Weather Bureau Airways Station opened up at the end of October 1931.  Rawinsonde observations were begun in November 1961.  In 1998, an ASOS was commissioned and the upper air program was transferred to the Flagstaff office, and the Winslow office was closed.

Yuma

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1875-1998 Signal Service operations began at Fort Yuma in October 1875, with the Weather Bureau taking over in July 1891.  The office was moved to the Yuma County Airport in 1948, sharing observing responsibilities from the CAA.  The office was closed in 1998.
ARKANSAS
Bentonville WBO 1906-1943 This Weather Bureau office was opened 3/1/1906.  The office was closed in 1943, with observations transferred to a volunteer.
Brinkley WBAS 1942-1946 The Weather Bureau took over this Airways Station at Intermediate Field on 11/1/1942.  The office was closed 12/18/1946, with observations transferred to a volunteer.

Fort Smith

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1882-2005 A Signal Service station was established in Fort Smith in June 1882 at the Government Building, then moved to the Eberle  Building in 1885.  It was at the Grand Central Hotel when the Weather Bureau took over, and moved a few more times before settling down at the Federal Building in 1900.  The office was moved to the municipal airport in October 1945.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned 8/30/1960, and replaced by a WSR-74C radar 12/29/1975.  Warning operations were transferred to the Tulsa NWS in the early 1990's, but the local radar operations continued until a WSR-88D was commissioned on 8/22/1997.  The WSR-74C radar was decommissioned in 1998.  The office was officially closed in the fall of 2005, after the last official in charge retired.

Little Rock

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSFO
WFO
1873-present  The Signal Service established an office in 1873 to measure rainfall and river data, and the site became a first order station 7/1/1879.  The Weather Bureau took over operations in Little Rock in 1892.  The main office was downtown; the Weather Bureau assumed operations of the airways station at Adams Field at the start of 1939.  The two offices were largely consolidated at the airport 4/16/1942, with the downtown site maintaining only a printing office and some observational duties until permanently closing 8/7/1942.  A WSR-3 radar was installed 12/19/1957, replacing a military APS-2E which operated since June 1954, and this radar was replaced with a WSR-57 which was commissioned 4/19/1961.  The office was designated as a Weather Service Forecast Office at the end of 1971.   The office relocated to the North Little Rock Airport 12/5/1975, with the radar and upper air observations following a month later.  A WSR-88D was installed early in 1993, and officially commissioned on 6/15/1994; the old WSR-57 was subsequently decommissioned about a year later (6/8/1995).
Texarkana WBAS 1942-1968 The Weather Bureau took over weather operations from the CAA on 4/25/1942.  In September 1954, the two agencies began to jointly operate the station.  In 1968, all observing functions were transferred to the FAA.
CALIFORNIA

Bakersfield

WBO
WSO
1929-1995 While weather observations from Bakersfield dated back to 1895, the federal government did not open its Weather Bureau office locally until July 1929.  The first office was located at the Kern County Airport, then at the present-day Meadows Field beginning in 1958.  A new building was constructed in 1983, after the NWS office came within a week of being closed in 1982.  The Bakersfield NWS office closed 11/1/1995, after its functions were merged with the new office in Hanford.

Beaumont

WBAS
WBO
1929-1953 An airways station was established in Beaument in January 1939.  The airport closed in 1940, but the Weather Bureau kept an office in the area until 1953.

Bishop

WBAS
WSO
1943-1945, 1947-1996 The Weather Bureau opened an office at the Bishop airport in 1943 at the request of the U.S. Army; it closed in 1945 due to a reduction in force, before reopening in March 1947.  The office was closed March 1996 as part of the NWS modernization.
Blue Canyon WBAS
WSMO
WSCMO
1947-1988 The Weather Bureau assumed operations of the Blue Canyon Airport station from the CAA on 5/16/1947.  The station became partially automated in 1961, with the installation of an Automatic Meteorological Observatory Station (AMOS).  Operation of the site was contracted out in February 1982.  The station was closed at the end of 1988 due to budget cutbacks; the AMOS was replaced by an ASOS in 1993.
Burbank WBAS
RDO
DFO
1931-1966 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established at the Burbank airport in 1931.  A district forecast office was established here, and moved to the Los Angeles Airport in 1947.  A River District Office was established in June 1944, after moving from Los Angeles. The station was closed in July 1966.
Burney WBO 1942-1948 A part-time Weather Bureau Office operated from 1942 to 1948 at the Burney Fire Hall.
Conway Summit WBO 1943-1945 This station opened in May 1943 north of Mono Lake at Conway Summit, taking hourly aviation and climatological observations.  This site closed in October 1945
Eureka SigSvc
WBO
RDO
WSO
WFO
1886-present A Signal Service office opened in December 1886 at the Buhne Building, and remained in this location when the Weather Bureau took over.  The office moved to the Federal Building in 1911.  A WSR-3 radar was installed in 1957; this was donated to California State University - Humboldt in June 1972.  The office was upgraded to a Weather Forecast Office in the modernization of the 1990's.
Farallon Island WBO 1903-1945 This station, off the coast from San Francisco, was transferred to the Coast Guard at the end of 1945.

Fremont

CWSU ? - present The Oakland-area Center Weather Service Unit operates out of the ARTCC in Fremont. 

Fresno

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1887-1995 The Signal Service established observations in downtown Fresno in 1887. They remained downtown until 1939, when the Weather Bureau consolidated its operation at the Chandler Field office, which had opened in 1929. The office moved to the new airport in August 1949, where it remained until moving to new facilities in Clovis in January 1986. The NWS presence remained there through August 1995, when its functions were assumed by the new facility in Hanford.

Hanford

WFO 1995-present The Hanford office opened 1/25/1995, with its WSR-88D operating in March of that year. This NWS office merged the functions of the Fresno and Bakersfield offices, and its functions were expanded to include additional forecast duties.
Independence WBO 1898-1925, 1943-1944 An office in Independence was established in March 1898, at the Norman House.  Operations were conducted in several different locations in the area, befroe the station was downgraded to a second-order site in June 1923.  The station operated again as a first-order site for about a year in 1943-44.
Keeler WBO 1891-1894  
Lebec WBO 1929-1932 A station was etablished at the Richfield Aerological Observatory in July 1929.  At the end of March 1932, it was relocated to Sandburg.

Lindsay

WSO-Ag    
Long Beach WBAS
WBO
WSO
WSCMO
1938-1943, 1959-1999 A Weather Bureau Airport Station opened in February 1938 at the municipal airport.  In February 1943, the CAA took over its operation, with the Weather Bureau resuming its presence in 1959.  The station become an NWS contract meteorological observatory in late 1987, before being turned over to the FAA in 1999.

Los Angeles

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
HQ
RDO
DFO
WSFO
WSO
WSCMO
1877-2002 The Signal Service established an office at Los Angeles in 1877, at the corner of Main and Commercial Streets, with the Weather Bureau assuming responsibility in 1890.  An airport station was established at Mines Field (current Los Angeles International Airport) southwest of downtown in 1931, with a District Forecast Office established there on April 7, 1947, having relocated from Burbank.  Eventually (1940's) the city office moved to the Civic Center, and the city office was closed July 1, 1964.  A separate office remained in place at LAX, until becoming an NWS Contract Meteorologial Observatory in March 1997; this observatory was transferred to the FAA in late 2002.
Montague WBO 1928-1948 This Weather Bureau office was transferred to the CAA on 4/15/1948.

Monterey

WFO 1994-present  The San Francisco Area forecast office moved from Redwood City to Monterey in August 1994. 
Mount Shasta WBO
WSO
1948-1986 The Weather Bureau took over operations of the airway station in April 1948, from the CAA, and added fire weather functions later that year.  It was relocated to the Forest Service building in town in 1954.  An AMOS weather station was added in 1969.  The station operated part-time, with one staff member, and was fully automated in 1986. 

Mount Tamalpais

WBO 1898-1921   

Oakland

WBAS
FAWS
WBMO
WSO
WSCMO
1928-present  A Weather Bureau Airways Station was established in June 1928 at Oakland Municipal Airport, and began taking upper-air observations in 1938.  Separate offices for surface and upper-air observations were established in the late 1960's.  In 1980, the surface functions were transferred to the FAA, and the upper-air observations were taken under contract with the NWS. 

Oxnard

WFO 1998-present The Oxnard office was opened in 1998, after the forecast office was relocated from the Los Angeles International Airport.

Palmdale

WBO
WSO
CWSU
1968 - present The WB/NWS jointly operated a weather radar unit with the FAA at the Los Angeles ARTCC, beginning in 1968.  A Center Weather Service Unit was established in the late 1970's, for aviation forecasting.  The radar unit was completely turned over to the FAA in 1994, but the CWSU remains in place.
Point Arguello WBO 1959-1964 A Weather Bureau office opened at the Naval Missile Facility near Lompoc in 1959, taking upper-air observations.  The station was closed in 1964.
Point Reyes WBO 1899-1926  
Pomona WBO 1917-1971? This office was estabslihed at the Fruit Growers Exchange in October 1917, moving to the post office in 1931.  The station operated through at least 1971.
Redding WBAS
WBO
WSO
1928-1944,
1968-1996
The Weather Bureau opened an office at the Northern California National Bank building in July 1928, then moved to Benton Field the following April.  The office was closed at the end of July 1944.  A new office opened in October 1968 for fire weather purposes, operating daily from May-November and weekdays the remainder of the year.  The office went to 24-hour operations in August 1986, after assuming responsibilities from the Red Bluff office.  The office was closed as part of the NWS modernization in the mid 1990's.
Red Bluff SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
1877-1986 The Signal Service opened an office in July 1877, relocating a few times before the Weather Bureau took over in 1891.  The city office was closed in September 1934; an airport station was established at Bidwell Field in August 1944, taking over from the CAA.  A River District Office was established 9/1/1965.  By the mid 1960's, overnight observations were being taken by the FAA, with the Weather Bureau operating about 16 hours a day.  The office was closed in August 1986, with its functions transferred to the Redding office.

Redwood City

WSFO
HC
1968-1994 The San Francisco forecast office was moved to Redwood City in July 1968 from San Francisco International Airport.  It remained here until being relocated to Monterey in August 1994.  The Eastern Pacific Hurricane Center was also located here, established in 1970 after forecast responsibility had been transferred from the U.S. Navy.  In 1988, its responsibilities were transferred to the National Hurricane Center in Miami, which had only been handling the Atlantic basin up until that time.

Riverside

WBO
AWSC
1968-1971, 1972-1996? A fire weather forecasting office was established in Riverside in 1968, then closed in 1971.  A new office was opened at the University of California-Riverside campus in late 1972, covering agricultural and fire weather purposes; this closed in the mid 1990's.
Sacramento SigSvc
WBO
WSO
WFO
RFC
1877-present Signal Service operations began at the George Building in July 1877, and were located at the Lyon and Curtis Building when the Weather Bureau took over in July 1891.  The office moved to the old Post Office building in 1894, remaining there until a new post office/Federal building was opened in 1933.  An airport station was established in May 1950, and a third office opened at the State of California Building in 1963 for the new River Forecast Center.  A WSR-57 radar was placed in service 2/2/1960.  The RFC and city office merged into a shared office in September 1964.  The airport office closed in July 1974, with the FAA assuming full-time responsibility.   The WSO and RFC were relocated to new facilities in March 1996, and the WSO was upgraded to a forecast office.

San Francisco

WBO
DFO
HQ
WBAS
WSFO
WSO
HC
1888-1998 The first official weather office in San Francisco, opening in 1888, was in the Merchants Exchange Building.  The office, then located in the Mills Building, was destroyed in the the fire following the great earthquake of 1906 (although it survived the quake itself), and was located at a private residence until a new exchange building was completed.  In 1936, it moved to the Federal Building. A regional headquarters briefly operated here from 1942-43, before moving to Los Angeles.  An Airport Station was opened up at the San Francisco airport east of San Bruno in late 1938.  The district forecast center was moved to the airport in the 1960's, then to Redwood City in July 1968; the city office was closed around 1973.  The airport office was closed in 1998 and turned over to to FAA contracting for monitoring the ASOS.

San Diego

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1871-present The Signal Service began its operations in San Diego in October 1871 downtown, at the Dougherty Building.  Several downtown sites had been employed by the time the Weather Bureau took over in 1891.  The airport station was established at Lindbergh Field in August 1932, and operations of the city office were consolidated at the airport in February 1940.  Around 1997, the NWS office was moved away from the airport, and operations were expanded, as part of the modernization effort.
San Jose WBO
WSMO
1905-1933, 
1971-1973
An office at City Hall in San Jose was established by the Weather Bureau in June 1905, but was closed in August 1933.  A new Environmental Meteorological Support Unit (EMSU) was established in August 1971, and was closed 2 years later. 
San Luis Obispo SigSvc
WBO
1869-1927 An early Signal Service office opened in July 1869; when the Weather Bureau took over in 1981, the office was at the Andrews Hotel.  The office was closed in September 1927, with observations moved to California Polytech College.
San Pedro WBO 1934-1953 This Weather Bureau office was established for marine purposes, first at Pier 88 and later at the Post Office building.  The office was closed at the end of July 1953.
Sandberg WBO
WBMO
WSMO
1932-1979 The Sandberg office opened in April 1932 atop Bald Mountain, after being relocated from Lebec.  An automated weather station (AMOS) was installed in the 1950's.  The Weather Bureau operated part-time with one employee, and was closed at the end of April 1979.
Santa Catalina WBAS 1943-1953, 1962-1968 The Weather Bureau began observations on Catalina Island in November 1943.  The office closed in June 1953, then resumed operations at the end of 1962.  It closed for good on 3/24/1968.
Santa Maria WBAS
WSO
1942-1998 The Weather Bureau established operations at the Santa Maria Army Air Field (later Santa Monica Public Airport) in November 1942.  The office was closed in March 1998 as part of the NWS modernization.
Stockton WBAS
WSO
1963-1997 Operations of the Stockton weather station transferred from the FAA to the Weather Bureau on 3/4/1963.  The office was closed 3/25/1997 during the NWS modernization.
CARIBBEAN AND ATLANTIC STATIONS
Charlotte Amalie, Virgin Is. WBO 1939-1943  
Bermuda WBO    
Havana, Cuba HC 1899-1902 The West Indies hurricane center was moved here from Kingston, Jamaica.  In 1902, responsibility was transferred to the Weather Bureau headquarters in Washington, DC.
Keflavik, Iceland WBO 1946-1951 The U.S. Army turned over the operation of the Keflavik station to the Weather Bureau in late 1946.  During the summer of 1951, the operations were gradually transferred to the 8th Weather Squadron of the U.S. Air Force.
Kingston, Jamaica HC 1898-1899 In 1898, Congress enacted a provision for a storm warning service for the Caribbean (West Indies).  The first hurricane forecasting center was located in Kingston, and moved to Havana, Cuba, the next year.

San Juan, Puerto Rico

WBO
DFO
HC
WSFO
WFO
1899-present The first Weather Bureau office in Puerto Rico was established in 1899, in Old San Juan.  Its second facility in the area was destroyed by the San Felipe Hurricane of 1928.  It was rebuilt in that area, then moved to the Isla Grande Airport in 1946, then to the new Munoz Marin Airport in 1954.  In 1935, a hurricane forecast center was established to cover the Carribean Sea and nearby islands, east of 75°W and south of 20°N. The forecast function was transferred to the National Hurricane Center in Miami in 1966, but San Juan continued to issue hurricane warnings and advisories for this area until 1980.
Swan Islands, Honduras WBO    
COLORADO

Alamosa

WBAS
WSO
WSCMO 
1945-1999 In January 1945, the Weather Bureau established its Alamosa office at the local airport.  The station operated with 2 shifts a day, and was closed overnight.  Office functions were contracted out in 1995 when ASOS was commissioned, and the contract office closed in 1999.

Boulder

WFO 1999-present  The Boulder NWS office was established in May 1999 after forecast operations were moved from the former Stapleton International Airport. 

Colorado Springs

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1871-1894, 1948-1996 Signal Service operations began in December 1871, with operations transferred to the Weather Bureau at the end of 1892.   The first office was at Colorado College.  In September 1894, the office was closed.  A new office opened at Peterson Field in April 1948, taking over operations from the Air Force.  After the ASOS was commissioned, the office was operated in contract status for about 10 months, before closing in April 1996.

Denver

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
DFO
FAWS
WSFO
WSCMO
1871-present The Signal Service opened its Denver office 11/20/1871, and this was transferred to the new Weather Bureau in 1891.  Around the turn of the 20th century, Denver was made a district forecast office for the Rocky Mountains.  While the main office operated downtown, a separate facility was established at the new Stapleton Field 9/15/1931.  Forecast operations were moved to Stapleton in March 1941, but the downtown office remained in place until 1956.  In 1995, the observing program was moved to the new Denver International Airport, while the forecast office remained at the old Stapleton Airport location until 1999, at which point it moved to new facilities in Boulder.  Upper-air observations continue at the old Stapleton location.
Durango WBO 1904-1913 A Weather Bureau office operated in Durango from September 1904 to the end of August 1913, at which point it became a synoptic observation station.

Grand Junction

WBO
WSO
WFO
1899-present The Weather Bureau opened a downtown office January 1, 1899. It remained at various locations downtown until 3/16/1946, when it moved to the airport. Upper air observations began by the Army in May 1944, and by the Weather Bureau in October 1944. The office moved off the airport during the 1980's, then came back in 1995.

Limon

WSMO 1970-1995 A Weather Service Meteorological Observatory was established in August 1970.  It took surface observations and operated the WSR-57 network radar.  The station was closed after the network radar was decommissioned.

Longmont

CWSU ?-present The Denver area CWSU operates from the ARTCC in Longmont.

Pikes Peak

WBO 1892-1894  

Pueblo

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1932-present Several observation sites had operated in the downtown area since 1888, until the Weather Bureau established facilities in February 1932. There were separate offices at the airport and downtown, which were consolidated at the airport in July 1940. The Weather Bureau moved to new facilities on the airport grounds June 1954, then relocated to the airport terminal building at the end of September 1969. In September 1994, the operations moved to a new facility, with a WSR-88D installed 18 miles northeast at the end of the year. Staffing and functions increased with the new facility.
CONNECTICUT

Bridgeport

WBAS
WSO
1948-1994? The Weather Bureau opened an airport station at the Bridgeport Municipal Airport in February 1948.  The office was closed as part of the NWS modernization in the 1990's.
Hartford WBO
WBAS
WSO
RFC
1904-1940, 1955-1994? The Hartford office opened downtown in October 1904, and moved to the post office in 1933.  An airport station was established 12/28/1938 at Rentschler Field moving to Brainard Field in October 1939, and Bradley Field in Windsor Locks in 1954.  The two offices were combined at the airport in February 1940.  A River Forecast Center was established in 1955, and a WSR-1 radar was installed at the end of the year.  The radar was replaced with a WSR-3 radar on 4/29/1959, and a WSR-74C in April 1977. The RFC moved back into Hartford in 1968, and to Bloomfield in 1975 , while the main office remained at Bradley Field.  The RFC was relocated to Taunton, MA, in 1993, and the main weather office was closed, as part of the NWS modernization.
Middletown WBO 1955-1958 The Weather Bureau briefly operated an office in Middletown, from October 1955 to June 1958, in conjunction with the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission.
New Haven SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
1872-1969 A Signal Service office was established in December 1872 at the Insurance Building, remaining here when the Weather Bureau took over in the early 1890's.  The office moved to teh Malley Building in 1905, and the Court House in 1910.  An airport station was established in November 1937, and operations were consolidated here in July 1943.  The office was operated part-time, and was closed in June 1969.
New London WBO 1893-1895  
Putnam WBO 1934-1962  
DELAWARE

Wilmington

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1942, 1947-1994 A Weather Bureau Airways Station briefly operated at the Dupont Airport during the second half of 1942.  A new station was opened at the New Castle County Airport in 1947.  It remained in this location until 1994, when operations were consolidated with a new facility in Mount Holly, NJ.
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Washington

SigSvc
HQ
WBO
HC
FAWS
WBAS
DFO 
WSO
WSCMO
1872-1980

Signal Service observations began in November 1870, with the Weather Bureau taking over in July 1891.  The first two offices were on G Street, while the next two were on M Street.  Forecasts for the entire U.S. were initially made from this particular office, then district offices were created to assume forecast responsibility.  The office also was responsible for hurricane forecasting for the entire Atlantic and Gulf of Mexico regions from 1902 until 1935, at which point it only covered areas north of 35°N and shared that responsibility with the Boston office; this responsibility was transferred to the National Hurricane Center in 1966, but dissemination of hurricane warnings and statements for this region remained in place until 1980.  The forecast center itself was moved to Suitland, MD, in 1967.

The first airport office was at Bolling Field in Anacostia in August 1929.  It was moved across the Potomac River to Washington-Hoover Airport in July 1931, and Washington National Airport in June 1941.  Upper-air observations began at this site in 1941, and were transferred to Dulles Airport in 1960.  A WSR-57 radar was installed in 1960; this was moved to Patuxent River, MD, in 1970, and the office became a contract meteorological observatory at this time.

FLORIDA

Apalachicola

WBO
WSO
1922-1933, 1936-1998 The first Weather Bureau office in the area opened up in July 1922, and operated until June 1933.  The office reopened in October 1936.  Upper-air observations were conducted from 1942-1948.  Much of the time was spent at the Post Office building.  Operations were expanded to 24 hours beginning in late 1959, after the WSR-57 radar was commissioned.  The office relocated to the airport in the spring of 1975.  The office was closed during the late 1990's.

Coral Gables

WSFO
HC
1964-1995 The NWS Forecast Office, and the National Hurricane Center, moved from the city of Miami in 1964, to share facilities in Coral Gables. The WSR-57 radar was also relocated, perched on top of the building. In August 1992, the WSR-57 was destroyed by Hurricane Andrew, leading to an earlier-than-planned installation of the WSR-88D. The WSFO/NHC moved to new facilities at Florida International University in 1995.
Crestview WBO 1940-1948 A joint Weather Bureau/CAA airways station was operated at Crestview from June 1940 until October 1948, at which point the CAA took over full-time operations.

Daytona Beach

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1944-1995 The Weather Bureau opened an airways station at the municipal airport in in February 1944, taking over responsibility from the CAA.   A WSR-57 radar was commissioned 5/14/1960.  The office was closed in 1995 as part of the NWS modernization.

Fort Myers

WBAS
WSO
1944-1995? The Weather Bureau took over operations from the CAA at Page Field in March 1944; the CAA resumed operations in April 1946, although one Weather Bureau staff member took care of records and public contacts.  Other personnel were brought in during the 1960's, but the station remained in part time operations.  The office was moved downtown in March 1976, with the FAA taking over the airport station full-time.  The station was closed in the mid 1990's as part of the NWS modernization.

Hilliard

CWSU ? - present The Jacksonville-area Center Weather Service Unit operates out of the ARTCC in Hilliard. 

Jacksonville

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
HC
FAWS
DFO
WSO
WFO
1871-present The Signal Service opened an office in Jacksonville 9/11/1871; the Weather Bureau assumed responsibility 4/1895, with facilities downtown. An airport office opened 10/31/1930 at Imerson Airport.  A hurricane forecast office was established in 1935, to cover much of the Atlantic basin between 20°N and 35°N; this was transferred to Miami in 1943, and the district forecast office was relocated to new facilities in Miami and Atlanta. The downtown and airport facilities merged in January 1956. The Weather Bureau moved to Jacksonville International Airport 1/19/1970, and relocated on the airport grounds 1/19/1995. Upper air observations began 1/25/1995.
Jasper WBAS 1942-1947 An airport station was established in Jasper in March 1942, and was closed at the end of 1947.

Jupiter

SigSvc
WBO
1879-1911 This Signal Service office was established in July 1879.  It was transferred to the new Weather Bureau in 1890.  The office was closed in June 1911, when operations were moved to a new office in Miami.

Key West

SigSvc
WBO
WSO
WFO
1871-present  Key West was among the initial Signal Service offices that began operations on 11/1/1871.  It was transferred to the new Weather Bureau in 1890.  It operated in several areas within the city before moving to Key West International Airport 7/1/1957.  Its first radar, a WSR-57, was installed in early 1960, and was replaced by the WSR-74 in 1973.  This latter radar was replaced by a WSR-88D on Boca Chica Key in 1996.  The office was originally scheduled to close in 1997 as part of the NWS modernization, but received a reprieve and was upgraded to a full Weather Forecast Office.  The office was moved to a new hurricane-resistant building off the airport grounds in 2005.
Lakeland WBAS
WBO
WSO
1940-1978 A Weather Bureau Office was established at City Hall 1/1/1940.  This office was involved in the state horticultural program.  A separate airport station opened in 1942, and was closed in March 1948.  The city office dropped down to 16-hour per day operations in 1974.  The office closed at the end of August 1978, with its operations transferred to the office in Ruskin. 

Melbourne

WBAS
WFO
1944-1954,
1989-present
The Melbourne office was the first one opened as part of the NWS's modernization effort. The office opened 6/1989, with local forecast and warning operations beginning October 1989. River forecasting for Florida was established June 1990. In October 1991, the nation's second WSR-88D was installed at Melbourne.

Miami

WBO
WBAS
DFO
WSCMO
WSFO
WFO
HC
CWSU
1911-1973, 1995-present Observations in the area began as early as 1839, at old Ft. Dallas. The Weather Bureau operations began in June 1911 after the Jupiter office was relocated.  A separate WB Airport Station (WBAS) opened 9/4/1929 at Miami Municipal Airport, and moved to what is now Miami International Airport 7/31/1942.  Hurricane forecasting first began in 1943, when the regional hurricane center was moved from Jacksonville, and the downtown Weather Bureau office was combined with the new National Hurricane Center July 1, 1958. In 1964, the collective WB/NHC operation moved to the University of Miami in Coral Gables. The NHC was split into a separate operation in 1967, then shared space with the NWS forecast office again beginning in 1979 at new facilities in Coral Gables.  The airport office was contracted out in 1973. New technology at the Miami facility included the first WSR-3 during World War II, and the WSR-57 in 1959 (later relocated to Coral Gables).  In 1995, a new facility was constructed at Florida International University, and the NHC and the WSFO were moved to this location.  A Center Weather Service Unit also operates out of the ARTCC.

From the late 1950's through about 1975, the Miami/NHC offices also supported spacecraft recovery support operations during the Mercury, Gemini, and Apollo missions.  Upon the end of the Apollo program, these were transferred to operate from Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas.

Orlando

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1944-1996 The Weather Bureau took over weather operations at the municipal airport from the CAA in February 1944.  The office was relocated to the site of the former McCoy AFB (currently Orlando International Airport) in February 1974, with the FAA taking over responsibility at Herndon Airport (now Orlando Executive Airport).   Operations were reduced to one shift a day by 1990.  The office was closed in 1996, and its functions merged with the Melbourne office.
Pensacola SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
1879-1969, 1974-1996? The Signal Service opened an office in Pensacola at the Pfeiffer Building in October 1879, moving to the Custom House in 1888. The Weather Bureau took over in 1893.  It remained in town until October 1963, at which point it moved to the airport; the FAA took surface observations while the Weather Bureau handled climatology reports.  The office closed at the end of April 1969.  In April 1974, the office was reopened at the Naval Air Station to operate the WSR-57 radar, which was taken over from the Navy.
Ruskin WSO
WFO
1975-present  The Tampa Weather Service Office moved to Ruskin in 1975, and absorbed the functions of the recently closed Lakeland office in 1978.  The present office was built in 1994-95, and opened when the WSR-88D radar replaced the old system.  The office was upgraded to a Weather Forecast Office in 1999. 
Sand Key WBO 1903-1909, 1912-1925 The Sand Key office was established in June 1903, and was destroyed by a hurricane 10/11/1909.  A new office was built and opened in 1912, suffering more hurricane damage in September 1919. 

Tallahassee

WBAS
WBO
WSO
WFO
1940-present The Weather Bureau established an airways station at the old Mabry Field in March 1940, relocating to the new Tallahassee Municipal Airport in 1961.  A WSR-88D radar was commissioned in 1995, and upper-air observations were moved here from Apalachicola, when the office was upgraded as part of the NWS modernization.  Operations were moved to a new facility on the Florida State University campus in March 2002.

Tampa

WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
1890-1975 The Weather Bureau established its Tampa office in March 1890, having been moved from Cedar Key.  As with many Weather Bureau offices, separate facilities for downtown and airport operations were present for a time, with the airport station established in 1938; the two were consolidated at the airport in 1941.  The first airport station was at Peter Knight Field, then relocated to Drew Field (present Tampa International Airport) in 1946.  Early radar operations began in 1951 with an APS2E radar, which was replaced by the WSR-1 in 1956 and the WSR-57 in 1960.  The office and radar were moved to Ruskin in 1975.
Titusville SigSvc
WBO
1888-1933
1958-1975
A Signal Service office opened in 1888, and was transferred to the Weather Bureau in 1891.  Operations were transferred to the CAA in 1933.  In 1958, a new office was established at Cape Canaveral as part of the Project Mercury Weather Support Group, and provided support for pre-launch preparations, launch and recovery operations.  Support for recovery operations was transferred to a new office in Houston, Texas, during the Gemini and Apollo missions.  Upon the conclusion of the Apollo missions, forecast operations were transferred to the Air Force.

West Palm Beach

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1944-1993 The Weather Bureau opened a part-time office at Morrison Field (now Palm Beach International Airport) in October 1944, and became a full-time station in November 1945.   Upper-air observations were added in 1977, after the function was moved from the Miami office.  A WSR-74S local warning radar was commissioned 12/17/1980; this became a network radar in 1992 after the WSR-57 in Miami was destroyed by Hurricane Andrew.  The office was closed after its functions were transferred to the Miami office.
GEORGIA

Adairsville

WBAS 1943-1945 A Weather Bureau Airport Station opened in December 1943, but was closed by the fall of 1945.

Athens

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1943-1997 A Weather Bureau Airport Station opened in July 1943 at Ben Epps Field.  The office operated part-time from 1948 to 1955.  Upper-air observations began in September of 1955 after being moved from Atlanta. A WSR-57 radar was commissioned 9/21/1966.  The office was closed in 1997, with functions transferred to the Peachtree City (Atlanta) office.

Atlanta

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
DFO
HQ
WSFO
RFC
RDO
WSO
1878-1996

The Signal Service established an office in downtown Atlanta 9/25/1878, and was taken over by the new Weather Bureau in the 1890's. It occupied several locations downtown, ending at the Federal Annex (opened 3/15/1934). An airport office was established 11/1/1928, and the city office merged with it 4/30/1954.  A district forecast office was established in July 1943, assuming part of the former Jacksonville, FL, forecast coverage area. A new airport facility was occupied 4/2/1962, with forecast operations moved off the airport 6/2/1976. On 2/28/1992, the office relocated to temporary facilities in Hapeville, before moving permanently to Peachtree City 4/15/1994, with airport observing operations terminated 10/31/1996.

The Southeast River Forecast Center moved to Atlanta in 1967 from Augusta, moving to the WBAS at the Atlanta International Airport.  It had a few temporary homes downtown until being co-located with the Weather Service Forecast Office in 1976.  The RFC and WSFO moved to a temporary facility in 1992 before relocating to Peachtree City in April 1994.

Augusta

WBAS
WBO
RFC
1955?-1995 Augusta was home to a Weather Bureau Airport Station (WBAS), and a Weather Service Office (WSO), before closing in 1995. Augusta was also the first home of the Southeast River Forecast Center, which was present until relocating to Atlanta in 1967. 

Columbus

WBAS
WSO
1946-1996? A Weather Bureau Airport Station was opened at the Muscogee County Airport in January 1946.   The office was reduced to 16-hour per day operations in 1952, and did not resume full-time operations until March 1977.  A WSR-74C radar was commissioned 4/2/1979.  The office was closed as part of the NWS modernization.

Hampton

CWSU ? - present The Atlanta-area Center Weather Service Unit operates out of the ARTCC in Hampton. 

Leesburg

WB/UA 1919-1931 Leesburg was one of 5 Weather Bureau offices taking upper air observations using kites. This was discontinued in July 1931, when airplane observations began in other locations around the country.

Macon

WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
1899-1995? The Weather Bureau established its office in Macon in April 1899 at the Post Office/Courthouse.  It was relocated a few times, beginning in 1905, as the building underwent various renovations.  A separate office was established at Cochran Field (current Middle Georgia Regional Airport) in 1944, and the city office moved to this locations in October 1949.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned 4/21/1958, and replaced by a WSR-74C on 4/18/1977.  A separate office was established at the Georgia Forestry Center in 1968.  NWS operations ended after the ASOS was commissioned in 1995.

Rome

WBAS
WSO
1945-1969 An office was opened at Russell Field in September 1945.  An Automated Meteorological Observation Station was established in 1961, and the office began part-time operations.  The office was fully automated in April 1969.

Peachtree City

WFO
RFC
1994-present The Peachtree City office opened 4/15/1994, with the relocation of the Atlanta NWS forecast office. Peachtree City is also the home of the Southeast River Forecast Center.

Savannah

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1870-1996  Signal Service operations began in December 1870, with the Weather Bureau taking over in 1891.  The office remained downtown at various locations until July 1949.  A separate airport office was opened at Hunter Field in July 1930, and the city office was relocated here in July 1949.  It then moved to Travis Field (current Savannah-Hilton Head International Airport) in 1950.  A WSR-4 radar was commissioned at the ofifce 4/7/1960, and removed in 1970.  A WSR-74C radar was then commissioned 11/15/1982.  The office closed in April 1996 after ASOS commissioning.
Thomasville WBO 1905-1933, 1955-1964 The Weather Bureau opened an office in Thomasville in August 1905.  It was closed at the end of August 1933, and made a second-order station.  The office reopened in October 1955, and permantly closed 7/1/1964.

Waycross

WSMO 1969-1995 A meteorological observatory was established in April 1969, taking upper-air observations.  A WSR-57 network radar was installed in August of that year.  The office was closed in 1995, after the radar was decommissioned and upper-air responsibilities moved to Jacksonville, FL.
HAWAII

Ewa Beach

TWC  1949-present A tsunami warning center was established on federal property in Ewa Beach in 1949, as a result of the devastating 1946 tsunami that affected Hilo.  Operations were expanded in 1968 as part of an organized Pacific tsunami warning system, and around 2005 to include the Indian Ocean, South China Sea, and the Caribbean.

Hilo

WBAS
WBO
WSO
DCO
1950-present The Hilo Weather Bureau office opened 1/1/1950 after operations were transferred from the Civil Aeronautics Administration.   

Honolulu

WBO
WBFO
HC
HQ
WSFO
WSMO
WFO
1904-present The first Weather Bureau office was established in the city in 1904; operations moved to the Honolulu airport 1/27/1946. The Central Pacific Hurricane Center was established as part of the office 6/1/1957. The office relocated on airport grounds 10/11/1962.  In 1964, a separate regional headquarters office was established for the Pacific region.  NOAA Weather Radio broadcasts began 11/15/1968. The forecast and observing sections of the office were split 1/10/1974. The forecast office moved to the Manoa Campus of the University of Hawaii on 6/16/1995. The observing office closed 11/1/1996.

A separate office was established in the late 1960's, as part of the Weather Bureau support for the manned spaceflight program.  This office provided support for recoveries in the Pacific Ocean during the Apollo program.  The office was closed in 1975 after the end of the Apollo missions.
Kahului WBAS
WBO
WSO
1962-1999 The Weather Bureau took over weather operations at the Kahului Airport from the FAA on 1/1/1962.  The office operated part-time with the FAA taking observations overnight, beginning in 1965, and was operated by one person beginning in 1998.  The office was closed in 1999.
Kilauea WBO 1919-1924 The Weather Bureau took over operations of the Hawaiian Volcano Observatory at Kilauea, on the island of Hawaii.  Operations were later transferred to the U.S. Geological Survey.

Lihue

WBAS
WBO
WSO
DCO
1950-present A Weather Bureau office was established at the Lihue Airport in January 1950, with upper-air observations beginning the next month.  The office was designated a Data Collection Office during the NWS modernization of the 1990's.
IDAHO

Boise

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSFO
WFO
1898-present The Weather Bureau opened its Boise office in 1898 in the Sonna Building downtown, before moving to the Federal Building in 1905  While operating this office, a second office opened at the airport (site of present Boise State University), and moved to the current airport in December 1939.  The office relocated to the headquarters of the National Interagency Fire Center in 1969, and moved to an associated new facility in 1993.  The first weather radar in Idaho was the WSR-88D installation in November 1993.
Burley WBAS 1944-1946 The CAA and Weather Bureau jointly operated the station at the Burley Municipal Airport from 1944 to 1946.

Idaho Falls

WBO 1895-1899 The first Weather Bureau office in eastern Idaho operated here for a few years, until telegraph problems resulted in the station's relocation to Pocatello. 

Lewiston

SigSvc
WBAS
WBO
WSO
1879-1885
1900-1997 
A Signal Service station operated from 1879 to 1885; cooperative observers then maintained observations until the Weather Bureau opened an office in October 1900.  The office closed in July 1933 and cooperative observers again resumed observations.  The Weather Bureau opened an airport station at Lewiston-Nez Perce County Airport in November 1946, which reduced to 16 hour a day operations in 1952.  The office was closed in 1997 with its functions transferred to the Pocatello office.

Pocatello

WBO
WSO
WFO
1899-present The Weather Bureau relocated its eastern Idaho office here from Idaho Falls on July 1, 1899.  It was originally operated in a few locations downtown.  Military operations and a new airport encouraged the next move to McDougal Field in 1938.  During 1949, another move took the office 2.5 miles west to the Pocatello Municipal Airport, where it has resided ever since.  Forecasts were initially issued from the Boise Weather Service Forecast Office for the entire state for many years.  However, on March 22, 1995, the NWS moved into a modernized forecast office in preparation for assuming full forecast and warning responsibility for Eastern Idaho in 1999.  
Wallace WBO 1907-1913  
ILLINOIS

Aurora

CWSU 1975(?)-present The Chicago Center Weather Service Unit (CWSU) opened in the mid 1970's.

Cairo

SigSvc
WBO
WSO
1871-1987 The Signal Service opened a station at the junction of the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers in 1871, and assumed by the Weather Bureau in 1893.  The station was reduced to a part-time office with one staff member in 1983, after most of its functions were assumed by a new office in Paducah, KY.  The office permanently closed in 1987.

Chicago/City

SigSvc
WBO
HQ
WBMO
DFO
FAWS
WBFO
WSFO
WSMO
1870-1977 Chicago was one of the Weather Bureau's early "district offices". The first district office in 1891 provided forecasts for northern Illinois and northwest Indiana; by 1894, this district office covered an area from the Rocky Mountains to the Great Lakes. The origins of the office date back to 10/15/1870, when the Signal Service established observations in Chicago.  At the end of 1943, a Flight Advisory Weather Service (FAWS, precursur to today's Center Weather Service Unit) was established at Midway Airport, operating until 1952.  The District Forecast Office was moved to just east of the University of Chicago once the FAWS closed, although some operations remained downtown until 1970.  A WSR-57 weather radar was installed at the University office in 1962.  The office moved to a new facility on Pershing Road in 1970, although the radar (and Weather Bureau Meteorological Observatory) remained at the old site until 1972.  Radar operations were moved to Marseilles in 1974. The forecast office was moved to a new facility near O'Hare Airport in late 1977. 

Chicago/Midway

WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1928-1980 The Weather Bureau established aviation observations at Midway Airport 2/13/1928. The official climatological observations for Chicago started at this location in July 1942, taking over from the University of Chicago. These climate observations continued until 1/16/1980, when they were transferred to O'Hare Airport.  A WSR-3 radar was installed 4/19/1958; it was replaced by a WSR-57 at the University office in January 1963. 

Chicago/O'Hare

WBAS
WSFO
WSO
WSCMO
1956-1996 The Weather Bureau began operations at the new O'Hare Field in 1956; the site became the official Chicago climatological site in 1980, having moved from Midway Airport.  The forecast office moved to a new facility on the edge of the airport in late 1977. The NWS operated separate forecast and observation offices for a time, then combined them at the airport in 1989. In 1993, the office was again split, with the forecast function moving to Romeoville. NWS operations at the airport ceased in 1996, when government contractors and the Automated Surface Observing System (ASOS) took over.

Effingham

WBAS 1944-1947 A Weather Bureau Airways Station was jointly operated with the Civil Aeronautics Administration.  The CAA previously had run the station since 1933, and assumed sole responsibility again 2/1/1947.

Joliet

WBAS 1937-1964  The Weather Bureau opened an Airways Station at the end of October 1937, initially taking surface observations, then adding upper-air observations in 1939.  The station was closed 3/14/1953, with its upper-air functions moved to Green Bay, WI.  The Weather Bureau also operated its Radiosonde Reconditioning Center in Joliet beginning in 1945, which reconditioned radiosondes for use.  This center was in operation through at least 1964.
La Salle WBO 1904-1913  

Lincoln

WFO 1995-present This office was established in early 1995 to replace the Springfield and Peoria NWS offices. It received a WSR-88D radar, and is part of the modernized NWS station network. The Lincoln office assumed additional forecast and warning responsibility in the late 1990's.

Marseilles

WSMO 1974-1994 This office was part of the NWS radar network, and had no official warning or forecast function. It served as the radar office for the Chicago area, and was closed after the WSR-88D was commissioned in Romeoville.

Moline

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1926-1995 A Weather Bureau Airport Station (WBAS) opened at the northeast corner of the Moline Airport (now Quad City Int'l Airport) 10/1/1926, while the Davenport WB city office remained open. This office was relocated to new facilities on the airport grounds around Christmas 1939, April 1961, and February 1991. The Moline office absorbed the functions of the Davenport city office, which closed 2/28/1953. A WSR-74C was installed at Moline 8/30/1977. In 1994, a new Davenport office was constructed. Warning responsibilities were transferred from Moline to Davenport 2/20/1995, with observing functions transferred to contract observers at the end of June 1995.

Peoria

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1905-1995 A new Weather Bureau office was established on the grounds of what is now Bradley University, in February 1905, with its first telegraph installed in early 1906.   The office began 24 hour operations in 1931, then went back down to part-time operations in 1953.  A Weather Bureau Airways Station was opened at the Peoria Municipal Airport in 1935.  Operations of the city office were transferred to the airport office 5/4/1943, and the city office was closed 8/15/1944.  Upper-air observations began in 1956, and continued until being transferred to the new NWS office in Davenport, IA, in Feburary 1995.  The entire office was closed 10/1/1995, after its functions had been transferred to a new office in Lincoln.

Rockford

WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1958-1997 The Weather Bureau took over airways observations from the CAA in November 1958.  The Weather Service Office closed on 8/1/1995 after ASOS was commissioned, and the NWS operated a contract station there for a couple years before being taken over by the FAA.

Romeoville

WSFO
WFO
1993-present This NWS Forecast Office was moved from O'Hare Airport to the Lewis University campus north of Joliet. It received a NEXRAD radar.  As part of the NWS modernization, forecasts for northwest, central and southern Illinois were transferred to other offices.

Salem

WSCMO 1969-1988 This NWS office was part of the upper air observation network, but did not perform any warning or forecast functions.  The contract weather station opened in June 1969.  It was closed when the observation function was transferred to the new NWS office in Paducah, KY in 1988.

Springfield

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1879-1995 A Signal Service office was established in downtown Springfield in July 1879, and transferred to the Weather Bureau in 1891.  A downtown office remained in the area into the mid 1950's  During the 1890's, upper-air observations were taken utilizing kites.  An airport station was established in November 1935 at the old Southwest Airport, on the present south side of town; this was moved to Capital Airport in 1947, on the north side. The office was closed in 1995, with operations transferring to the new office in Lincoln.
INDIANA

Evansville

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1897-2007  

Fort Wayne

WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
1911-1997 A Weather Bureau office was established in Fort Wayne at the Shoaff Building in May 1911.  It was relocated to the original Baer Field in August 1939, then moved to the new airport (now Fort Wayne International Airport) in December 1946.  A River District Office was established in 1961.  A WSR-3 radar was installed in 1957, and replaced by a WSR-74C 3/12/1976.  The office was closed in 1997, when a new facility in North Webster merged the functions of the Fort Wayne and South Bend offices.

Indianapolis

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSFO
CWSU
WFO
1871-present The first weather office in Indianapolis was established downtown in February 1871, and operated in several locations over the years.  An office was established April 1, 1931 at Weir Cook Airport (currently known as Indianapolis International Airport).  The two offices were merged in 1954.  The first radar, a WSR-3, was installed in October 1959, and was replaced by the WSR-74C in September 1977.  After moves in 1965 and 1977, the office moved to its present location in 1993.  A separate office was established in the Air Route Traffic Control Center in the late 1970's, to house the Center Weather Service Unit.  Construction of the WSR-88D radar began in 1992, with commissioning in 1996.

North Webster

WFO 1997-present The NWS established a Weather Forecast Office here to merge the operations of its South Bend and Fort Wayne offices.   

Royal Center

WB/UA 1919-1931 Royal Center was one of 5 Weather Bureau stations taking upper air observations via kites. This function was replaced by airplanes in the summer of 1931, which were conducted in Cleveland, Ohio.

South Bend

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1937-1996 The Weather Bureau opened its South Bend office in October 1937 at the municipal airport (current South Bend Regional Airport).  The office relocated to a different part of the airport in 1942 after the original building was destroyed in a fire.  A WSR-74C radar was commissioned 10/22/1982.  The office was closed in July 1996 after ASOS was commissioned.

Terre Haute

WBO
WBAS
1912-1954 The Weather Bureau opened an office at the Tribune Building in Terre Haute in late July 1912, and moved to the Post Office building in February 1935.  The office moved to the old Paul Cox Field in late 1942, taking over for the CAA; this station was moved to the new Hulman Field in February 1947.  The airport station was transferred back to the CAA at the end of 1954.

West Lafayette

AWSC 1969-1995 West Lafayette was the home of the Midwest Agricultural Weather Service Center (MAWSC), opened in 1969 on the Purdue University campus. The office closed in 1995 when agricultural weather forecasts were discontinued by the NWS.
IOWA

Burlington

WBO
WBAS
1941-1964  The Weather Bureau began operations in Burlington in December 1941, after moving from Keokuk.  Operations were transferred to the FAA as 1965 began, and the office became a Flight Service Station.

Charles City

WBO 1904-1953 The Weather Bureau opened an office in November 1904.  It was downgraded to a special meteorlogical office in February 1943, then completely closed in 1953.

Davenport

SigSvc
WBO
WFO
1920-1953, 1994-present The Signal Service opened a facility in Davenport 5/24/1871. Between them and the Weather Bureau, which took over in 1891, several locations around downtown Davenport housed the weather office. The Davenport facility closed at the end of February 1953, when operations were transferred to the already-operating Moline facility. In September 1994, a new office for the Quad Cities opened at the Davenport airport, with the Moline office closed at the end of June 1995. The office saw the WSR-88D installed 11/2/1994, and upper air observations began 1/16/1995. Warning responsibility from Moline was officially assumed 2/20/1995. The office has since obtained additional forecast and warning responsibility.

Des Moines

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSFO
1890-1995 The Weather Bureau opened an office downtown, in conjunction with the Iowa Weather Service. Downtown operations continued until October 1954. A second office was established at the Des Moines airport in February 1928, and operated until 1933. A new airport office started up in December 1938, and the city office relocated here in 1954. The full office (forecasts and observations) remained here until August 1993, when the forecast functions were moved to the new Johnston office. A skeleton staff remained at the Des Moines office to take observations until October 1995.

Dubuque

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1873-1981, 1982-1995 The Signal Service opened an office in downtown Dubuque in July 1873, and was taken over by the Weather Bureau in July 1891.  The office moved to the Dubuque Municipal AIrport in 1951.  The office was closed 9/1981 due to a staffing shortage, then reopened a year later on a part-time basis.   The office permanently closed 10/15/1995, after its warning functions were transferred to the new Quad Cities NWS office.
Iowa Falls WBO 1937-1941  

Johnston

WFO 1993-present The NWS Forecast Office moved here from the Des Moines airport in August 1993. See the Des Moines entry for more details.
Keokuk SigSvc
WBO
1871-1948 The Signal Service established an office in Keokuk in July 1871 at the State Bank building, moving to the Federal Building in 1889.  The Weather Bureau took over in the early 1890's.  It was downgraded to a special meteorological office at the end of 1941,after its functions were moved to a new office in Burlington, and closed in 1948.

Sioux City

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1889-1996 Although the Signal Service didn't open their station until 1889, observations in the area can be traced as far back as 1857.   The Weather Bureau took over in 1891.  The first official station was at the Chamber of Commerce building, moving to the public library in 1892 and the Federal Building by 1897.  The office moved to the Post Office at the end of 1933.  An Airways Station was established in 1940, and the city office was consolidated at this site in 1941.  The office was closed in June 1996 and its functions transferred to Sioux Falls, SD.

Waterloo

WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1955-1997 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established in October 1955 at the municipal airport.  A WSR-74C radar was commissioned at the site 11/19/1976.  The office was closed in 1996, and the radar decommissioned, with a contract observatory in place for another year.
KANSAS

Concordia

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
WSCMO
1885-1999 The first station in Concordia was established 5/1/1985 at the B.S. Williams Building, and moved to the Post Office building in June 1915.  It remained here until moving to Blosser Municipal Airport in May 1962.  The station operated part-time until a WSR-4 radar was commissioned 6/1/1962.  The radar was replaced with a WSR-74C on 2/18/1977.  The office was contracted out in April 1995, with the station permanently closed in May 1999.

Dodge City

SigSvc
WBO
WB/UA
WSO
WFO
1875-present The Signal Service opened a station in Dodge City in September 1874.  The Weather Bureau's operations began in 1891, moving to a new building in 1909 and to the First National Bank in 1931.  The station relocated to the Federal Building in 1932, where it remained before moving to the airport in July 1942.  Upper air observations bean in November 1943.  The first radar used was a APS-2 in November 1952; this was replaced by a WSR-1 radar 6/13/1954, then by a WSR-3 on 7/25/1963, which was decommissioned 7/25/1972.  One of the first ASOS commissionings in the country was at Dodge City in September 1992.  The office was upgraded during the NWS modernization, with a WSR-88D radar commissioned 4/1/1994. 

Garden City

WSMO 1971-1995 A Weather Service Meteorological Observatory was opened in March 1971 at the airport to operate the WSR-57 network radar.  The office was closed after the WSR-88D network radar at Dodge City was commissioned.

Goodland

WBAS
WSO
WFO
1943-present A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established at Renner Field on 12/14/1943, and relocated 3/22/1966. A new facility was established 2/20/1991. The Goodland office was a participant of the NWS modernization demonstration most of the 1990's.

Iola

WBO 1905-1936 A Weather Bureau Office was established in Iola, with the help of U.S. Rep. Charles Scott.  Daily observations were telegraphed to the Chicago office for use in making the forecasts.  The office was closed in October 1936.
Olathe CWSU ? - present The Kansas City area Center Weather Service Unit operates out of the ARTCC in Olathe.

Topeka

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
WSFO
WFO
1887-present The Signal Service opened its Topeka office on 6/1/1887, with the Weather Bureau taking over in 1890.  While operating several downtown locations, an airport office was established in 1944.  Upper-air observations began in 1955.  Its first weather radar, a WSR-1, was installed in 1953, and was upgraded to the WSR-3 model in 1957.  The Weather Bureau Office sustained damage on 6/8/1966 when a tornado crossed the airport.  In 1973, the office was assigned as the state forecast office.  The radar was replaced with the WSR-74C model in 1976 and the WSR-88D in 1993.

Wichita

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1888-current The Signal Service opened an office 6/13/1888, although local observations began in December 1879. The Weather Bureau took over operations 7/1/1891, with various downtown locations used. An office also opened at Wichita Municipal Airport (now McConnell AFB) 4/1/1930; the city office merged with the airport office 11/29/1940. The first Weather Bureau radar was installed at Wichita 4/1/1947, known as a WSR-1. It was replaced by the WSR-3 on 6/5/1956, the WSR-57 6/22/1960, and the WSR-88D 10/13/1992. The office moved to the new Municipal Airport (now Mid-Continent Airport) 12/1/1953, with further moves at the airport on 12/10/1981, and 1/17/1992.
KENTUCKY

Bowling Green

WBAS 1944-1953 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established at the Bowling Green Airport in December 1944, and became the official climatological station for the area.  Operations were transferred to the Civil Aviation Administration in June 1953.
Covington WBAS
WBO
WSO
1947-1994 The Weather Bureau established a WBAS at the new Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky Airport in January 1947.  The Cincinnati city office of the Weather Bureau/National Weather Service remained in downtown Cinncinati until being relocated here in 1971.  It remained at the airport until being moved to a new Weather Forecast Office in Wilmington, OH in February 1994.
Jackson WSO
WFO
1981-present This office was established as the result of a flood event in the late 1970's, in order to improve radar and service to the area.  A WSR-74S radar was commissioned 4/1/1981.  The office was upgraded to a Weather Forecast Office during the modernization of the mid 1990's, and the radar replaced with a WSR-88D in 1996.

Lexington

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
AWSC
WSO
WSCMO
1872-1876, 1887-1933, 1944-1996 A Signfal Service office in Lexington opened in 1872, but was closed in 1876.  The station was re-established in October 1887, and taken over by the Weather Bureau in the early 1890's.  The office closed again in July 1933.  In July 1944, a new Weather Bureau Airport Station opened at Blue Grass Field.  A separate Agricultural Service Office was established at the University of Kentucky in 1966; this was closed in late 1976.  The office was closed in March 1996 as part of the NWS modernization, and was contracted out for a time later that year.

Louisville

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSFO
WSCMO
WFO
1871-present The Signal Service established weather observations 9/11/1871 at the Customs House downtown. Observations continued in various locations downtown through 5/7/1930; the Weather Bureau assumed responsibility in July 1897. On 5/7/1930, the Weather Bureau opened an airport station at Bowman Field, and relocated it to Standiford Field 12/1/1947. After a couple moves over the years, a new facility was opened 2/23/1995.

Paducah

WSO
WFO
1984-current The National Weather Service established a new office in western Kentucky in 1984, at the Paducah Airport, to improve radar coverage for the region. The "temporary" office building, which remained in use until the end of 1994, was a double-wide trailer.  The office replaced the one in Cairo, IL. A WSR-74C was installed at the Paducah Airport in 1984, and was replaced by the WSR-88D in late 1994. The staff was increased by early 1995 to handle additional forecast functions, as a result of the NWS modernization.
LOUISIANA

Alexandria

WBAS
WSO
1960-1979? A Weather Bureau Airport Station opened in January 1960 at Esler Field.  Beginning in 1964, the station was operated jointly with the FAA, then the FAA became solely responsible for the surface observations in June 1977 when the NWS office moved to the Federal Building.  The NWS closed the office by the end of 1979.
Baton Rouge WBAS
WSO
1945-1993 The Weather Bureau opened an office at Harding Field (currently Baton Rouge Metropolitan Airport) in February 1945 after the Army Air Force closed its station at the airport.  A WSR-1 radar was commissioned 8/16/1955, and replaced by a city-owned WR100-5 radar on 8/17/1973.  A WSR-74C radar was commissioned in its place 10/20/1978.  The office was closed in 1993 when its functions were transferred to the Slidell office.
Boothville WBO
WSMO
WSCMO
1965, 1966-1969, 1971-1988 A Weather Bureau office opened in February 1965, with surface and upper-air observations, replacing the Burrwood station.  The station was destroyed by Hurricane Betsy in September of that year, and the office was closed the remainder of 1965.  It was destroyed again in August 1969 following Hurricane Camille, and reopened in April 1971.  The office was changed to a Contract Meteorological Observatory in July 1979, and was permanently closed in 1988.
Burrwood WBO 1942-1965 A Weather Bureau office was opened at the mouth of the Mississippi River in March 1942 to conduct upper-air observations.  A WSR-1 radar was in September 1956, and replaced by a WSR-4 in 1960.  The office was relocated to Bootheville in February 1965.

Lake Charles

WBAS
WSO
WFO
1939-present Although weather observations in Lake Charles began in late 1887, the Weather Bureau did not open until 2/12/1939, when it established an office at Old Calcasieu Paris Airport (later known as Chennault AFB). The office moved to the Lake Charles Regional Airport 11/22/1961, then to new facilities on the airport grounds in February 1996.

New Orleans

SigSvc
WBO
DFO
RDO
HC
WSFO
RFC
WSCMO
1870-1994?

A Signal Service office was established 10/4/1870 in downtown New Orleans, and was taken over by the Weather Bureau 7/1/1891.  Besides normal forecast operations, the office became home to the Satellite Field Service Station, as well as an Area Aviation Forecast Center.  A hurricane forecasting center also operated here starting in 1935, covering the Gulf of Mexico west of 85°W; the forecasting responsibility was transferred to the National Hurricane Center in 1966, but warnings and advisories continued to be issued by the New Orleans office until 1980.  

The forecast facility, in various locations, remained in New Orleans until 4/25/1979, when it was merged with the radar observatory in Slidell, along with the Lower Mississippi River Forecast Center (which was established in 1971). A contract NWS office operated at the New Orleans International Airport through the mid 1990's.

Shreveport

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
WFO
1871-present The Signal Service opened its Shreveport office in September 1871, and it was taken over by the new Weather Bureau in July 1891. After being at various downtown locations, it moved to the downtown airport 10/6/1941. It then moved to the Greater Shreveport Regional Airport 7/6/1952. A WSR-1 radar was installed in 1953, and later upgraded, but replaced by the WSR-88D in the 1990's. Upper air observations began in 1956, after relocateing from Barksdale AFB; these observations were transferred to the Longview, TX office in 1975, then returned to Shreveport in 1995.

Slidell

WSMO
RFC
WSFO
WFO
1972-present A radar observatory opened in Slidell to operate the WSR-57 radar system. On 4/25/1979, it merged with the forecast office which moved from New Orleans, as well as the Lower Mississippi River Forecast Center. In February 1994, the offices relocated to new facilities in Slidell, and the WSR-57 was eventually replaced by the WSR-88D.
MAINE

Augusta

WBAS 1944-1947 The CAA and Weather Bureau jointly operated the station at Augusta State Airport, from January 1944 to February 1947.  At that point, the CAA assumed full responsibility.
Brunswick WSMO 1969-1984 A Weather Service Meteorological Observatory was opened November 1969 at Brunswick Naval Air Station, to operate the new WSR-57 radar. This WSMO continued operations until December 15, 1984, when the Navy took over radar operation.

Caribou

WBO
WSO
WFO
1937-present The Caribou Weather Bureau began launching weather balloons in 1937. The office was at a hangar at the Caribou Airport through 1966, except for a brief period in 1944-45 after a fire. A new airport building was constructed in 1966. The office appeared to be headed for closure during the 1990's, but was reborn in 1998 as a Weather Forecast Office.
Eastport SigSvc
WBO
1873-1953 Observations in the area trace as far back as 1821 at Fort Sullivan.  The Signal Service opened a facility at the Custom House in March 1873.  After the office was destroyed in a fire in 1886, it was moved to the Grady Building, where the Weather Bureau took over in 1891.  The office was then moved to the new Custom House in October 1893, where it remained until closing in September 1953.

Gray

WSFO
WFO
1994-present The Gray office was opened September 1994, when operations moved from the facilities at the Portland airport.
Millinocket WBAS 1943-1947 The CAA and Weather Bureau jointly operated a station at the Millinocket Municipal Airport from October 1943 to July 1947.

Portland

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSFO
WSMO
1891-1994 The Signal Service operated at several locations in Portland, beginning April 15, 1871. The Weather Bureau assumed responsibility on July 1, 1891. The office, located downtown, relocated to Portland City Airport (now Portland International Jetport) December 4, 1940. On April 20, 1970, an NWS Forecast Office was established downtown, with observations remaining at the airport. This split operation continued until 1988, when the operations were consolidated back at the airport. In September 1994, operations then moved to a new facility in Gray.
MARYLAND

Baltimore

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1870-1995? Although the Signal Service opened its Baltimore station at the end of 1870, observations in the general area date back to 1829.  The Weather Bureau took over in June 1891, at an office at Johns Hopkins University.  Operations were moved to the Custom House in 1908.  A separate airport station opened 2/16/1930 at the old Logan Field, moving to Baltimore Municipal Airport in 1945 and Friendship International Airport (now Baltimore-Washington International) in July 1950, where operations were combined with the city office.  The airport office was closed in the mid 1990's when its functions were transferred to the office in Sterling, VA.
Camp Springs NMC
NCEP
1973 - 2012 The World Weather Building was constructed in the mid 1970's to house the functions of the National Meteorological Center; most operations moved there by January 1975.  A new facility (NOAA Center for Weather and Climate Prediction) was opened at the University of Maryland campus in the summer of 2012, with NCEP operations at the World Weather Building relocated to this facility by September 2012.
College Park NCEP 2012 - present The NOAA Center for Weather and Climate Prediction was opened at the University of Maryland campus in the summer of 2012, with NCEP operations at the World Weather Building relocated to this facility by September 2012.
Frederick WBAS
WBO
1943-1963 The Weather Bureau opened an office near Frederick in August 1943, and moved to the municipal airport in January 1949, when operations were reduced to 8 hours a day.  The station was closed at the end of October 1963.
Laurel Ridge WBO 1932-1934  

Patuxent River

WSMO 1970-1995 A Weather Service Meteorological Observatory opened at the Patuxent River Naval Air Station in 1970, when the WSR-57 radar was moved from Washington National Airport due to interference from local construction.  This was replaced with a WSR-74S on 12/1/1982.  The office was closed after the radar was decommissioned.
Silver Hill WBO 1950-1953 The Weather Bureau established the Silver Hill Observatory and Testing Station on 10/1/1950. It assumed upper-air observations that were previously taken at Washington National Airport, and also conducted acceptance testing of various balloons, radiosondes, inflation techniques, and pilot balloon observations.  It also tested rain gage and other surface observation equipment.

Silver Spring

HQ
NMC
NCEP
? - present  
Suitland NMC
WBFO
WSFO
1954- The Weather Bureau established a communications center in Suitland in 1954.  The Joint Numerical Weather Prediction (JNWP) forecast unit was established next door, as a joint project with the Navy, Air Force, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and the University of Chicago.  The forecast center for the Washington DC area was moved to Suitland in 1967, then to Sterling, VA around 1992.  The communications center was relocated to Silver Spring in 1992.
MASSACHUSETTS

Blue Hill

WBMO
WSMO
1959-present Although the Blue Hill Observatory came under Weather Bureau oversight in 1959, its presence dates back to February 1, 1885. It has taken continuous, daily observations since then, the oldest climatological site to operate at only one location. It was the first site to conduct an upper air observation, on 8/4/1894 using a kite. The Observatory is considered a Weather Service Meteorological Observatory, but is generally operated under local command.

Boston

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
DFO
FAWS
WSFO
HC
1890-1994 The Weather Bureau assumed responsibility from the US Army for Boston weather observations in 1890. The old courthouse was the observing site through 1929, then moved to the new courthouse after a temporary relocation. The city WB office moved to the Custom House in June 1950. Meanwhile, pilot balloon observations (pibals) began at Logan Airport 10/15/26, with observation elements gradually added. Official city observations were transferred from the city office 1/1/36. The WB airport office shared quarters with various US Army facilities initially. In 1940, the office was upgraded to an official forecast office, while continuing local observations.  Hurricane forecasting was established in 1955 for the region, and responsibility was transferred to the National Hurricane Center in 1966, although hurricane advisories and warnings were still issued by the Boston office until 1980. The forecast operations moved to Taunton late in 1993, with the observing functions automated in 1994(?).
Chatham WSMO
WSCMO
1970-present A Weather Service Meteorological Observatory opened in November 1970, taking upper-air observations.  Radar observations began 8/9/1971 with the installation of the WSR-57; this was replaced with a WSR-74S on 5/6/1983. 
Martha's Vineyard WBO 1899-1900  
Nantucket SigSvc
WBO
1886-1970 A Signal Service office was established in October 1886, after a telegraph wire was laid to connect Nantucket Island with mainland Massachusetts.   The Weather Bureau took over operations in September 1891, first in the Pacific Club Building, then at a new Weather Bureau Building in 1904.  The office was moved to the airport in 1946 to support the aviation industry.  Operations were turned over to the FAA in 1970.
Pittsfield

WBO
WBAS

1938-1968 The Weather Bureau opened an office at the Pittsfield Municipal Airport in June 1938, and took over weather observations from the CAA in November 1942.  The station began part-time operations in February 1954, then was permanently closed 9/1/1968.

Taunton

WFO
RFC
1993-present The forecast office moved from Logan Airport to this new facility 11/8/93. See the Boston entry for more information.  Additionally, the Northeast River Forecast Center relocated here from Hartford, CT.
Westfield WBO 1944-1947 The Weather Bureau and CAA jointly operated an office at Barnes Airport from August 1944 to July 1947.
Woods Hole WBO 1893-1900  

Worcester

WBAS
WSO
1955-1995? The Weather Bureau opened a station at the Worcestor airport in November 1955, operating 16 hours a day.  An Automated Meteorological Observing Station was activated about a year later.  A WSR-1 radar was commissioned 3/16/1956.  24-hour operations began in October 1959, then reduced to 16 hours a day again in 1965.  The radar was replaced by a WSR-74C model 7/2/1976.  The office was closed in the mid 1990's, and replaced by an ASOS.
MICHIGAN

Alpena

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1872-1999 A Signal Service station was established in September 1872, with the Weather Bureau taking over in 1891.   The office was relocated to Phelps Collins Field in August 1959, operating part-time with an AMOS station also present.  The AMOS was decommissioned in 1975.  A WSR-74C radar was commissioned 6/8/1977, and the office began full-time operations again.  Functions of this office were transferred to the new Gaylord office in 1995, and the site began contract operations, which continued until early 1999.

Ann Arbor

WSFO 1978-1994 The Detroit forecast office relocated to the Federal Building in Ann Arbor from the Wayne County Airport on 1/15/1978.  It remained at this location until 1994, when it moved to new facilities in White Lake.

Detroit

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
DFO
FAWS
WBFO
WSFO
WSO
WSCMO
1870-1999

The Signal Service's Detroit office opened on November 1, 1870, along with 23 other locations as sychronized weather observations began.  Operations transferred to the Weather Bureau in 1890.  Several downtown locations were utilized for the operations. 

A Weather Bureau Airways Station began operations at Ford Field in 1928, and was moved to Wayne County Airport (current Detroit Metro Airport) in 1930.  This office was relocated to the Willow Run Airport in the summer of 1942.  However, the WBAS was re-established at Wayne County Airport in October 1946.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned 5/1/1957, replaced by a WSR-57 on 9/12/1961 and a WSR-74S on 3/9/1983.  The forecast office was moved to this location, then relocated to Ann Arbor in January 1978.  The office was turned into a contract meteorological observatory around 1995, with the contract turned over to the FAA around 1999.

A WBAS was also estabslihed at Detroit City Airport in 1933.  Official observations were transferred to this airport in 1934, while forecasts remained downtown until approximately 1940.  However, a downtown office remained in place until 11/1/1957, when functions were moved to the City Airport office.

A WBAS also established at Willon Run Airport in 1942, after relocating from Wayne County Airport.  The CAA operated the station for the second half of 1946.  The office remained in place until the end of September 1968.

Escanaba SigSvc
WBO
1871-1888, 1898-1963 Signal Service operations began in Escanaba in May 1871, continuing through March 1888.  Volunteer observers continued the weather record until the Weather Bureau opened an office in November 1898.  Operations were reduced to a single employee in 1953, then the office was closed in 1963.

Flint

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1956-1995 The Weather Bureau took over operations at Bishop Airport in January 1956, from the CAA.  Upper-air observations began in September of that year.  A WSR-3 radar was added 11/25/1957, and was decommissioned 1/15/1978.  the office was closed in June 1995, with functions transferred to the White Lake (Detroit) office.

Gaylord

WFO 1995-present A Weather Forecast Office was opened in Gaylord in September 1995, merging operations of NWS offices at Sault Ste. Marie, Muskegon, and Houghton Lake. 
Grand Haven WBO 1892-1933  

Grand Rapids

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1903-present The Weather Bureau established an office in the Michigan Trust Building on 7/1/1903. It moved to the post office at the end of 1910, then to the National Bank Building 3/29/1930. Meanwhile, an airport office was established at the Kent County Airport 9/1/1934; this office merged with the city office on 1/26/1956. The airport office relocated 11/24/1963, and again 8/1/1995.

Houghton Lake

WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1964-2001 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was opened at the Roscommon County Airport in April 1964.  A WSR-74C radar was commissioned on 2/1/1977.  Office operations came under contract in April 1996, with main duties transferred to the new Gaylord office.  The contract office was closed in 2001.

Lansing

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1887-1891, 1895-1954, 1959-1996 The Signal Service opened an office in Lansing in January 1887 at the Old State Building.  The office remained in place until July 1891.  However, the Weather Bureau did not take over until February 1895, at the old Post Office building.  In October 1940, a new office was established at the Capitol City Airport; the two offices were consolidated at the aiport in July 1948.  The office operated part-time at the airport until being closed in July 1954.  A new WBAS was opened in May 1959, operating full-time. This office was closed in 1996 after ASOS commissioning.
Ludington WBO 1912-1938  
Manistee WBO 1891-1893  

Marquette

SigSvc
WBO
WSO
WFO
1870-present The Marquette office was established among the initial Signal Service offices in 1870, and was transferred to the Weather Bureau in 1891.  It operated at various locations downtown through the late 1970's, including its longest stint at the Post Office building from 1937-1979.  At that point, the office was moved to the Marquette County Airport.  A new facility was constructed nearby in the mid 1990's, and forecast responsibilities and staffing were increased.

Muskegon

WBAS
WSO
1938-1996 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was opened at the Muskegon County Airport in February 1938.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned 5/9/1957, and was replaced by a WSR-74C commissioned on 3/25/1976.  The office functions were transferred to the Grand Rapids office in 1995, and the Muskegon office was closed in 1996 after the radar was decommissioned.
Port Huron WBO 1893-1933  
Saginaw WBO 1912-1925 The Weather Bureau opened an office in Saginaw at the Merrill Building.  This moved to the Arthur Hill Trade School in 1913, and the Miller Building in 1919.  The office was closed in 1925. 

Sault Ste. Marie

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1888-1999 The Signal Service established an office at the First National Bank building in January 1888, with the new Weather Bureau taking over in July 1891.  It moved operations to the Evening News Building in 1896, before moving into its own facilities in 1899.  A separate office was established at the municipal airport in July 1939, with upper-air observations beginning at that time.   The two offices were consolidated at the airport in September 1943.  The office was moved just off the airport grounds in October 1982 ,when Sanderson Field was closed.  The office was closed in 1997, with functions moved to the new Gaylord office; a contract station remained in place through May 1999.

White Lake

WFO 1994-present The Detroit area forecast office was moved here from Ann Arbor in 1994.  The upper-air program relocated here from Flint that same year.
MINNESOTA

Alexandria

WBAS 1937-1939 A Weather Bureau Airways Station operated at the Alexandria airport from 9/1937 to 8/1940, then was taken over by the CAA. 

Chanhassen

WFO
RFC
1995-present The Twin Cities forecast office was moved to the suburb of Chanhassen in March 1995.  It assumed upper air functions from the St. Cloud NWS office around this time.  It is also home to the North Central River Forecast Center (NCRFC), as well as the National Operational Hydrologic Remote Sensing Center (NOHRSC).

Duluth

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1870-present Duluth was one of the 24 initial Signal Service offices, established in 1870. In 1890, functions were transferred to the new Weather Bureau, which occupied several sites downtown through 1940. In 1940, operations also began at the Duluth Airport; the city office was closed in 1950. Among technology advances during the years was the WSR-74C radar in 1977; the Automation of Field Operations and Services (AFOS) computer in 1979; the WSR-88D radar in 1995, and the Advanced Weather Information Processing System (AWIPS) in 1998. The office moved to new facilities on the airport grounds in 1996.
Farmington CWSU ? - present The Minneapolis-area Center Weather Service Unit operates out of the ARTCC in Farmington.
Grand Marais WBO 1944-1946 The Weather Bureau established a 1st-order station in March 1944, taking 6-hourly observations.   It closed at the end of June 1946.

International Falls

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1939-present The Weather Bureau established a facility at the Municipal Building in 1939, before moving to the Municipal Airport in 1946.  Upper-air observations began in 1942.  The Weather Service established a contract meteorological observatory in 1997 to monitor the newly commissioend ASOS, and take the upper-air observations, after general operations were combined with the Duluth office; the ASOS monitoring by the WSCMO was discontinued in 2000.

Minneapolis

WBO
FAWS
RFC
WSFO
1890-1995 The new U.S. Weather Bureau established an office in downtown Minneapolis 9/23/1890, and official observations for the Twin Cities was moved here shortly afterward.  It also relayed the forecasts that were issued by the St. Paul office.  Another office was opened at Wold-Chamberlain Field (i.e. Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport) in 1934 to take aviation weather observations, and the official observation site was moved here in 1938.  Weather and river forecast responsibilities were moved to the downtown Minneapolis office in the 1940's from the St. Paul office, and was moved to the airport site in the late 1940's.  The downtown office was closed in March 1965.  The airport office remained, though, and by the early 1960's, a WSR-57 radar was installed.  This office closed in 1995 when its functions moved to a new facility in Chanhassen.

Moorhead

SigSvc
WBO
1881-1934 The Signal Service opened up an office to cover the Fargo/Moorhead area in 1881, and it was taken over by the Weather Bureau in 1890.  It was located at 3 different locations in Moorhead until 1934, when operations were transferred to Hector Field in Fargo, ND.

Rochester

WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1943-1997 A Weather Bureau Airways Station opened at the Rochester Airport in 1943, taking over observations from the CAA.  It, along with the entire airport operations, were moved to a new facility in September 1960; a WSR-3 was commissioned at the same time.  The radar was replaced with a WSR-74C in April 1976.  Operations were transferred to a WSCMO in June 1996, after ASOS was commissioned, and the FAA took over responsibility by the end of 1997.

St. Cloud

WBAS
WBO
WSO
WSCMO
1931-1999 A Weather Bureau Airways Station was established in 1931 at Tourist Park, and replaced by a new site in February 1936 at Whitney Airport.  This was moved to the new Municipal Airport (aka St. Cloud Regional Airport) in February 1972.  A rawinsonde station was established in June 1947, then moved to the Twin Cities in 1995.  The WSO was replaced by an NWS Contract Meteorological Office in June 1995, which operated until the end of May 1999.

St. Paul

SigSvc
WBO
1871-1948? The U.S. Signal Service opened its downtown St. Paul office in January 1871, and this location served as the offiical observing site for the Twin Cities until 1890.  After this transfer, the Weather Bureau planned to close this office, but remained open after numerous protests.  This site then began issuing weather forecasts, and relaying/receiving weather data from headquarters in Washington DC.   This office was moved to Holman Field around 1930 to take aviation observations, and the forecast responsibilities were transferred to the Minneapolis office in the 1940's.
Willmar WBO 1943 This station operated for about a year before operations were transferred to the CAA.
MISSISSIPPI

Jackson

WBAS
WBO
WSO
WSFO
WFO
1931-1935, 1939-present The Weather Bureau Airport Station opened at Hawkins Field in 1931, but closed June 1935 due to the Great Depression; it reopened June 1939. On 3/1/1953, the first upper air observation was taken. In 1959, a WSR-3 radar (old Navy 3-cm radar) was installed, later being replaced in 1969 by the WSR-57, and in 1993 by the WSR-88D. A second office opened 7/8/1963 at the new Thompson Field, for warning and forecast operations. The Hawkins Field office closed in 1969, with the WSR-57 installation at Thompson Field. On 4/1/1972, the office gained forecast responsibility for all of Mississippi. The office was relocated in October 1978.

Meridian

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1889-1994? A station opened in Meridian in August 1889, and was closed briefly from 1896-1898.  It reopened at the Federal Building at the end of 1898, then moved to the post office in 1933.   A second office opened at Key Field in 1944, taking over for the CAA.  The city officed merged operations at the airport in October 1948.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned at Key Field on 8/16/1959, then was replaced by a WSR-74C 11/2/1976.   The office was closed as part of the NWS modernization.

Stoneville

WBO
AWSC
1958-? The Weather Bureau operated an Agricultural Service Office at the Delta Branch Experiment Station.   This continued through the 1980's.

Tupelo

WSO 1983-1995  A Weather Service Office was opened at Lemons Airport after the WSR-74C was commissioned 4/1/1983.  It was closed following the radar decommissioning at the end of 1995.
Vicksburg SigSvc
WBO
RDO
WSO
1871-1969, 1977-? The Signal Service established an office in Vicksburg in 1871, and it was taken over by the Weather Bureau 20 years later.  The office was forced to move in 1885 after burning down.  When the Weather Bureau took over, it moved operations to the Post Office building.  A River District Office was added in 1956, then closed in 1969.   A liason office was operated at the Corps of Engineers office afterward.
MISSOURI

Columbia

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1889-1996 The Weather Bureau operations in Columbia date to 1889, operating on the University of Missouri campus until 1936, at which point it moved to the Post Office.  A separate Weather Bureau Airways Station opened in February 1944 at the original downtown Columbia airport.  Operations were consolidated at the airport in  November 1951.  Rawinsonde observations began in the early 1950's.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned in August 1957.  The radar and facility moved to the new Columbia Regional Airport in October 1969.  Rawinsonde observations remained at the old site until August 1970, when the function was transferred to Monett; winds aloft were measured at the new facility until July 1981.  The radar was replaced with a WSR-74C in November 1977.  The office was closed in May 1996, after functions were transferred to the St. Louis office.

Hannibal

WBO 1891-1933  

Kansas City

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
DFO
FAWS
WSO
HQ
NMC
NCEP
RFC
TC
1888-present

The Signal Service established an office in Kansas City in 1888, with the Weather Bureau assuming operations in 1890.  Several downtown locations were utilized, with a separate office at the municipal airport opening in 1934; the two were merged at the airport in 1939. In 1954, the Severe Local Storms (SELS) unit was moved here from Washington DC.  In 1966, SELS became part of the new National Severe Storms Forecast Center (NSSFC), and it operated along with the WB forecast office and several smaller subsectors to become the largest Weather Bureau operation outside of Washington.  In 1972, the Weather Service Office portion was moved to the Kansas City International Airport, while NSSFC moved to the Federal Building downtown.  The NSSFC was renamed the Storm Prediction Center in 1995, and moved to Oklahoma in 1997.  The WSO moved to Pleasant Hill in 1993, with a skeleton staff remaining at the airport to operate the WSR-57 radar until its decommissioning in summer 1996.

The Central Region Headquaters and the NWS Training Center currently are on the northwest edge of Kansas City, having moved from earlier locations downtown.  The same building contains the Aviation Weather Center, part of NCEP.

Malden WBO 1943- A Weather Bureau office opened at the Malden Army Airfield in April 1943.

Monett

WSMO 1970-1995 A Weather Service Meteorological Observatory was established 9/4/1970, with upper air observations taken. A network radar, the WSR-57, was commissioned in March 1971. The office closed after radar and upper air functions moved to the expanded Springfield office.

Pleasant Hill

WFO
RFC
1993-present A Weather Forecast Office was established in 1993, replacing the WSO at Kansas City International Airport.  The Missouri Basin River Forecast Center also operates from this location.
St. Joseph WBO
WBAS
1910-1964 The Weather Bureau opened its St. Joseph office at the beginning of 1910.  An airways station was opened in 1935 at Rosecrans Field.  The main WBO remained downtown until 1947, at which point it moved to the airport; it did move back to the original location for a few months in 1952 due to flooding.  Airways operations were transferred to the CAA in August 1954, and the Weather Bureau handled climatological and public service duties.  The office closed at the end of 1964.

St. Louis

SigSvc
WBO
DFO
FAWS
WBAS
WSFO
WSMO
RFC
1870-1996

The Army Signal Service established its St. Louis office in October 1870, and was transferred to the Weather Bureau in 1890.  A second office was opened at Lambert Field in 1929, operating concurrently with the downtown office.  The city office was closed in 1958, with its functions moved to Lambert Field.  The WSR-1 radar was installed in June 1955, replaced by the WSR-57 radar in July 1960.  The forecast office and radar were moved to a new facility in St. Peters in 1974, while observations remained at Lambert Field until commissioning of an automated weather station in 1996.

A River Forecast Center was opened at St. Louis in 1946.  This was later moved to Kansas City, and currently operates as the Missouri Basin River Forecast Center.

St. Peters

WSFO
WSMO
1974-1994 The NWS forecast office was moved from Lambert Airport to a new location 15 miles northwest, in October 1974.  The WSR-57 radar was also moved at that time, although the official surface observations remained at Lambert.  Forecast operations moved to Weldon Spring in 1990, and some staff remained to operate the old radar until it was decommissioned in 1994.

Springfield

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1887-present The Signal Service established an office 9/20/1887, which was taken over by the new Weather Bureau 7/1/1891. Observations were at various downtown locations until the early 1930's, when an office was established at the old Springfield Municipal Airport; the station moved to the new airport 7/2/1945. A WSR-1 radar was installed 3/28/1957. On 12/14/1971, the Springfield WSO joined the ranks as one of the few NWS offices to take a direct hit from a tornado; the wind exceeded 100 knots (the limit of the gust recorder), and the pressure fell to 28.83 inches. A new office was built in 1994, with a WSR-88D and upper air station installed soon after.

Weldon Spring

WFO 1990-present Weldon Spring became the home of the St. Louis NWS forecast office in 1990, after moving from St. Peters.  The 6th of the nationwide WSR-88D Doppler network was installed here in 1992.
MONTANA

Billings

WBO
DFO
WSO
WFO
1934-present  A Weather Bureau office was established at the Billings airport in 1934.  Operations included daily forecasts, fire weather forecasts, Yellowstone Basin forecasts, and observations of surface weather and via balloon and airplane.  The state forecast office was relocated to Great Falls in 1953.  Its first weather radar was installed in the 1980's and replaced in the mid 1990's with the WSR-88D radar.  A new facility was also constructed at this time south of the airport.
Butte WBAS 1939-1953 A Weather Bureau Airport Station opened in January 1939, to assume operations from the CAA, then was transferred back to the CAA in June 1953.

Glasgow

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1943-present  The Weather Bureau in Glasgow was established downtown 6/6/1943, taking 6-hourly surface observations as well as upper-air observations.  The office was moved to the Glasgow Municipal Airport in October 1955, relocating to the airport terminal in 1969.

Great Falls

WBO
FAWS
WSFO
WFO
1937-present The Weather Bureau opened its Great Falls office in April 1937, although cooperative weather observations were taken as far back as 1892. Public forecasts were issued by the Great Falls office beginning in 1953. In June 1994, the office relocated off the airport grounds to new facilities.  Another new office was constructed in 1995, and staffing expanded, with the Doppler radar commissioned in August 1996.

Havre

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1879-1998 A Signal Service station was established at Fort Assinniboine, 7 miles southeast of Havre, in October 1879.  After the Weather Bureau took over operations in May 1892, it was moved to Havre.  A specific Weather Bureau building was opened at the beginning of 1904.  The office was moved to the airport in January 1961.  It operated with an early automatic weather observing station, dating from around 1957, but this was later upgraded.  The station closed in the late 1990's as part of the NWS modernization.

Helena

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1880-1994 The Signal Service office opened up in April 1880, with operations transferred to the Weather Bureau in 1892.  Various locations in the city were utilized.  An airport office was established in April 1940, and the two stations were consolidated there in August 1955.   The office was closed as part of the NWS modernization of the 1990's.

Kalispell

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1899-1995 A Weather Bureau Office was opened 5/3/1899 at the Conrad Bank Building.  It was relocated in 1905 and 1917.  In May 1949, the office was moved to the Flathead County Airport, with shared observational responsibility with the CAA until 1953.  The office closed in 1995.
Miles City WBO 1891-1943 A Weather Bureau office was established 10/1/1891 at the Stebbins Building.  It moved approximately every 5 to 7 years after that, until 1916, when it moved to the Post Office.  The office remained there until closing in January 1943.

Missoula

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1944-present The Weather Bureau took over observational responsibility at the Missoula County Airport from the CAA in December 1944. A WSR-57 radar was commissioned 11/1/1961 at Point Six Mountain, approximately 9 miles north-northeast of the office.  The office had been at the airport terminal, then was moved to the USFS Smoke Jumper Center in 1982.  A new office was built in 1994 as part of the NWS modernization, and a WSR-88D replaced the old radar on June 1995.
NEBRASKA

Alliance

WSMO 1977-1997 A Weather Service Meteorological Observatory was established in June 1977, to operate the WSR-74S network radar.  The office was closed in 1997 after the radar was decommissioned.
Drexel WBO 1915-1926  

Grand Island

WBO
WSO 
1929-1995 The first Weather Bureau office in Grand Island was established at Grand Island Central Airport 1/1/1929.  The office was scheduled to be closed 6/11/1953, but received a reprieve approximately 30 minutes before its records were scheduled to be retrieved.  The office, which had moved to the Municipal Airport in 1938, was relocated to Grand Island/Hall County Airport in 1970.  The office was closed at the beginning of 1995, when operations were moved to a new facility in Hastings.

Hastings

WSO
WFO
1993-present The Hastings office opened in 1993, with dual operations continuing with the nearby Grand Island office.  The two were consolidated at the beginning of 1995.  

Lincoln

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1894-1996  The initial Weather Bureau station was opened on the University of Nebraska campus in 1894, although observations on the campus date back to 1878.  An airport station was established in October 1937, operating until 1942; the CAA then assumed responsibility, before sharing duties with the WBAS beginning in February 1949.   Separate offices were maintained through the early 1970's, then consolidated at the airport.  Contract operations began in 1995 after the main office closed as part of the NWS modernization, and ran for approximately a year.

Norfolk

WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
WSCMO
1946-1999 The Weather Bureau opened a city office and River District Office in August 1945, then relocated them to the airport in October 1946.  A WSR-1 radar was commissioned 7/27/1947; this was replaced with a WSR-74C 5/14/1976.  The office was contracted out in June 1996, after main operations were transferred to the Omaha/Valley office; this contract ended in January 1999.

North Omaha

WBAS
WSFO
1955-1994 The North Omaha WB office opened in 1955, with the installation of the WSR-1 radar. A full NWS forecast office was established in 1972. The Eppley Airport office merged at North Omaha in 1974. The radar was replaced with a more modern WSR-74C in 1977. The office closed in 1994, when operations moved to the modernized NWS office in Valley.

North Platte

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1905-present The Weather Bureau established its North Platte office 12/1/1905, although the Signal Service had been taking observations since September 1874. A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established at Lee Bird Field in 1940. First located in an airport hangar, it moved to the airport administration building 1/15/1952. It remained there until new facilities were completed in the summer of 1995.

Omaha

WBO
WB/UA
WSFO
1891-1974 The Weather Bureau established an Omaha office in 1891, although the Army Signal Service had been taking observations since 1870. Upper air observations began in 1931, using airplanes; these were replaced by balloons in 1938. A new office was established at Eppley Airport in 1941. The Eppley office closed in 1974, with operations consolidated at the North Omaha facility.

Scottsbluff

WBAS
WBO
WSO
WSCMO
1949-1999 A Weather Bureau office was established at the Scottsbluff Municipal Airport in 1949, taking over surface observations from the CAA in May 1950.  A WSR-3 radar was installed at the office in the summer of 1969, and decommissioned in 1978 after a network radar was installed at Alliance.  The office was closed in March 1995 as part of the modernization of the NWS, replaced by a contract meteorological observatory, which was closed in June 1999.

Valentine

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO 
WSCMO
1885-1997 The Signal Service operated an office in Valentine from 1885 to 1891, with a brief interruption in October 1888 after it was destroyed in a fire.  The Weather Bureau took over in 1891.  The office moved to the municipal airport in 1955 and operated as a WBAS.  The station generally operated on a part-time basis, and closed in 1995; it was replaced by a contract observatory for a couple years.

Valley

WFO 1994-present The Valley office replaced the North Omaha facility in 1994. It assumed upper air responsibility, had a WSR-88D installed, and the forecast functions were transferred to Valley. As modernization progressed, the Valley forecast and warning coverage areas was adjusted.
NEVADA

Austin

WBO 1944-1945  
Beatty WBO 1944  
Carson City WBO 1893-1905  
Elko WBO
WSO
WFO
1930-1935,
1941-present
The Weather Bureau opened on December 16, 1930, in facilities built by the Boeing Company. Operations of the office were turned over to the CAA in July 1935, which manned the station through October 1941.  In December 1964, the office was moved downtown, with airport obsevations assumed by the FAA.  The office was closed for a few months in the summer of 1969, before reopening at the old post office in September.  The office remained at that location until August 1995, when a new facility was opened during the NWS modernization.
Ely WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1938-1999 An airport station was established at Yelland Field in October 1938, with upper-air observations beginning the next month.  The upper-air function was relocated to Elko in 1994.  The office became a contract meteorological observatory in 1996, and was completely closed in 1999. 
Jackass Flats WBO 1959-1961  

Las Vegas

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1935-present The Weather Bureau opened an office in Las Vegas on 8/15/1935, at what is now Nellis AFB.  Upper-air observations began on 9/25/1945 with one flight a day, with a second flight added the following April.  After the Air Force base was temporarily closed, the office was moved to Alamo Field (McCarran Field) on 12/18/1948.  The upper-air observations were transferred to the Nevada  Test Site at Yucca Flat on 10/10/1966.   In 1976, the office was moved from the airport administration building to the Hughes Charter Terminal Building (after spending 6 months in a trailer), and a WSR-74C radar was activated at the end of the year.  Construction on  a new office about 2 miles southwest of McCarran Airport began in January 1994, as the office was to be given forecast operational duties as part of the NWS modernization; this office opened in April 1995.  After assuming additional coverage areas from nearby offices, the county warning area was over 70,000 square miles, one of the largest in the nation.  The WSR-88D radar was constructed at nearby Nelson Peak in 1994 and commissioned in September 1995, at which point the WSR-74C was decommissioned.  In December 2010, upper air observations resumed after the Desert Rock office was closed.
Mercury WSMO 1978-2010 Operations in Desert Rock began in April 1978, after being transferred from Yucca Flat.  Surface and upper-air observations were conducted at the Nevada Test Site northwest of Las Vegas, at the NWS Nuclear Support Office.  Due to funding issues with the Department of Energy, upper-air observations during much of the early 2000's were not available on weekends or holidays.  By late 2010, the office was closed after the upper-air function was transferred to the Las Vegas office.

Reno

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSFO
WFO
1905-present  A Weather Bureau office was established 11/10/1905 at the Thoma-Biglow Building.  It relocated to the IOOF Building in 1910 and the post office in March 1934.  An airport station was established at Hubbard Field (current Reno-Tahoe International Airport) in January 1931, and the city office was relocated there in August 1942.  Operations were reduced to 18 hours a day in 1968.  The office was assigned forecast responsibilities for the state of Nevada in 1974, and resumed 24-hour operations.  A new office was built away from the airport in 1994, and upper-air observations were added in October after being relocated from Winnemucca.  Residual operations at the airport were transferred to the FAA in 1999. 
Tonopah WBO 1906-1929  

Winnemucca

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1877-1928, 1929-1944, 1945-1999 The Signal Service established an office in July 1877 at the Arlington Hotel. The office was destroyed by a fire in December 1880, and subsequently relocated to the Donalin Building, until the office was closed in 1883.  A new office was re-established in December 1884, and moved to the old courthouse in 1888, where it was located when the Weather Bureau took over.  After operating in a couple different locations, it reloctaed to the municipal airport in September 1949.  In November 1950, it began joint operations with the CAA, and was closed 5 hours a day, until resuming full operations in 1953.  Hours were again reduced in 1958 due to funding shortfalls, and became full-time again a few years later.  In 1994, upper-air observations were transferred to the Reno office.  The station converted to a contract meteorological observatory in 1996, then was closed in 1999.
Yucca Flat WBO
WSO
WSMO
1956-1978 This office operated to support the Nevada Test Site, used for nuclear testing.  Upper air observations began in October 1966, after being moved from Las Vegas.  The office closed 6/13/1978, with functions transferred to Desert Rock (Mercury).   
NEW HAMPSHIRE

Concord

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1902-1933,
1937-1996
A Weather Bureau office was opened in November 1902, then closed at the end of July 1933.  After a few year hiatus, a new office was established just before Christmas 1937, at the First National Bank building.  The office moved to the municipal airport in May 1941.  The station began 16 hour a day operations in 1950, which continued until resuming full-time status in late 1970.  The office closed in 1996, and was merged with the office in Gray, ME.
Manchester WBO 1893  
Mount Washington SigSvc
WBO
1870-1892, 1935-1952 The Signal Service established an office south of Gorham on Mount Washington in 1870, operating until 1892.  Operations on the mountain resumed in 1932, with Weather Bureau involvement  beginning in 1935.   Operations were contracted out to the Mt. Washington Observatory Corporation in 1952; the observatory remains in operation. 

Nashua

CWSU ? - present The Boston-area Center Weather Service Unit operates at the ARTCC in Nashua.
NEW JERSEY

Atlantic City

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1873-1995  Signal Service operations began at the U.S. Life Saving Station in December 1873.  When the Weather Bureau took over in the 1890's, the office was at the Real Estate and Law Building, where it remained until getting its own building in January 1902.  The office moved to the National Aviation Facilities Experimental Center (later known as the FAA Technical Center) in June 1958.  A WSR-57 radar was commissioned 8/25/1961.  The office was closed in 1995 after ASOS was commissioned and the radar was decommissioned.
Camden WBAS 1935-1940  
Cape May SigSvc
WBO
1872-1885
1897-1932
 

Mount Holly

WSFO
WFO
1993-present The Philadelphia Weather Service Forecast Office moved to Mount Holly in August 1993. 

Newark

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1929- A  Weather Bureau Airport Station was established at the Newark Airport in March 1929.
Sandy Hook WBO 1903-1929  

Trenton

WBO
RDO
WSO
1913-1981  A Weather Bureau office was established in April 1913 at the Broad Street Bank building, moving to the Federal Building in 1933.  Aviation observations were conducted from this location from 1930-1946, at which point the station moved to the courthouse.  The station established part-time operations in the 1950's, and resumed 24-hour coverage in 1967.  The office was closed 12/1/1981.
NEW MEXICO

Albuquerque

SigSvc
WBAS
FAWS
WSO
WSFO
WFO
CWSU
1878-1879, 1931-present While a Signal Service office opened in 1878, it was only in operation for a little over a year, then cooperative observers took observations until the Weather Bureau opened an office in 1931. The city office was first established, then a Weather Bureau Airport Station opened in January 1933 at the TWA Airport (aka West Mesa Airport), before moving to the Municipal Airport (now Albuquerque International Airport) in late July 1939, where it has remained.  A Center Weather Service Unit was later added, likely in the late 1970's.
Clayton WBAS
WBO
WSO
1944-1985 An airport station was established at Clayton Municipal Airpark in March 1944.  The office was reduced to part-time operations in the early 1950's, and finally closed in 1985.
Raton WBAS 1942-1953, 1955-1968 The Weather Bureau took over weather operations from the CAA at Crews Field in November 1942.  The office closed in September 1953, then was reopened in November 1955.  An Automated Meteorological Observation Station was installed in 1961, with the office operating part-time afterward.  The station was fully automated in December 1968.
Roswell WBO
WBAS
WSO
1904-1995 The Weather Bureau office in Roswell opened in September 1904, and moved to the airport in 1947.  The airport was relocated in the late 1960's, but the office did not move to it until 1972.  The office was closed in 1995.

Santa Fe

SigSvc
WBO
1871-1941 The Signal Service established an office in Santa Fe 11/18/1871, with the Weather Bureau taking over in 1891.  The office was closed in May 1941.

Santa Teresa

WFO 1995-present This office was established 9/6/1995 by the relocation of the old El Paso NWS office. Warning and forecast functions were established and expanded from the old office.
Silver City WBAS 1960-1968 An office was established at the Grant County Airport in May 1960, operating part-time.  The office was closed in September 1968.
NEW YORK

Albany

SigSvc
WBAS
WBO
WSO
WSFO
WFO
1873-present Although official Signal Service observations began in Albany 12/22/1873 at the Dudley Observatory, scattered temperature records for the area date as far back as 1796.   The office was at the U.S. Customs House when the Weather Bureau took over.  An airport station was established in January 1930, and became the official climatological station in June 1938; the two offices were consolidated at the airport in 1964.  Upper-air observations began at the airport in October 1955, initially 4 times a day, then reduced to twice a day in 1957.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned 11/12/1958, and replaced by WSR-74C 7/27/1977.  The office was designated as a forecast office in 1971.  The office was relocated to the University of Albany as part of the NWS modernization.
Bear Mountain WBO 1938-1953 The Weather Bureau took over the station at Bear Mountain in 1938, although the observations date back to 1932 in nearby Peekskill. The station was reduced to operating 12 hours a day beginning in 1948.  The office was closed May 19, 1953. 

Binghamton

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO

1896-present  A Weather Bureau office was established at the Binghamton post office in October 1896, and continued there until 1951, when it was relocated to the new Broome County Airport and consolidated with the airport station which had been in Endicott.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned 6/15/1959, and replaced by a WSR-74S radar 3/8/1978.  The office was upgraded in the NWS modernization of the 1990's and made into a forecast office.

Bohemia

HQ ? - present  

Buffalo

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WBFO
WSFO
WSCMO
WFO
1870-present Signal Service operations began in November 1870 on the Hollister Block in downtown Buffalo, with the Weather Bureau taking observations in 1891.  For nearly 75 years, the station remained within a quarter mile circle of downtown, finally moving to the airport in 1943.  The airport operations first began in 1929, with upper-air observations commencing in 1939.  A WSR-57 radar was commissioned 10/29/1961.  Operations moved to a new observatory building on the east side of the airport grounds in the early 1960's, and a separate forecast wing was opened at the terminal building in the late 1960's.  The observatory portion became a contract meteorological observatory in 1981, and was transferred to the FAA in the late 1990's when the observation funtion was moved to the airport terminal; upper-air observations continue on the east side of the airport.  The forecast office was moved to new facilities on the eastern edge of the airport in April 1995. 

Canton

WBO 1906-1950 A Weather Bureau office opened on the campus of St. Lawrence University in July 1906, and moved to its own building in February 1910.  The office was closed in 1950.
Columbiaville WBAS 1943-1946  
Elmira WBAS 1939 This WB Airport Station took over for the local CAA station for one year.
Endicott WBAS 1942-1951 The Weather Bureau took over operations from the CAA at the Tri-Cities Airport in December 1942.  The office was relocated to the new Broome County Airport in Binghamton in May 1951, and consolidated with the Binghamton city office.  
Ft. Plain WBAS 1943-1948  
Ithaca WBO 1899-1943 The Weather Bureau opened an office at Cornell University in 1899.  The office was closed in July 1943, when its functions were transferred to the Albany office.

New York City

SigSvc
WBO
WBMO
HQ
WBFO
WSO
WSMO
WSFO
1870-?

The Signal Service office in New York City opened October 1870 on Wall Street, moving to Broadway in 1871, which is where it was located when the Weather Bureau took over in 1891.  The office moved to Battery Place in May 1911, where it remained until relocating to 30 Rockefeller Plaza at the end of 1960.  The office was upgraded to a forecast office in July 1950, covering the north half of New Jersey, the NYC metropolitan area, and Long Island.  A WSR-57 radar was commissioned 3/6/1961, placed on top of the building.  The forecast office portion was relocated to New York University in 1970, then moved back in December 1974.  The office was moved to the Brookhaven National Laboratory in Upton in October 1993.

A separate observatory office dates back to 1868 at the Arsenal Building.  The Weather Bureau took it over in 1920 and moved it to near Central Park, which became the official observation point for the city in 1960. 

New York/
Kennedy

WBAS
WBFO
WSO
WSCMO
1948-?  An Airport Station was established at Idlewild Airport (current JFK International Airport) in June 1948 in the "temporary" terminal building.  It was relocated to the International Arrivals terminal in December 1957.  Upper-air observations began in November 1956, then were relocated to Fort Totten (9 miles north of the airport) in 1973.  A second forecast office for the area was established at Kennedy Airport in 1966.  The office became a contract meteorological observatory in June 1988. 

New York/
LaGuardia

WBAS
FAWS
WSO
WSCMO
1939-?  The Weather Bureau opened an airport station at LaGuardia Field in 1939, on the 3rd floor of the Landplane Administration Building.  A Flight Advisory Weather Station was opened in 1943.  The WBAS moved to the Marine Terminal Building in June 1961.  The office became a contract meteorological observatory in June 1988. 
Niagara Falls WBO 1943-? The Weather Bureau established an office at the municipal airport on 1/7/1943, operating 16 hours a day.
Oswego SigSvc
WBO
1870-1953 The Signal Service opened an office in Oswego in November 1870, part of the original network of offices.  It was located at the Grant Building initially, then relocated to the post office in 1884, where the Weather Bureau took over in 1891.  The office was closed in March 1953, with its functions transferred to the Syracuse office.

Rochester

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1870-1996? The Rochester office of the Signal Service was part of the original network of offices in 1870.  It opened at the Reynolds Arcade Building, then moved to the Powers Building in September 1871.  The Weather Bureau took over in 1891 and moved the office to the Government Building.  An airport office was established in late 1929, and the city office was moved to this location in November 1940. The office closed during the NWS modernization of the 1990's.
Ronkonkoma CWSU ? -present  

Syracuse

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1902-1993? The Syracuse office of the Weather Bureau was established at Syracuse University in August 1902, then moved to the Federal Building in October 1928.  A separate Airport Station was established November 1937 at the municipal airport in Amboy, and was the city office was consolidated here in 1942.  The office relocated to the new Hancock Airport in 1949.  The station was closed during the NWS modernization, with its functions transferred to the Binghamton office.
Upton WSFO
WFO
1993-present The forecast office for the New York City area was relocated to the Brookhaven National Laboratory in Upton in October 1993. 
Whiteface Mountain WBO 1937-1946  
NORTH CAROLINA

Asheville

WBO
RDO
WBAS
WSO
1902-1996  A Weather Bureau office was opened  in August 1902 at the Drhumor Building, then moved to the library the next year, the Legal Building in 1910, and the Post Office in 1931.  The office began issuing river and fire weather forecasts in 1941.  The office was relocated to the Asheville airport in 1964.  Fire weather forecasts were discontinued in 1972,  The office was closed in 1996 during the NWS modernization.

Cape Hatteras

SigSvc
WBO
WSO

1874-1995 The Army Signal Service established a local weather office in 1874 at the lighthouse keeper's quarters.  The Weather Bureau built a new office in 1901.  Operations were moved to a new office in 1946, but the old facility remained in use as living quarters for staff.  This facility was restored in 2005 and is currently the Hatteras Island Welcome Center.  A WSR-57 radar was installed in the 1960's, and remained operational until 1995.

Charlotte

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1888-1996 The original Weather Bureau offices were downtown, while a separate office was established in 1948 at what is now Charlotte/Douglas International Airport.  The facilities were merged in the 1950's.  The Charlotte office closed in 1996 when operations were merged with the Greenville-Spartanburg, SC, office.
Greensboro WBAS
WSO
1928-1995 The Weather Bureau opened an airport station in May 1928, then moved to a new location on the airport grounds in 1974.  Upper air observations began in 1943.  The office was closed in 1995 during the NWS modernization.
Kitty Hawk WBO 1893-1904  
Manteo WBO 1904-1929  
Newport WFO 1995-present  The Newport/Morehead City office was established in the mid 1990's during the NWS modernization.   

Raleigh

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WBFO
WSFO
WFO
WSO
1887-present The first office in Raleigh was a Signal Service station at the North Carolina Experiment Farm; this moved to the Agriculture Building in late 1887, which is where the Weather Bureau took over operations.  After a couple other locations, the office moved to the Raleigh Municipal Airport in 1940, then to North Carolina State College in late 1944, while a separate airport operation remained in place.  The city office began river forecast operations in 1944.  The two offices merged at the airport in 1954.  The office was designated as a forecast office in 1969.   A WSR-74C radar was commissioned 5/19/1977.  The office was relocated back to North Carolina State University in January 1994 as part of the NWS modernization; the airport operations continued for a short time.
Southport WBO 1893-1894  

Wilmington

SigSvc
WBO
WSO
WFO
1870-present The U.S. Army Signal Corp began sending weather observations in downtown Wilmington, NC on Dec 18, 1870. During 1874 the building was moved to the northwest corner of Front & Princess Street. The building was moved to 19 N. Front Street in 1881, then to Fourth and Chestnut Streets in 1890 with the formation of the Weather Bureau in 1891 under the Dept. of Agriculture. During 1931, the Wilmington Weather Bureau moved to the U.S. Customs House Building on Water Street.  The Wilmington Weather Bureau moved to the Air-Passenger Terminal at Bluethenthal Field (New Hanover County Airport) in 1951. In 1960, WSR-57 radar observations began at the airport. The Weather Bureau was changed to the National Weather Service in 1967 as part of the Environmental Science and Services Administration (which later became the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration). In 1979, the National Weather Service in Wilmington moved from the old airport terminal building to 1739 Hewlett Drive at the airport. In 1994, the office moved to its current location at the airport. In October 1994 the WSR-88D radar observations began in Shallotte, NC.
Winston-Salem WBAS 1944-1965 An office was established at Smith-Reynolds Airport in February 1944.  It was discontinued in March 1965, with the FAA assuming observation responsibility.
NORTH DAKOTA

Bismarck

WBO
WSFO
WFO
1891-present The Weather Bureau took over observations in Bismarck in 1891. The office was located downtown until 1894, then moved to Camp Hancock until 1939. In 1939, the office was relocated to the Bismarck Airport, with upper air observations beginning July 7, 1939. A new office on the airport was opened in 1973, with another new office (currently in use) in 1994.

Devils Lake

WBO 1904-1963 The Weather Bureau operate an office in Devils Lake from December 1904 to June 1963.

Ellendale

WBO 1919-1936 Ellendale was one of 5 sites in the country that used kites to take upper air observations. This was discontinued in July 1936, when airplane observations began in other parts of the country.

Fargo

WBO
WSO
1934-1995  The Weather Bureau moved its operations from Moorhead, MN to Hector Field in Fargo in 1934, and moved to the new terminal building there in 1954.  A WSR-74C radar was commissioned in late 1976, then upgraded to a WSR-74S in February 1978.  The NWS closed this location in 1995 and transferred its functions to a new office in Grand Forks. 
Fort Buford SigSvc
WBO
1879-1893 The Signal Service operated from Fort Buford, approximately 20 miles southwest of Williston, from 1879 to 1891, at which point the new Weather Bureau took over.  Operations were moved into Williston in November 1893.

Grand Forks

WBO
WBAS
WFO
1911-1941,
1995-present 
The first Weather Bureau office opened in 1911 on the University of North Dakota campus.  A second office operated at the Grand Forks Municipal Airport in 1938, then was turned over to the CAA.  The university office closed in 1941.  A new Weather Forecast Office was opened at the university in 1995, and absorbed the functions of the Fargo office.

Williston

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1893-2012 The Williston office opened in November 1893, after being relocated from Fort Buford.   The office was relocated to Sloulin International Airport in January 1962.  A WSR-74C radar was commisioned at the airport on 2/2/1978.  The office coverage area was reduced in the mid 1990's, but the office itself remained open until the end of 2012, as the last WSO in the lower 48 states.
OHIO

Akron

WBAS
RDO
1937-1995 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was opeend at the Akron Municipal Airport in November 1937.  A separate office was opened at the Akron-Canton office in July 1943, and the two offices were merged here in January 1953.  A River District Office was established in 1961.   A WSR-74C radar was commissioned 6/1/1977, replacing an unofficial 3cm radar.  The office closed in 1995. 

Cincinnati

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
FAWS
WSMO
WSO
RFC
1870-1971 The Signal Service began its observations in Cincinnati in November 1870, at the Pike's Opera House Building.  The Weather Bureau took over duties in 1891.  The office was moved to the Customs House in 1885, and remained there until 1936.  A River Forecast Center began operations in September 1946.  A separate office was established across the river at the Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky Airport in 1947, and the city office was relocated to the airport in 1971.

Cleveland

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
FAWS
WBFO
WSFO
WFO 
1870-present Cleveland was the site of one of the Signal Service's original office network, established at the Atwater Building in October 1870.  It was relocated in 1873, 1888, and 1891, before the Weather Bureau took over, with a few other downtown offices afterward.  An airport office was established at the Cleveland Municipal Airport (current Hopkins International Airport) in August 1926, and the city office was merged into the airport operations in June 1941.  A separate aviation weather office (forerunner to the current CWSU) was established in March 1944.  A new city office was established at Penn College in 1951, then closed in June 1953.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned at the airport 5/13/1957.    The office was assigned forecast responsibilities in November 1968.  The radar was replaced with a WSR-74C model 8/4/1976, and by a WSR-88D on 2/9/1995.

Columbus

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO 
1889-1996 The first office in Columbus was opened in May 1889 at the Board of Trade Building, although observations in the area date back to 1878.  The downtown office moved several times afterward, spending the most time at the New Haden Building from 1902-1930.  An airport station opened in May 1930 at what is now Port Columbus International Airport.  The city office was largely relocated to the airport in July 1955, with a residual office at the post office lingering until April 1973.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned 2/12/1959.  A River District Office was established in 1961.  The radar was decommissioned 1/19/1977.  The office was closed in 1996.

Dayton

WBO
WBAS
WBMO
WSMO
WSCMO
WSO
1911-1933, 1935-1995 The Weather Bureau constructed an office in Dayton in July 1911, then was relocated in 1923, 1935.  It was temporarily closed from 7/22/1933 to 1/31/1935.  A separate airport office opened at the municipal airport (current Cox Dayton International Airport) in August 1940; the two offices merged at the airport in June 1943.  Upper-air observations were transferred from Wright-Patternson AFB in May 1956, operated from a separate office 5 miles from the airport station; this station was placed under NWS contract in 1981.  Both offices were closed in 1995, and merged with the new office in Wilmington.
East Liverpool WBAS 1938-1948  

Mansfield

WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1959-1998 The Weather Bureau took over the operations at the Mansfield Airport in November 1959, operating 16 hours a day.  The office was closed in 1996, with contract operations continuing another 2 years.
Oberlin CWSU ?- present The Cleveland-area Center Weather Service Unit operates out of the ARTCC in Oberlin.
Portsmouth WBO 1953-1955 A Weather Bureau office was established at the facilities of the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission in July 1953, and was closed 2 years later. 
Sandusky WBO 1887-1963 The Sandusky office was established at the post office in August 1887, and moved to the new post office in 1927.  It was closed at the end of September 1963. 

Toledo

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1870-1997 The Signal Service opened a Toledo office on 11/1/1870, as part of the original station network, at the C.A. King Building.  It was at the Government Building when the Weather Bureau took over.   An airport station first opened in June 1928, and continued until the CAA took over in November 1933.  The Weather Bureau resumed operations at the airport in June 1939.  The city office was relocated to the airport in July 1949.  The office was closed as part of the NWS modernization.

Wilmington

WFO
RFC
1994-present A new Weather Forecast Office opened in February 1994, with operations being transferred from the NWS office in Covington, KY.  The Ohio River Forecast Center also moved to this location.

Youngstown

WBAS
WSO
1943-1995?  An office was established at the Youngstown Municipal Airport in September 1943. 
OKLAHOMA

Altus

WBO    

Broken Arrow

WBO 1919-1931 Broken Arrow was one of 5 upper air stations run by the Weather Bureau, utilizing kites. This practice ended in June 1931, and was replaced by upper air observations via airplane at Dallas.

Norman

WSFO
WFO
NCEP
1987-present The Norman NWS office opened in January 1987, as a relocation of the Oklahoma City forecast office. It was originally located at the Max Westheimer Airport.  In 1997, the Storm Prediction Center moved here from Kansas City and was co-located with the forecast office.  In August 2006, the two offices were moved to the new National Weather Center on the University of Oklahoma's South Research Campus.  The Norman office has participated extensively in NWS modernization efforts, through tests of new equipment and staffing levels.

Oklahoma City

WBO
WBAS
RDO
TC
WBFO
WSFO
WSO
1890-present The Weather Bureau presence in Oklahoma City dates to November 1890, with a separate airport station established at Will Rogers Field on 4/2/1932.  The two were consolidated at the airport in early 1955.  Upper air observations began in July 1938, continuing until the summer of 1967.   A training center was established in 1946 for the CAA; the NWS continues to have several staff members at this FAA training center.  A WSR-1 radar was commissioned 3/1/1955; it was replaced by the WSR-57 in April 1960.  The office was designated a Weather Bureau Forecast Office in 1969.   Upper-air observations resumed in February 1975, after being moved from Norman.  The forecast office was moved to Norman in January 1987, with operations continuing at the airport to operate the radar, until it was decommissioned in 1994.

Tulsa

WBAS
WBO
RDO
WSO
WFO
RFC
1930-1934, 1938-present

The Weather Bureau opened an airport station in March 1930.  The CAA took over its operations in June 1934, then the Weather Bureau reopened its office in December 1938.  A separate city office was established in 1945, which contained the functions of the River District Office, which had been established the previous year.  The city office was closed in December 1947, and the newly established River Forecast Center functioned in its place.  A WSR-1 radar was established at the airport 5/4/1956, and was replaced with a WSR-74C radar 3/12/1976.  The airport office (WSO) and RFC were combined at a new facility southeast of the airport in the 1990's, as part of the NWS modernizaztion, and the WSO was upgraded to a forecast office.

Waynoka WBAS
WBO
1937-1946 A WBAS was established at the Transcontinental & Western Airfield northeast of Waynoka, in October 1937.  The office was relocated into Waynoka in September 1944, and remained there before closing at the end of 1946.
OREGON

Astoria

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
1870-1903, 1953-1999 The Signal Service opened an office in Astoria in the fall of 1870, although obserations in the area date back as far as 1822.  This was replaced by a Weather Bureau office in the early 1890's, which closed in 1903.  Cooperative weather observers continued observations.  A new station was established in January 1953 at Clatsop County Airport.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned 6/1/1959, remaining in operation until 11/1/1967.  After the office closed in 1997, a contract office remained in place for a time to monitor the ASOS.
Baker SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
1889-1910, 1911-1953 The first office established in Baker was at the Orpheum Building in July 1889, and moved in 1901 and again in 1905.  The office was destroyed in a fire 1/26/1910, and did not reopen until 2/21/1911.  A separate airport office was established in March 1944, sharing responsibility with the CAA through 1945, then the Weather Bureau operated alone for 1946, before responsibility shifted back to the CAA.  The city office closed in May 1953.

Burns

WBO
WSO
WSMO
1942-1998 The Weather Bureau office in Burns was established at the Voetgly Building in September 1942, and moved to the Federal Building in 1950.  It was frequently operated in a part-time manner, especially from 1973 onward, when it was designated as a meteorological observatory.  It was relocated to the Burns Airport in 1980, and operated with automated equipment during the off-hours.  An ASOS was commissioned in July 1995, but the office was not officially closed in July 1998.
Condon WBO 1943-1945 A Weather Bureau office operated in Condon for just under 2 years, at the county fairgrounds.  The office had been relocated from Maupin.
Crescent WBO 1944-1945 This Weather Bureau office was only in operation for a little over a year.
Crown Point WBO 1943- A first-order station was established at Crown Point in August 1943.
Eugene WBAS
WBO
WSO
1937-1997 The Weather Bureau established an airport station in Eugene in 1937, and was moved to the new municipal airport in December 1942.  It began joint operations with the CAA in 1955, resuming full-time operations in June 1964.  The office was closed in 1997.
Klamath Falls WBO 1943-1945 The Weather Bureau and CAA jointly operated the station at the Klamath Falls Municipal Airport from October 1943 through October 1945, at which point the CAA took over sole operation.
Lakeview WBO 1943-1944 This Weather Bureau office operated less than a year, before becoming a second-order station.  It had also operated as a second-order station for several years beforehand.
Maupin WBO 1943 This Weather Bureau station was only open for 6 months, before being moved to Condon.
Meacham WBAS
WBMO
WSMO
WSCMO
1943-1975 An office was established at the Meacham Emergency Airport in March 1943.   An Automated Meteorological Observing Station was commissioned in April 1958, and manual operations were generally one shift per day afterward.  The lone remaining employee was transferred in September 1972, and the station became a contract station, which was closed in 1975.

Medford

WBO
WSO
WFO
1926-present Although observations began in Medford 3/11/1911, the Weather Bureau didn't open a facility until 12/11/1926. The office first moved to the airport 11/1/1929, and relocated 5/1953 and 6/1969, before the current office was opened 8/1984. Office equipment over the years included the installation of the WSR-57 radar in June 1971, NOAA Weather Radio in September 1979, and the WSR-88D radar in August 1995.

Pendleton

WBAS
WSO
WFO
1935-present Weather observations began in Pendleton in February 1886, although the Weather Bureau office wasn't established until April 1935. Located at the airport, it relocated to the airport terminal in October 1960, where it remained until May 1995. At that time, it moved into new facilities at the airport.

Portland

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WBFO
WSFO
WSO
WFO
RFC
1871-present The Portland office was one of the early Signal Service offices, established in November 1871.  The Weather Bureau took over in 1892 and moved it to the Oregonian Building, where it remained until moving to the Custom House in 1902.  An airport station was first established at Swan Island Airport in July 1928, and was relocated to the Portland Columbia Airport (now Portland International Airport) in 1940.  A River Forecast Center was established at the city office in January 1950.  The city office and airport offices were consolidated in March 1955 at the airport, while the RFC remained at the Custom House.  The airport station was established as a regional forecast office in December 1968.  A separate fire weather office was opened in 1977, in a joint program with the U.S. Forest Service, and operated through March 1985.   The forecast office and RFC were relocated in 1994 to a new joint facility just off the grounds from the airport, although minimal operations continued at the airport for a short time.
Roseburg SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
1877-1964 The first office in Roseburg was established at the DaMotta Building in 1877, and was destroyed in a fire in August 1884.  The office was relocated to the Marks Building, where it stayed through 1905.  It later moved to the Federal Building, where it stayed until relocating to the airport in December 1952.  The station was closed during the overnight hours at this point, and fully closed at the end of 1964.

Sexton Summit

WBO
WSMO
WSCMO
1942-1989 The Weather Bureau assumed operations of the station at the top of Mount Sexton (15 miles north of Grants Pass) in November 1942; the CAA had initially operated the station since 1932.  An AMOS station was commissioned in March 1961, allowing for part-time operation.  The station was designated as a meteorological observatory in 1969, then as a contract meteorological observatory in March 1982.  The office was closed in December 1989, and the AMOS was replaced by ASOS in January 1993.
Siskyou WBO 1908-1913, 
1945-1948
 
PACIFIC TERRITORIES

Canton Island

WBAS 1947-1967 Operations of the weather station on Canton Island in the South Pacific were transferred from the Air Force to the Weather Bureau in January 1947, with surface and upper-air observations taken.  The station was expanded to 24-hour operations in July 1956.  The station was closed in September 1967. 

Chuuk

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1951-present The Navy ceded operations at Moen Airport on Truk Atoll to the Weather Bureau in 1951.  Surface and upper-air observations were taken.  The name of the station changed from "Truk" to "Chuuk" in 1990, after ratification of the constitution of the State of Chuuk.
Eniwetok WBAS 1960-1967 The Weather Bureau established a station on Eniwetok Atoll for surface and upper-air observations in October 1960, after the Air Force closed its weather station, operating it as part of the Pacific Missile Range Facility.   The station was closed in 1967, and later reopened by the Coast Guard.

Guam

WBO
WSMO
WSO
WSMO
WFO
HC
1956-present  The Guam Weather Bureau Office was established in September 1956 in Taguac, with surface and upper-air observations.  The office was relocated to the A.B. Won Pat International Airport in Tiyan in 1995, and upgraded to a forecast office during the NWS modernization.  The office also issues tropical storm and typhoon watches and warnings for Palau, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, and the Marianas.

Koror

WBO
WSO
1951-present  The Koror Weather Bureau Office was established in July 1951, taking over operations from the U.S. Navy.   Upper air observations were established in 1956. 
Kwajalein WBAS
WBFO
WSFO
1960-1975? The Weather Bureau took over the station at the Kwajalein Missile Range from the Navy in July 1960, taking surface and upper air observations.  An FPS-41 radar (military equivalent of the WSR-57) was commissioned 11/1/1962, and later replaced with a WSR-74S.  Forecast operations were conducted for the missile range, under agreement with the military.   

Majuro

WBAS
WBFO
WSO
1960-present   
Marcus Island WBAS 1963-1968 The Weather Bureau began its operations on the island in July 1963, taking surface and upper-air observations, which had previously been conducted by the Japan Meteorological Administration.  The office was closed in June 1968, with the JMA taking over again.

Johnston Island

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1958-1984? The Weather Bureau took over weather operations from the Air Force on Johnston Island in October 1958, taking surface and upper air observations.  The station was temporarily closed for 8 months in 1962.  The office was relocated in in 1961 and 1970.  The station was reduced to part-time operations in June 1984, and was unstaffed by the end of the year due to financial limitations.

Pago Pago

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1956-present The Weather Bureau established a part-time station at Tafuna Airport (current Pago Pago International Airport) in April 1956.  Upper air observations began in April 1966, and the station began full-time operations. 
Pohnpei WBO
WSO
1951-present  

Wake Island

WBO
WBAS
WBFO
WSFO
WSO
1948-1996 The Weather Bureau took over the weather station from the Navy in January 1948, with upper-air observations beginning in early 1949.  Some forecasting operations took place in the late 1960's and early 1970's.   The station was closed in 1996.

Yap

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1951-present The Weather Bureau assumed operations from the U.S. Navy in June 1951, taking surface and upper-air observations.  The station was relocated to the aiport in 1968. 
PENNSYLVANIA

Allentown

WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO 
1944-1995  A Weather Bureau office was established at the Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton Airport (current Lehigh Valley International Airport) in December 1943, remaining there until it was closed during the NWS modernization.
Altoona WBAS 1944-1947 The Weather Bureau and CAA jointly operated the weather station at Blair County Airport from 1944-1947.
Curwensville WBO 1942-1952 The Weather Bureau established a station northwest of Curwensville in November 1942.  The station was reduced to 16 hour per day operations in January 1952, then was completely closed in April of that year.
Erie SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1873-1953, 1955-2000? The Signal Service established an office in Erie in May 1873, located at the Rindernecht Building.  It was at the Federal Building when the Weather Bureau took over.  An airport station was jointly operated with the CAA at the Port Erie Airport from 1943-1947, when the CAA took over full responsibility again.  The city office was closed in September 1953.  Another joint operation began at the airport in October 1955, with the Weather Bureau beginning full-time operations in February 1960.  A WSR-74C radar was commissioned 8/30/1977.  By the mid 1990's, the office was minimally staffed primarily to operate the radar, and was eventually closed.

Harrisburg

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
RFC
1888-1993 

A Signal Survey office was opened in July 1888 at the U.S. Post Office, and transferred to the Weather Bureau in 1891.  An office at the Harrisburg State Airport was opened in January 1939, and the city office moved to the Education Building later that year.  River forecasting functions began at the city office in 1945.  In 1968, the city office was relocated to the Federal Building, and the Middle Atlantic River Forecast Center was co-located.  The airport functions were transferred to the FAA in 1971, and the NWS operations were consolidated again at the city office.  A WSR-74C radar was commissioned at the Federal Building 6/28/1977.  The functions of the WSO and RFC were moved to a new facility in State College in 1993, and the Harrisburg office was closed.

Kylertown WBAS 1935-1942  
Mercer WBAS 1943-1948 The Weather Bureau took over operations of the Mercer Airport station from the CAA in November 1943, operating through 1948.
Park Place WBO 1943-1955 The Park Place office (located 5 miles northwest of Mahanoy City) was established in January 1943, taking over operations from the CAA.  An AMOS station was activated in April 1954, and the station went unattended after 8/31/1955. 

Philadelphia

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WBMO
WBFO
WSO
WSFO 
WSMO
WSCMO
1870-1999?

A Signal Service office opened in December 1870 at the Philadelphia Board of Trade building, and moved to the Chamber of Commerce Building the next fall.  The office was located at the Post Office Building when the Weather Bureau took over in 1891.  The office moved to the new Custom House Building in 1934.  It was closed and relocated to the International Airport at the end of 1954.

An airport station was established at the Southwest Airport (current Philadelphia International Airport) in June 1940, and was closed for much of the second half of 1945. The city office was merged with the airport operations at the end of 1954.  Rawinsonde observations began in January 1955, continuing through early November 1957.  A WSR-1 radar was commissioned 11/20/1959.  A separate office was opened in 1969 for the radar and surface observations, with forecast operations beginning at this time.  The observations were transferred to contract meteorological observatory status in 1980.  The forecast operations were relocated to a new office in Mount Holly, NJ, in August 1993. 

Two other airport stations were established in June 1945, one at the North Philadelphia Airport, and the other at the Northeast Airport.  Both closed at the end of the year. 

Pittsburgh

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
DFO
FAWS
RDO
RFC
WBMO
WBFO
WSO
WSMO
WSFO
WSCMO
WFO

1870-present Pittsburgh was included in the Signal Corps' original weather station network in 1870, operating in several locations downtown.  The Weather Bureau took over on 7/1/1891, and moved the office to the federal courthouse the next year.  It operated in a few more locations downtown afterward.  An airport station was established in January 1931 at Bettis Airport, and moved to the Allegheny County Airport in 1932.  Official observations were transferred to this location from the city office in 1935.  The airport station was relocated to the Greater Pittsburgh Airport in 1952, and began forecast operations.  A WSR-1 radar was commissioned at this airport, and decommissioned 10/4/1963.  Upper-air observations began in 1943, and were moved to a separate facility near Coraopolis in 1963, where a WSR-57 was commissioned 8/1/1966.  The city office, which was a separate river forecast office, was moved to the Federal Building in 1965.  A new facility near the upper-air site was built in 1979 to house the forecast operations, and surface observations at the airport continued as a contract meteorological observatory. 
Reading WBO 1912-1969 The Weather Bureau opened its Reading office in December 1912, at the courthouse.  It was moved to the post office building in February 1940.  By 1956, the station operated during business hours on weekdays and Saturday mornings.  The office was closed in May 1969. 
Scranton WBO 1900-1955 The first Weather Bureau office in the area opened at the courthouse building in Scranton in August 1900, moving to the new courthouse in 1931.  The office was moved to the Wilkes-Barre Scranton Airport southwest of town in 1955.
Shippingport WBO 1955-1961 A Weather Bureau Office opened in Shippingport in April 1955, supported by the Atomic Energy Commission.  It operated one shift a day, and was closed in June 1961.

State College

WFO
RFC
1993-present The State College office was established to replace former offices at Harrisburg and Williamsport. The office opened 10/1/1993, and assumed responsibility for public forecasts in October 1998. The facility also houses the Mid-Atlantic River Forecast Center, which relocated from Harrisburg.
Wilkes-Barre WBAS
WSO
1945-1947, 1955-1994 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was opened at the Wyoming Valley Airport in 1945, as a joint operation with the CAA.  The CAA took over full operations in February 1947.  Airport operations were later moved to the new Wilkes-Barre Scranton Airport, and the Scranton office was relocated to this airport on 4/18/1955.  The office was closed in 1994.

Williamsport

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1944-1995 A joint Weather Bureau-CAA operation was established in 1944 at the Williamsport Airport, then was transferred to full Weather Bureau control in August 1948.  The station began 16 hour per day operations by 1969, but resumed full-time operations in March 1987.  The office was closed in 1995, with its functions transferred to the new State College office.
Woodward WBO 1943-1946  
RHODE ISLAND

Block Island

SigSvc
WBO
1880-1953 The Signal Service established an observing station on Block Island in 1880, in a local store. The office was moved to a newly constructed building in 1887, where it remained until burning down 7/17/1902. The replacement building was occupied as 1903 began. The Weather Bureau Office closed in 1953, with observations being transferred to the local airport.  Most of the operations were combined at the aiport in March 1943, and the city office was closed in May 1953.
Narragansett WBO 1899-1918  

Providence

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1904-1995 The Weather Bureau opened an office at Brown University in October 1904, and was relocated in 1909, 1913, and 1940.  An airport station was established in July 1937 at T.F. Green Airport.  The office was closed in 1995, with its functions transferred to the Taunton, MA office.
SOUTH CAROLINA

Charleston

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
WFO
1871-present  The Signal Service opened its Charleston office in January 1871 at the corner of Broadway and Bay in downtown Charleston, and stayed at this location when the Weather Bureau took over in 1891. The office was moved to the Custom House in February 1897.  An separate station was established at the end of 1931 at Charleston Municipal Airport (current Charleston AFB).  The CAA took over operations of this station in May 1935, then the Weather Bureau resumed operations in December 1938.  Upper air observations were taken at the airport station beginning in 1941.  Most of the city office functions were transferred to the airport in 1943, but a skeleton staff remained at the Custom House.  A WSR-1 radar was commissioned at the airport 2/1/1953, and replaced with a WSR-57 8/12/1960.  In 1957, automated equipment was installed at the Custom House, and the office was not manned.  The Air Force took over surface obserational responsibilities in 1968.  A new facility was constructed in 1994, due to expanded operations as a result of the NWS modernization.

Columbia

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSFO
WFO
1887-present The Army Signal Service opened its facility in Columbia 6/5/1897, and the operations were assumed by the new Weather Bureau 10/1/1891. The office was located in several locations through February 1905, then moved to the new Weather Bureau building. The office was relocated to the U.S. Courthouse 8/28/1936. Meanwhile, a separate Weather Bureau Airways Station opened at Owens Field in 1935; this was moved to the Columbia Airport 2/14/1947. The two facilities merged, and were housed at a new Weather Bureau building near the airport terminal 1/20/1967. The office gained additional forecast and warning responsibilities in October 1995, when the functions of the Augusta, GA NWS office merged with Columbia.
Due West WBO 1921-1932 Due West was one of the Weather Bureau stations that took upper-air observations using kites.  By 1928, only 4 such stations remained, as observations were being transitioned to using airplanes, then later to balloons.
Florence WBAS 1944-1965 A WBAS was established at the Florence Army Air Base (current Florence Regional Airport) in February 1944, taking over observations from the CAA.  The station was transferred to the FAA in April 1965.

Greenville

WBO
WBAS
1917-1934, 1938-1962 On 10/6/1917, the Weather Bureau opened its Greenville facility. It relocated in October 1925 and again in June 1933. The office closed 9/5/1934, then reopened at the post office as 1938 began. The Greenville facility closed 10/15/1962, when it merged with the Spartanburg Weather Bureau office at the Greenville-Spartanburg Jetport in Greer.

Greer

WBO
WSO
WFO
1962-present The Weather Bureau office in Greer opened at the Greenville-Spartanburg Jetport on 10/15/1962, after the merging of the separate Greenville and Spartanburg offices. The WB/NWS presence has remained to this day. The office was moved to new facilities in 1995, and its functions expanded.

Spartanburg

WBAS
WSO
1930-1962 The Weather Bureau opened an office at the Spartanburg Airport 6/14/1930, while maintaining its Greenville facility. The two offices merged 10/15/1962 at the Greenville-Spartanburg Jetport.
SOUTH DAKOTA

Aberdeen

WBO
WSO
WFO
1964-1981, 1982-present The Weather Bureau established an office in Aberdeen in 1964, staffed 24 hours a day. From 1978-81, the office dropped down to 16 hour a day operations. It closed completely in 1981, then reopened in 1982. From 1982-86, it operated 24 hours on weekdays, and 16 hours on weekends. From 1986-94, the office was staffed 16 hours a day, then resumed 24 hour operations in 1994 with an increased staff.

Huron

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1881-1996 A Signal Service station opened in Huron in July 1881, and was taken over by the Weather Bureau 10 years later.  An Airways Station was established in March 1938 at Howes Municipal Airport; the two offices were consolidated in 1955.  Upper-air observations were periodically done in the 1950's and 1960's as part of a research project; this became a permanent function in 1973.  A WSR-57 network radar was commissioned in April 1972.  The office was closed in 1996, and its functions divided between the Aberdeen and Sioux Falls offices.

Pierre

WBO 1891-1933 The Weather Bureau opened its office in Pierre in July 1891, at the Bank of Commerce Building.  It was moved to a more open area due to the beginning of upper air observations utilizing kits, which were taken from 1898 through 1900.  The station was closed in July 1933, with observations being taken by a cooperative weather observer.

Rapid City

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1888-present Observations in the Rapid City area began in 1888, with a Weather Bureau office established downtown in the early 1900's. A separate airport office was opened January 19, 1939, at the old Rapid City Airport (now Ellsworth AFB). The city office merged into the airport office in 1942; the WB operations were relocated to the new Rapid City Airport in October 1950. A city office was re-established in November of 1995, near the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. The airport functions were soon automated, and NWS operations were expanded at the new city office.

Sioux Falls

WBO
WSO
WSFO
WFO
1941-1942, 1946-present The Weather Bureau opened an office at the Sioux Falls Airport in September 1941, although observations were taken by private individuals since 1890. The office temporarily closed during World War II, from 8/1942 to 12/1945; when it reopened 1/1/1946, it had an all-female staff. New facilities were obtained in 1947, although the office temporarily operated downtown 4/1951 and 4/1952 due to flooding. The WSR-1 radar was installed in 1956, followed by the WSR-74C in 1976, and the WSR-88D in late 1993. The office assumed forecast responsibility for all of South Dakota in 1972. New facilities, and realigned forecast and warning responsibilities, were implemented in the 1990's.

Yankton

SigSvc
WBO
1873-1933  The Signal Service station was established in March 1873, and the Weather Bureau took over in 1890.  The office was destroyed in a fire 11/28/1901.  The station reopened at the Wagner Building on 1/1/1902.  The office was closed at the end of July 1933, and observations were transferred to the Yankton State Hospital as a cooperative observer station.
TENNESSEE

Bristol

WBAS
WSO
1944-1995?  The Weather Bureau took over the weather station at Tri-City Airport from the CAA on St. Patrick's Day 1944.  The office was closed on the midnight shift as of September 1953, but resumed full-time operations in November 1959.  A WSR-57 network radar was commissioned 5/25/1972.  The office was relocated to Morristown in 1995.

Chattanooga

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1879-1995 A Signal Service station opened at the Hamilton County Courthouse in 1879, then moved to the U.S. Customs House in 1893 after the Weather Bureau took over operations.  The office relocated to the James Building in 1909, then the post office in 1934.  In July 1940, the main office was relocated to Lovell Field; a separate office at the post office processed observational forms from around the country, remaining open through at least 1956.  A WSR-74C radar was installed at the airport in the 1980's, and decommissioned in 1998.  The office was closed in 1995, and observations were transferred to a federal contract.

Knoxville

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO 
1871-1995 The first office in Knoxville was operated by the Signal Service beginning in 1871; the Weather Bureau took over in 1891.  The city offices operated in several locations, including locations on the University of Tennessee campus, but had settled at the federal courthouse by 1934.  An airport office was established at McGhee-Tyson Airport in 1939, and the city office was relocated there in March 1942.  The office was closed in 1995, with its functions transferred to the new NWS office in Morristown.

Memphis

SigSvc
WBO
RDO
FAAWS
WBAS
WSFO
WSMO
WFO
CWSU
1930-present Observations began in Memphis 2/1871, and remained at various downtown locations through 9/1964. The Weather Bureau opened a River District Office during the 1930's, a Weather Bureau Airport Station 10/24/1931, and a Flight Advisory Weather Station in 1943. The first radar in the area, a WSR-3, was installed in Millington in 1957. The River District Office closed in 1964, and the downtown and airport stations merged.  A Center Weather Service Unit was established in 1978 for aviation forecasting.  A WSR-57 radar was installed at the Memphis Naval Air Station, operated by the NWS from 2/1971 to 12/1985. Forecast operations moved to new facilities in East Memphis in 1985; a WSR-74S was installed in January 1986, replacing the WSR-57 at the NAS. This radar was replaced by a WSR-88D, installed again in Millington, in 8/1993; the old radar was decommissioned 6/1995.
Monteagle WBO 1942-1946 A Weather Bureau Office was opened in Monteagle in November 1942, taking over for the CAA.  The office was closed in November 1946.

Morristown

WFO 1994-present A Weather Service Office was opened in Morristown in July 1994, as a merger of the Knoxville and Bristol offices.  The office was upgraded as part of the NWS modernization.

Nashville

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WBMO
WSMO
WSO
WSCMO
WFO
1870-present The Signal Service office for Nashville opened in October 1870, remaining downtown when the Weather Bureau took over.  A separate facility at Berry Airport (current Nashville International Airport) was opened in June 1937, and the two facilities were consolidated there on 12/18/1950.   Upper-air observations began in 1938.  A WSR-3 radar was installed 4/2/1957. Upper-air observations were moved to the Old Hickory area, 11 miles northeast of the airport, in July 1963, and a WSR-57 was commissioned here 10/31/1970 to replace the old unit; the main office remained at the Nashville airport.  The two facilities were consolidated in Old Hickory in the 1990's, and a WSR-88D was installed.
TEXAS

Abilene

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1885-1996 A Signal Service office was established in September 1885, and transferred to the Weather Bureau in 1891.  A WBAS was established in July 1935 at the old municipal airport, and the city office operations were consolidated there in April 1944.  The office relocated to the new airport 1/2 mile south in December 1953.  A WSR-1 radar was commissioned 2/8/1954, and replaced by a WSR-3 on 3/25/1972 and a WSR-74C on 8/27/1977.  A mobile upper-air station operated at the airport from February-May each year beginning in 1963, as part of a severe weather research project, and full-time observations began in the early 1970's.  The office closed in 1996 during the NWS modernization.

Alvin

WSO 1970-1990 The Alvin office opened in 1970, with the relocation of the Houston WB city office. It was responsible for warnings and local forecasts. In October 1990, the office moved to League City, and consolidated with the Galveston NWS office.

Amarillo

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1892-present The Weather Bureau opened an office at Amarillo July 1, 1892, with observations in town. From 1932-1935, a second office was located at the area airport. In June 1941, a new airport office was opened, and the city office was closed. In 1961, one of the first NWS network radars, the WSR-57, was commissioned. Upper air observations began in 1956. Other milestones include one of the early Automated Surface Observation System (ASOS) commissionings, in 1992, and the nation's second WSR-88D (Doppler) radar commissioning, in 1994.

Austin

WBO
WSO
1926-1995 The Weather Bureau opened an office at the Littlefield Building in October 1926, but observations for the Austin area date back to the 1850's. The WBO also spent time at the Federal Court Building (10/1936-2/1942). The office relocated to Mueller Airport in August 1942. New equipment included the WSR-74C radar in the late 1970's, the Automation of Field Operations and Services (AFOS) computers in the early 1980's, and the Automated Surface Observing System (ASOS) in the mid 1990's. The office consolidated with 3 other stations to the new office at New Braunfels in 1995.

Beaumont

WBO
WSO
1917-1995 A Weather Bureau office opened at the downtown post office 2/1/1917, although observations in the area date to the end of 1901. The office moved to the Beaumont Municipal Airport 5/29/1940, then relocated to the Jefferson County Airport (current Southeast Texas Regional Airport) in Nederland 3/8/1944. The office was closed in August 1995, its functions assumed by the Lake Charles, LA office.
Big Spring WBO
WBAS
1940-1953 An airport office was established at the municipal airport in March 1940, and began taking upper-air observations in 1943.  The office closed in November 1953, and its functions transferred to the Midland office.

Brownsville

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1877-present The Weather Bureau took over observations from the military in October 1916. Initially, the observations were taken at a private residence, then in various downtown locations into April 1943. An office opened at the Brownsville airport 8/2/38. The city office consolidated at the airport office 4/1/42, and completely closed the next year. Upper air observations began at Brownsville in June 1943, and the Weather Bureau installed one of the new WSR-57 model radars in 1961. The 1960's also saw the start of weather radio in Brownsville. Surface observations were automated in May 1994, and the old radar was replaced by the WSR-88D Doppler radar in 1995.
Childress WBAS 1946-1948 A Weather Bureau Airport Station operated at the Childress AAF from December 1946 to June 1948, when operations were transferred to the CAA.

Corpus Christi

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WFO
1887-present The Army Signal Service opened a station at Corpus Christi at the start of February 1887, at the French Building. By 1901, the office was under Weather Bureau authority, and moved to the Hatch and Robertson Building. It moved to the City National Bank Building 11/1/1908, and then to the Federal Building 1/1/1921. A new office was established at Cliff Maus Field 1/28/1938. This office merged with the old city Weather Bureau office 10/15/1942, but an Emergency Hurricane Office remained downtown until 1946. The WB moved to new facilities 8/8/1965, and again 11/7/1995. Technology over the years included the initiation of NOAA Weather Radio in June 1967, the WSR-74C radar 2/1/1976; upper air observations 11/5/1989, and the WSR-88D in 1995.

Dallas

WBO
WB/UA
1913-1973 The Weather Bureau opened an office in downtown Dallas 10/15/1913, at the Cotton Exchange Building. A separate office was established at Love Field 7/16/1930, and the downtown office was absorbed into the airport office 9/1/1940. At Love Field, upper air observations began 7/1/1931, using airplanes; this function relocated to Oklahoma City 6/30/1934. Forecast functions at the 4 WB offices (Dallas downtown and Love Field, Fort Worth downtown and Meacham Field) were transferred to the Meacham office 9/1/1937. The National Weather Service combined its Love Field and Meacham Field operations at Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport as 1974 began.

Del Rio

WBO
WSO
1951-1995 The Weather Bureau opened an office at the Val Verde County Airport in 1951, but weather records for the area date to 1905. The office remained there until September 1957, when it moved to the Post Office downtown. In February 1963, it moved back to the airport (now Del Rio International Airport). The office closed in 1995, when warning and forecast functions transferred to New Braunfels.

El Paso

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1877-1995 The Signal Service opened an office 11/6/1877 downtown, and was later taken over by the Weather Bureau. The El Paso office operated in 9 different locations through 1942, when it consolidated with the airport facility (opened 11/1931).  Upper-air observations began in July 1939.  Operations in El Paso itself ended 9/6/1995 when functions were moved to nearby Santa Teresa.

Fort Worth

WBO
FAWS
DFO
WSFO
WSMO
WFO
CWSU
HQ
RFC
1898-present The Fort Worth Weather Bureau opened for business 9/1/1898 downtown, and remained there through 1939. In January 1940, this office was consolidated with another office at Meacham Field. A Flight Advisory Weather Service (FAWS) office, a forerunner to the current Center Weather Service Unit, operated at the Fort Worth Air Traffic Control Center from 1944 through 1952. Upper air observations were also performed at Meacham Field from March 1946 through October 1948, when they were transferred to Carswell AFB. The Weather Bureau resumed these observations (at Carswell) in December 1955, continuing until the function was transferred to Stephenville in October 1973. Meanwhile, a WSR-1 radar was installed April 21, 1954, and was replaced by the newer WSR-57 April 5, 1961. The Fort Worth office assumed public forecasting functions for the northern half of Texas in the summer of 1960 (previously done by the New Orleans office). Much of the Weather Bureau operations moved to the Federal Building downtown in the summer of 1966, in facilities also housing the West Gulf River Forecast Center and the Southern Region Headquarters. However, observing functions remained at the airport until January 1, 1974, when they were transferred to Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport. The forecast office and River Forecast Center moved to new quaters on the north side of Fort Worth in November 1993, and the office again resumed upper air observations.

Galveston

SigSvc
WBO
WSO
1871-1995 One of the Signal Service's first offices opened in Galveston 4/19/1871. It was located in various locations until June 1898, when it moved to the Levy Building. After the great hurricane of September 1900, the office moved to the Trust Building, then to the post office building in 1946. One of the Weather Bureau's new WSR-57 radars was installed there in 1960. The office closed in October 1995, after commissioning of the League City WSR-88D.

Groesbeck

WB/UA 1919-1931 The Weather Bureau took upper air observations via kite at 5 stations, including Groesbeck. This function was transferred to Dallas' Love Field office in July 1931, and switched to airplanes instead of kites.

Hondo

WSMO 1971-1995 The Hondo office opened in 1971 as a Weather Service Meteorological Observatory (WSMO), with the installation of the last WSR-57 network radar. The office closed in 1995, when the WSR-88D network made its operations obsolete.

Houston

SigSvc
WBO
WSO
CWSU
1881-present After operations by the Signal Service since 1881, the Weather Bureau opened an office in downtown Houston 9/16/1909. This office was relocated twice, then split into two in 1970. The forecast and warning office moved to Alvin, while the observation function moved to the Houston Intercontinental Airport. In October 1990, the forecast function was moved to the League City office.  

A separate office, the Spaceflight Meteorology Group, operates at the Johnson Space Center.  This office was established in 1962 with the opening of the new Mission Control Center, and provided forecast support for spacecraft recovery during the Gemini and Apollo missions.  Upon closing of the Apollo era, the SMG mission was changed to provide launch and landing forecasts during the Space Shuttle program.  Staffing was reduced following the ending of the Space Shuttle program, with some support still being provided for other aspects of the NASA mission.

A Center Weather Service Unit also operates out of the ARTCC.
Laredo WBO
WBAS
1943-1968 The first Weather Bureau office was established in May 1943 at the Franklin Building downtown.  It was relocated to the Laredo Municipal Airport in October 1943, then to a new office on the airport (aka Laredo AFB) in June 1947.  Observational duties were transferred to the Air Force in October 1965, and the Weather Bureau moved to the Federal Building downtown, operating 4 to 7 hour shifts from Mondays through Saturdays.  The office was closed permanently in February 1969.

League City

WSO
WFO
1990-present The League City office opened in October 1990, merging the functions of the Houston (Alvin) and Galveston offices.  It movedacross the street in April 2005, into a new facility shared with the Galveston County Emergency Management Agency.
Longview WSMO 1975-1996 A Weather Service Meteorological Observatory was established in April 1975, to take upper-air observations.  A WSR-74S radar was commissioned 6/13/1985.  The upper-air function was transferred to the Shreveport, LA office in February 1995, and the office was closed in 1996 after the radar was decommissioned.

Lubbock

WBO
WSFO
WFO
1946-present  The first Weather Bureau office opened at the Lubbock airport in 1946, and has operated in several locations on the airport grounds.  In 1993, the office moved to the Science Spectrum building.

Midland

WBAS
WSO
WFO
1953-present  A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established at the Midland Air Terminal (current Midland International Airport) in November 1953, taking over operations from the CAA.  A WSR-1 radar was commissioned 7/16/1954, and upper-air observations began in April 1960.  The radar was replaced by a WSR-57 model on 6/15/1972, when the office was moved to a new building.  A new facility was built in 1994, as functions were being expanded as part of the NWS modernization.
Mineola WBO 1945-1946  

New Braunfels

WSFO
WFO
1994-present The New Braunfels (Austin/San Antonio) office opened in 1994, with the relocation of the San Antonio office. Functions from the Austin, Del Rio, and Hondo offices were transferred to this office in 1995.

Palestine

SigSvc
WBO
1881-1953 The Signal Service opened a Palestine office in 1881 at the I&GN Railroad Building.  The station was at the Ash Building when the Weather Bureau took over, and later moved to the Wright Building, City Hall, and the Federal Building.  The office was minimally staffed in the 1940's, and closed in 1953.
Port Arthur WBO
WBAS
WSO
1917-1996 An office was established at the Custom House in Port Arthur in February 1917.  A separate airport station was opened at the Jefferson County Airport in March 1944, and the city office was consolidated here in March 1953.  A WSR-1 radar was commissioned on 7/15/1955.  The station was reduced to 16 hour per day operations in 1967, resuming full operations in September 1980.   The office closed in 1996.
Rio Grande SigSvc
WBO
1877-1891  

San Angelo

WBO
WSO
WFO 
1947-present The Weather Bureau office opened at Mathis Field on Halloween, 1947. The first radar in the area was installed June 23, 1954. WB facilities were relocated in July 1965. A WSR-74C was installed in October 1977. New NWS facilities were opened in February 1996, including expanded operations and a WSR-88D radar.

San Antonio

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
FAWS
WBFO
WSFO
1875-1994 The Army Signal Service had a San Antonio office beginning in the 1870's, with functions taken over by the new Weather Bureau in July 1891. The station was in downtown San Antonio until 1941, when it moved to Stinson Field. The office then moved to the new San Antonio Municipal Airport in July 1942. It remained there until May 1972, when it moved to the North Crown Building. Upper-air observations were transferred to the Victoria office in July 1966.  In 1994, the office moved to New Braunfels.

Stephenville

WSMO 1973-1994 The Stephenville office opened in October 1973, assuming upper-air observations from Carswell AFB and radar operations from Fort Worth. This configuration continued until the mid 1990's, when both functions moved back to Fort Worth.
Taylor WBO 1901-1933 A Weather Bureau Office was estalbished in November 1901 at the National Bank Building, then relocated to the Federal Building in July 1930.  The office closed in 1933.
Tyler WBO
WBAS
1938-1947 The Weather Bureau opened an office at Pounds Field in January 1938; the CAA was responsible for surface observations through 1941, then resumed the responsibility in November 1946.   The Weather Bureau office closed at this time.

Victoria

WBAS
WSO
1946-1996 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established in December 1946 at Aloe Field.  Radar testing began in the fall of 1949, operating various radars from Copano Research the office's existence.  The office was moved to Foster Field in 1961.  Upper-air observations began in July 1966, after being relocated from the San Antonio office.   The office was closed in 1996. 

Waco

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1940-1993 The Weather Bureau took over the station at Rich Field in February 1940, and relocated to the Army airfield at Blackland Field in 1943.  A WSR-1 radar was commissioned 4/28/1955, and replaced with a WSR-74C radar 11/8/1976.  The office closed in 1993.

Wichita Falls

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1944-1993  The Weather Bureau took over operations from the CAA at Kell Field in February 1944, and was moved to the other side of the airport in June 1960 in a joint operation with the Air Force at Sheppard AFB.  A military APS-2F radar was first installed in October 1947, and converted to the Weather Bureau equivalent WSR-1 4/25/1956.   The radar was replaced with a WSR-74C on 2/5/1977.  The office was closed in 1993 during the NWS modernization.
UTAH

Milford

WBAS
WBO
WSO
WSMO
1949-1989  A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established in Milford in July 1949.  It operated as a meteorological observatory in the 1970's and 1980's, before closing in May 1989.
Modena WBO 1901-1948 The first Weather Bureau office in Modena was established in January 1901, in the facilities of the Utah & Pacific Railroad.  The office obtained separate quarters in June 1903, remaining in this location until closing in the summer of 1948.
Ogden WBO 1943-1948 In April 1943, the Weather Bureau opened an office at Hinckley Field, replacing an "on-call" observer for aviation purposes.  Operations were transferred to the CAA in September 1948.
Salt Lake City SigSvc
WBO
DFO
FAWS
WBAS
WSO
WSFO
WFO
RH
RFC
CWSU
1874-present The Signal Service established its first observation site in March 1874, and operations were assumed by the Weather Bureau in December 1891.  The first several observation sites were downtown.  A separate airport station was established in May 1928, and climatological observations for the city were moved here in July 1940.  The city and airport stations were consolidated in July 1954 at the airport, where it has remained to this day.  Besides the forecast office, Salt Lake City is also home to the Western Region Headquarters, the Colorado Basin River Forecast Center, and a Center Weather Service Unit at the ARTCC.
Wendover WBAS
WSMO
1959-1976 A WBAS was opened at the U.S. Air Force Auxiliary Field in September 1959.  The station was partly automated in October 1967, after installation of an Automatic Meteorological Observing Station (AMOS), and operations were reduced to 8 hours a day.  The station became fully automated in September 1976.
VERMONT

Burlington

SigSvc
WBO
WB/UA
WSO
WFO
1871-1883, 1906-present The Signal Service began observations in Burlington May 24, 1871. These were taken through September 1893 at various locations, before a lack of funding caused the office to close. Observations continued privately through March 1906, when the Weather Bureau opened an office on the University of Vermont campus. The Weather Bureau relocated to the aiport June 4, 1943, and began taking aviation observations. Upper air observations were taken 4 times a day in Burlington, from November 1919 through 1965. New facilities were constructed in 1995, and the staffing was increased, to handle additional forecast duties.
Northfield WBO 1893-1943 This Weather Bureau office served the Montpelier area.
VIRGINIA

Blacksburg

WFO 1996-present The Blacksburg office was opened in 1996, after being relocated from Roanoke.
Cape Henry SigSvc
WBO
WBMO
1873-1969 A Signal Service office was established at the Cape Henry Lighthouse in December 1873.  The Weather Bureau took over in 1891, moving to new facilities in 1901 and 1918.  The office was closed in May 1969.
Leesburg CWSU  ? - present  The Washington-area Center Weather Service Unit operates out of the ARTCC in Leesburg. 
Lynchburg SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1871-1933, 
1936-1985?
The Signal Service opened an office in May 1871.  The Weather Bureau took over in 1891.  The office was moved to the Peoples National Bank Building in 1913, and remained there through July 1944, except for a short period when the office was closed in 1933-1936.  The office was relocated to the Preston Glenn Airport in July 1944.  The station was operated 16 hours a day beginning in July 1954.  After resuming full-time operations briefly in the mid 1960's, it dropped back to 2 shifts a day in November 1967.  The office was closed sometime after 1985.
Mount Weather WBO 1904-1914  
Newport News WBAS 1955- A part-time Weather Bureau Airport Station opened in 1955 at Patrick Henry Airport northwest of Newport News. 
Norfolk SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
1871-1995  The first Signal Service office in Norfolk opened at the Burrus Bank Building (previously called the U.S. Custom House) on 1/1/1871.  It relocated to the Dalton Building in 1881 and the Dogson Building in 1888, which is where the Weather Bureau took over in 1891.  Several more moves for the city office were taken, before it merged with the airport station (which had opened in May 1940) at Norfolk Municipal Airport in August 1953.  Upper-air obsevations began in April 1965.  The office closed in 1995, when its functions were moved to a new facility in Wakefield.
Petersburg WBAS 1944-1946  

Richmond

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1897-1996 A Weather Bureau office opened at the Chamber of Commerce Building in October 1897, moving a couple times before a dedicated Weather Bureau building was opened in 1910.  An airport station was established at Byrd Field in July 1928; it closed from 1935-1938, then again from 1942-1946 when the airport became an Army Air Field during the war. The airport station was re-established in April 1946, and the city office moved here in the mid 1950's.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned at Byrd Field 7/7/1958, and was decommissioned in October 1969.  The office was closed in 1996, with its functions transferred to the new Wakefield office.

Roanoke

WBAS
WBO
WSO
1947-1995 A Weather Bureau Airport Station was established in July 1947 at Woodrum Field (current Roanoke Regional Airport).  The office was relocated to a new facility in Blacksburg in 1995.

Sterling

WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
WSFO
WFO
1960-present A Weather Bureau Airport Station was opened at Dulles Airport in 1960.  A testing facility was constructed adjacent to the airport grounds.  The airport station was converted to a contract meteorological observatory in 1980.  The area Weather Forecast Office was moved to Sterling in the early 1990's.
Urbanna WBO 1945-1951 The Weather Bureau opened an office at the Urbanna Grade School in February 1945.  The station operated 24 hours a day through January 1949, then 16 hours a day afterward.   The office closed in March 1951.

Volens

WSMO 1977-1995  A NWS Meteorological Observatory was opened at Volens to operate the WSR-74S radar, which was commissioned 4/12/1977.  The office was closed in 1995.

Wakefield

WFO 1995-present This office opened in 1995 during the NWS modernization, merging operations from the Norfolk and Richmond offices.

Wallops Island

WBO
WSO
WSMO
WSCMO
1960-present An office was opened at NASA's Wallops Flight Facility to conduct upper-air observations; a separate office operated at the airport to take surface observations.  The airport office closed in 1980, and the NASA office was changed to an NWS Contract Meteorological Obseratory. 
WASHINGTON

Auburn

WSO
CWSU
1970 - present The NWS began operating a radar observatory at the Seattle ARTCC on 8/15/1970, processing data from FAA radars at Seattle and Spokane in Washington, and from Salem and Klamath Falls in Oregon.  Operations were 8 hours a day initially, then increased to 24 hours a day beginning in September 1971.  A Center Weather Service Unit was established in the late 1970's.  The radar functions were discontinued in the early 1990's.
Bellingham WBO 1939  
Blaine WBO 1908-1915  
Ellensburg WBAS 1940-1953 The Weather Bureau jointly operated an office with the CAA at Bowers Field beginning in January 1940.  The Weather Bureau took over sole operation in September 1953, then shared operations with the CAA again beginning in August 1952.  The CAA took over full-time in August 1953.
Hanford WSMO ? - present This NWS meteorological observatory is a nuclear support office.
Hoquiam WBO 1942-1945 A Weather Bureau office was established in November 1942, and was closed in November 1945.
Kelso WBAS 1946-1953 The Weather Bureau opened an airport station at the Kelso Airport in December 1946.  It initially operated 24 hours a day, then was part-time afterward.   The office closed at the end of August 1953.
La Crosse WBO 1943-1948 A Weather  Bureau office was operated at the La Crosse Hotel, from August 1943 to September 1948.
Neah Bay WBO 1898-1902  
North Head WBO 1902-1953 A Weather Bureau office was established at the lighthouse reservation on North Head, a rocky point near Ilwaco, at the mouth of the Columbia River.  It was closed in June 1953.
Olympia WBAS
WSO
1941-1998 The Weather Bureau opened a station at the Olympia Municipal Airport in March 1941.  Upper-air observations were transferred here from Seattle in June 1962, then were discontinued in February 1964.  A separate fire weather forecasting office operated at the state capital grounds in the mid 1980's.  The office was closed in 1998.
Pasco WBAS 1930-1935  
Port Angeles SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
1883-1934,
1947-1953
The Signal Service opened an office on Front St. in January 1883.  The office was moved to the Opera House when the Weather Bureau took over in July 1892.  It was relocated to the Norse Building in March 1916, then to its own facility in January 1918.  The office was closed at the end of July 1933.  A separate office was established on the Coast Guard grounds in January 1947, then this was closed and transferred to the Coast Guard in January 1953.
Port Crescent WBO 1898-1916  
Port Townsend WBO 1939-1946 The Port Townsend office was established at the Post Office building in March 1939.  It operated through 1946, before closing at the beginning of 1947.

Quillayute

WBAS
WSO
WSMO
WSCMO
1966-present  The Quillayute office was established in August 1966, after being relocated from Tatoosh Island, taking surface and upper-air observations.  It was designated as a Weather Service Meteorological Observatory in 1972, which was then contracted out in 1981. 

Seattle

WBO
HQ
DFO
FAWS
RFC
WBAS
WBFO
WSO
WSMO
WSFO
WSCMO
WFO 
1893-present The Weather Bureau established its Seattle city office in May 1893.  The first airport station was established at Boeing Field in 1928.  The regional headquarters office was located at the airport site from 1941 to 1944, before moving downtown.  A second airport site opened at Sea-Tac Airport in November 1944.  A district forecast office and river forecast center was established in 1948, and moved to Sea-Tac Airport in 1949.  Upper-air observations began at Sea-Tac in 1956.  The forecast office was moved back downtown in 1965, and the Boeing Field was closed, with observations being transferred to the FAA.   The Sea-Tac site became a Weather Service Contract Meteorological Observatory in 1981, and was transferred to the FAA in 1996.  The forecast office moved to the Sand Point area in 1982.

Spokane

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSO
WSCMO
WFO
1881-present  A Signal Service office was established in August 1880 at the Spokane Times building, and began operations the following year.  Fires destroyed the office in late 1884 and in August 1889. When the Weather Bureau took over, the office was located in the Blalock Building, then moved to the Jamieson Building in 1892 and the Empire State Building in 1908.  A WBAS was established at Felts Field in May 1932, with upper air observations beginning in September 1939.  The city office was consolidated at the airport in January 1941.  The office moved to Geiger Field (current Spokane International Airport) in December 1947.  In 1995, the office was moved to a new facility north of Fairchild AFB, and the old office briefly operated under NWS contract until the FAA took over in 1996.

Stampede Pass

WBO
WBMO
WSMO
WSCMO
1935-1995 An office was established at Stampede Pass, in the Cascade Range northwest of Easton.  Operations began under NWS contract in April 1981, and continued until commissioning of the Automated Surface Observing System.
Stevenson WBO 1946-1952 Operations of this office were transferred from the CAA in December 1946.   The station operated 16 hours a day.  It was closed on 4/15/1952.
Tacoma WBO 1897-1953 The first Weather Bureau office in Tacoma opened at the Chamber of Commerce building in May 1897.  It operated in locations downtown, before closing in April 1953.

Tatoosh Island

SigSvc
WBO
1883-1966  The Signal Service opened a second-order station at Tattoosh Island, a small island off the northwest tip of Washington state, near Neah Bay.  The Weather Bureau took over in 1891, continuing as a second-order station; it became a first-order station in 1938.  Upper-air observations began in 1940.  A WSR-3 radar was commissioned at the site 10/1/1960, then decomissioned in January 1964.  The office was closed 8/1/1966 after upper-air observations were transferred to the Quillayute office. 
Twin WBO 1899-1902  
Walla Walla WBO
WBAS
WSO
1893-1998 The first Weather Bureau office in Walla Walla operated from the Pains Brothers building, relocating to the Ransoms building in 1904, the Baker Building in 1911, and the Post Office Building in 1914.  The office was reduced to part-time operations in 1973, dealing with agricultural duties, and closed in the late 1990's.
Wenatchee WSO 1980?-1995? This NWS office operated as a fire weather and agricultural weather office.

Yakima

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1928-1996 The Weather Bureau office for Yakima was established 11/15/1928 at the Holtzinger Building.  The office was relocated to the municipal airport in September 1946, taking over weather operations from the CAA.  In 1989, operations were reduced to 16 hours a day, before the office closed in 1996 during the modernization.
WEST VIRGINIA

Beckley

WBAS
WSO
1963-1994? The Weather Bureau established operations at the Raleigh County Airport in May 1963, taking over from the airlines.   A WSR-74C radar was commissioned 11/1/1977.  The office was closed as part of the NWS modernization.
Charleston WBAS
WSO
WSFO
WFO
1950-present A Weather Bureau Airport Station opened at Kanawha Airport in September 1950.  A separate unit operated periodically at Guthrie Air Force Station for radar purposes, from 1960 to 1963.  A Weather Service Forecast Office was established in September 1971.   Another separate unit was established on the West Virginia State College campus to conduct upper-air observations, but was closed in 1974.  A WSR-74C radar was commissioned 5/16/1977.  The office was moved to new facilities in the mid 1990's.

Elkins

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1899-1994? The Elkins office was opened 1/1/1899 at the Warfield & Dann Buyilding, then moved to the post office in 1918.  A separate airport stationw as established in July 1939 at Harper Field, under joint operations with the CAA; the city office was merged at the airport  September 1944.  The office was closed as part of the NWS modernization.

Huntington

WBO
WBAS
RDO
WSO
1940-1994? A Weather Bureau office opened in March 1940, and began taking upper-air observations in 1941.  These observations were discontinued when the CAA took over operations and moved them to the Huntington Airport.  The office then moved back to downtown Huntington, in April 1949, operating from the Federal Building.  Upper-air observations resumed in December 1961, when the office at the airport was re-established; the city office was then closed in January 1962.  The office was closed during the NWS modernization of the 1990's.
Parkersburg SigSvc
WBO
WSO
1888-1982 Federal observations in Parkersburg began at the U.S. Courthouse in July 1888 by the Signal Service, and were transferred to the Weather Bureau in the early 1890's.  The office moved temporarily in 1961-62 while a new Federal Biulding was constructed on the same site.  The office was closed 4/1/1982.
Petersburg WBO 1945-1954 The Weather Bureau opened a facility at the county school office building in January 1945.  The office was closed at the end of April 1954.
WISCONSIN

Green Bay

SigSvc
WBO
WSO
WFO
1896-present The Signal Service began taking observations in downtown Green Bay in 1886. This was later assumed by the Weather Bureau, but remained downtown until 1949. At that time, the office and observations moved to Austin Straubel Airport. The office has relocated a couple times since then, most recently 1994, but remains at the airport. The WSR-88D Doppler radar was commissioned in 1995. The office also takes upper air observations twice a day.

LaCrosse

SigSvc
WBO
WSO
WFO
1872-present The Signal Service began observations 10/15/1872. Observations by the Weather Bureau began in 1890 at the post office, and moved to a new building in 1907. Operations moved to the LaCrosse Airport in 1952, then to the new post office in February 1969. New facilities were constructed in 1996, with expanded operations and staffing. A WSR-88D radar was also constructed for the area.

Neenah

WSMO 1971-1995 A WSR-57 radar was operated from this office, termed a Weather Service Meteorological Observatory, as part of the NWS radar network. The office closed in November 1995, after the commissioning of the NEXRAD radar at Green Bay.

Madison

SigSvc
WBO
WB/UA
WBAS
WSO
1878-1883, 1904-1996 The Signal Service established observing functions in downtown Madison in 1878, although observations had been taken at the University of Wisconsin campus dating back to 1869. When the Signal Service office closed in May 1883, UW resumed local observations. This continued until 1904, when the Weather Bureau opened an office on campus. This Weather Bureau office was the site of the first routine weather broadcasts on radio, using UW's experimental station WHA in 1920. A second office opened at the Madison Airport in 1939, although the UW office remained open until 1963. A WSR-74C radar was installed at the Madison Airport in 1972, and remained in use until replaced by the Sullivan WSR-88D in 1995. The NWS office in Madison closed April 1, 1996. Observations were automated, and augmentation of these observations was transferred by the FAA to contact observers.

Milwaukee

SigSvc
WBO
WSFO
WSO
1870-1995 Observations for the Milwaukee area were begun by the Signal Service in November 1870, and were assumed by the new Weather Bureau in 1890. The observing site was in various locations downtown until March 1, 1941, when the site was moved to Mitchell Field. The office eventually assumed forecast responsibility, in addition to the observations. The forecast functions were moved to a new office in Sullivan in October 1989, leaving the observing function at the airport. The airport office closed in the summer of 1995; the FAA contracted out responsibility for monitoring observations sent out by the Automated Surface Observing System (ASOS).

Sullivan

WFO 1989-present Forecast functions of the Milwaukee Mitchell Airport office were moved to a new facility in Sullivan in October 1989. This was part of a plan to consolidate the Madison and Milwaukee facilities into a single location. The Milwaukee airport office closed the summer of 1995, and the Madison airport office closed April 1, 1996. The Sullivan facility also features a WSR-88D radar, replacing the old WSR-74C at Madison.
Wausau WBO 1915-1933  
WYOMING

Casper

WBAS
WSO
1940-1996 This office was closed in 1996, after the new Doppler radar at Riverton was commissioned.

Cheyenne

SigSvc
WBO
WBAS
WSFO
WFO
1870-present The Signal Service established its Cheyenne office in October 1870.  Several downtown offices were utilized both before and after the Weather Bureau took over.  An airport office was established in 1929, and became the official observation site in 1935.  The downtown office was closed in 1943, and the airport office operated out of 4 different locations before moving into its current facilities in 1993. 

Lander

WBO
WB/UA
WSO
1891-1996 The new Weather Bureau established an office in Lander in August 1891.  In September 1945, upper air observations began at this site.  The office moved from downtown to Hunt Field in 1946.  The office was replaced by a new facility in Riverton, due to its better location for the new WSR-88D radar.

Riverton

WFO  1995-present Riverton was selected in 1988 as a location for a new Weather Forecast Office and associated Doppler radar, to replace the Lander and Casper offices.  The radar was installed in the summer of 1995.  After a brief funding issue which threatened the office's completion, operations began in August 1995.  The new AWIPS computer system was installed in 1999, along with a new upper-air tracking system in 2006.

Rock Springs

WB/UA
WBAS
1942-1954 A Weather Bureau Airways Station operated at Berta Field from January 1942 to April 1954, at which time functions were transferred to the CAA.

Sheridan

WBO
WBAS
WSO
1907-1995 A Weather Bureau office was established at the Sheridan County Courthouse in March 1907, and a dedicated building for the office was constructed by the end of the year.  In December 1939, operations moved to the airport.  Responsibility for surface observations was shared with the FAA much of the time.  The office was closed as part of the NWS modernization, with its functions transferred to Billings, MT.
Yellowstone Park WBO 1904-1941  

 


USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.