Storm Recap (November 23, 2007)



First Snow Advisory
Across the Area
November 23, 2007

National Weather Service
Goodland, Kansas

Overview

A continental polar airmass was in place across the Central High Plains as a storm system moved into the Central Rockies late Thursday night and during the day on Friday. Ahead of the storm system, strong warm air advection developed across the High Plains leading to the development of widespread snow during the morning hours on Friday.  The snow quickly spread across the area by early afternoon and continued into the evening hours.  By early evening, most locations reported 1 to 3 inch snow depths.

Images

Area Radar Mosaid at 18 UTC

Area radar mosaic at 18:00 UTC (11 AM MST) showing snow developing and spreading across portions of eastern Colorado and much of western Kansas.

(Click for larger image)

Area Radar Mosaic at 20 UTC

Area radar mosaic at 20:00 UTC (1 PM MST) showing snow expanding into extreme southwest Nebraska and northeast Colorado.

(Click for larger image)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Water Vapor satellite image at 19 UTC

Water Vapor satellite image showing a storm system over the Central Rockies while strong warm air advection was occurring over the Central High Plains at 18:45 UTC (1145 AM MST).

(Click for larger image)

Visible satellite image at 19 UTC

Regional visible satellite image at 19:00 UTC (noon MST).

(Click for larger image)

 

 

 

 

 

 


  Preliminary Snow Reports

Snowfall Reports from 23 November 2007



Return to News Archive

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.