Nebraska Severe Weather Awareness Week

Statewide Test Tornado Drill Wednesday on March 26th

Drill will use the Emergency Alert System (EAS) TOR Codes

  Drill starts at 10 a.m. CDT / 9 a.m. MDT 

The purpose of the drill is to ensure that Nebraskan's can adequately receive a tornado warning and to practice any actions which would be taken to protect your life in the event of a real tornado.  The test warning will be sent through all communication channels which are normally used for severe weather dissemination. In the event of severe weather or potential severe weather on the day of the test, these test watches and warning may be postponed.

This tornado drill presents an excellent opportunity for everyone at work, school, or home to practice their safety measures. The National Weather Service Forecast Offices serving Nebraska will be issuing test  tornado warnings using the TOR EAS codes. The drill timeline for each office to issue initial tornado warnings across the state include:

 

10:00 a.m. CDT Tornado drill sequence begins Test Tornado Watch
10:10 a.m. CDT WFOs in Omaha and Sioux Falls issues TEST tornado warnings for their areas valid for 20 minutes.
10:20 a.m. CDT WFO Hastings issues a test tornado warning for their area for 20 minutes.
10:30 a.m. CDT/ 9:30 a.m. MDT WFO Cheyenne issues a TEST tornado warning for their area valid for 20 minutes.
10:35 a.m. CDT/9:35 a.m. MDT WFO North Platte issues a TEST tornado warning for their area for 20 minutes. All text product times are provided below.
10:40 a.m. CDT/9:40 a.m. MDT WFO Goodland issues a TEST tornado warning for their area for 20 minutes.

 

 

 

 

   

Products issued by the North Platte office will include: 

10:00 a.m. CDT / 9:00 a.m. MDT Drill begins. Test Tornado Watch County Notification issued.
10:35 a.m. CDT / 9:35 a.m. MDT WFO North Platte issues a Test Tornado Warning.  This warning will be transmitted with the actual TOR EAS code.
10:45 a.m. CDT / 9:45 a.m. MDT WFO North Platte issues a Severe Weather Statement (SVS) as a follow-up to the  Tornado Warning.

10:55 a.m. CDT / 9:55 a.m. MDT

WFO North Platte issues an SVS to expire the Tornado Warning.
11:00 a.m. CDT / 10:00 a.m. MDT Drill sequence ends.

   

 

 

 

 

Again this tornado drill presents an excellent opportunity for everyone at work, school, or home to practice their safety measures, and we hope all will participate. Any questions or comments please contact the Warning Coordination Meteorologist or office for your location. 


USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.