Radar Images from May 10, 2003

Radar images from the May 10 tornado event are below. These were taken from the Lincoln WSR-88D (KILX) Doppler radar.  Images include standard reflectivity, and the storm relative motion (SRM) velocity images (both at 0.5 degree elevation).

Click each image to enlarge.

KILX Reflectivity at 0117Z KILX SRM at 0117Z These two images were taken at 0117Z (8:17 PM CDT).  A tornadic thunderstorm was located between Rushville and Camden.
KILX Reflectivity at 0217Z KILX SRM at 0217Z These images were at 0217Z (9:17 PM), when the storm had just dropped a tornado north of Havana.
KILX Reflectivity at 0237Z KILX SRM at 0237Z Image time on these pictures is 0237Z (9:37 PM), when a tornado was very close to Manito.
KILX Reflectivity at 0247Z KILX SRM at 0247Z These images were recorded at 0247Z (9:37 PM), a few minutes before the tornado moved into South Pekin.
KILX Reflectivity at 0301Z KILX SRM at 0301Z At 0301Z (10:01 PM), the same tornado from the South Pekin area was approaching Morton from the southwest.  It would cross I-74 at I-155 at 10:05 PM.

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.