Everhart Receives 60 Years of Service Award

Everhart Receives 60 Year Award

Recognizing six decades of dedication, NOAA’s National Weather Service has named Seymour, Ind. , volunteer observer Ruth Everhart a recipient of the agency’s Helmut E. Landsberg Award for 60 years of outstanding service in the Cooperative Weather Observer Program.  Mrs. Everhart is the first Indiana Observer to receive the Landsberg Award and only the second in the history of the Indiana Weather Observer Program to reach the 60-year milestone.

             Lynn P. Maximuk, Director of the National Weather Service’s Central Region, Daniel McCarthy, Meteorologist-in-Charge of the National Weather Service Forecast Office in Indianapolis and Seymour Mayor James Bullard, presented the award to Mrs. Everhart during a ceremony November 18th, at Central Christian Church in Seymour .

             Ruth’s dedication to the cooperative program is amazing said Service Hydrologist Al Shipe, “Ruth has logged near 22,000 daily observations during her long tenure. That allustrious career also includes, the auspicious Holm and Jefferson awards.

             Mike Shartan, Data Acquisition Program Manager at National Weather Service Indianapolis noted, without the accurate weather observations taken by volunteer observers, scientists could not begin to adequately describe the climate of the .  We cannot thank Mrs. Everhart enough for her years of service to .”

             About 75 of Ruth’s family and friends were all on hand for the ceremony at the Church which graciously provided lunch.

             Pictured L-R:  Al Shipe, Lynn Maximuk, Ruth Everhart, Dan McCarthy and Mike Shartran.

             Photo by Ashley Brooks




USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.