Cooperative Observer Program

Network Layout

The two images below break up the Lincoln NWS coverage area in half.  The images can be clicked to enlarge the maps, which indicate where we currently have cooperative weather observers.

COOP observers west of I-55
Areas west of I-55

COOP observers east of I-55
Areas east of I-55


Observers are needed at the following locations, to continue previously kept records:

  • Farmer City

  • Hammond

  • Henry

  • London Mills

  • Maroa

In order to expand the network, we would like to find observers in the following areas:

  • Cass County

  • Christian County (northern and eastern)

  • Coles County (north half)

  • Cumberland County

  • Effingham County (except Effingham)

  • Lawrence County

  • Logan County (north and west)

  • Macon County (except Decatur)

  • McLean County (south and east)

  • Morgan County (except Jacksonville)

  • Scott County (except Winchester)

  • Vermilion County (north half)

If you are interested in helping us out in any of these areas, please contact Billy Ousley, our Data Acquisition Program Manager.

Cooperative Program Topics:
COOP Home, Latest Observations, Station Layout, Observation Techniques, Equipment, COOP Program News, National COOP Page is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.
  • Web Site Owner:
  • National Weather Service
  • Central Illinois Weather Forecast Office
  • 1362 State Route 10
  • Lincoln, IL 62656
  • 217-732-3089 (8:30 am to 4 pm)
  • Page Author: ILX Webmaster
  • Web Master's E-mail:
  • Page last modified: 31-Aug-2010 7:51 PM UTC