Roscoe Co-op Observer presented with the Holm Award

On Tuesday, September 3, the National Weather Service presented Leland Treichel of Roscoe, SD with the prestigious John Campanius Holm Award.  This is a national award and only 17 out of the over 10,000 cooperative weather observers were selected this year.  In honor of Leland, Governor Daugaard issued an Executive Proclamation declaring September 3, 2013 as Leland Treichel Day in South Dakota.

Pictured from left to right are Tonya Peterson (Sen. Johnson's Representative), Leland Treichel, James Scarlett (Meteorologist in Charge), and Aimee Kamp (Sen. Thune's Representative)

Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.