Marvin Seyer Receives National Award

On Tuesday, September 10, the National Weather Service presented Marvin Seyer of Ipswich, SD with the prestigious Thomas Jefferson Award. This is a national award and only 5 out of the over 10,000 cooperative weather observers across the United States were selected this year. In honor of Marvin, Governor Daugaard issued an Executive Proclamation declaring September 10, 2013 as Marvin Seyer Day in South Dakota.



Pictured from left to right are Judy Vrchota from Senator Thune’s office; Marvin Seyer; James Scarlett (Meteorologist in Charge), and Sharon Stroschein from Senator Johnson’s office. The ceremony was held at the Aberdeen WFO.

Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.