The Village of Dousman (Waukesha County) was designated a StormReady community on January 25, 2005. This designation is valid through January 25, 2008. Dousman is the 9th jurisdiction (community or county) in Wisconsin to receive StormReady certification.

StormReady is a national community preparedness program that uses a grassroots approach to help communities develop plans to handle all types of severe weather. In general, a community must possess a solid communication network, and provide verification of its multi-hazard emergency operations plan. Specifically, in order to become StormReady, the community must:

  • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
  • Have multiple methods to receive and disseminate severe weather warnings and information for their community;
  • Have various methods to monitor weather conditions locally;
  • Promote the importance of public readiness;
  • Develop a formal hazardous weather action plan, including severe weather spotter training and drills.
Communities in Wisconsin that have been designated StormReady include the cities of Lake Mills, Whitewater, Cedarburg, Waupaca, Viroqua, and Belleville, and the counties of Lincoln and Oneida. Several other Wisconsin cites and/or counties are currently working toward their StormReady designation. Nationally, there were 843 StormReady sites (communities, counties, universities, Indian Nations, or Industrial sites) in 47 states, as of January 10, 2005.

Questions? Contact Rusty Kapela is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.