Snowfall Amounts over Southeast Illinois December 26

Snowfall over southeast Illinois and adjacent areas on December 26.  Click image to enlarge. Snowfall across the Midwest on December 26.  Click image to enlarge

December 26 snowfall across southeast Illinois and adjacent areas.  Click to enlarge.

December 26 snowfall across the Midwest.  Click to enlarge.

A strong area of low pressure lifted northeast out of Texas and Louisiana on Christmas night, reaching central Tennessee on the morning of December 26.  A large area, from Arkansas northeast through the Ohio Valley to Michigan and Ohio, received heavy snow from this storm late on the 25th through the day on the 26th (right image, above).  Wind gusts over 40 mph and heavy snow produced blizzard conditions at times. 

In Illinois, the heaviest snow fell across the southeast quarter of the state, with many locations receiving 8 to 12 inches or even higher.  Snowfall of around a foot fell as far north as Lawrencev ille.  However, there was a very sharp gradient in snowfall amounts, as can be seen in the top left image.  Most areas west of Interstate 57 did not receive any measurable snow from this system.

Here are some snowfall reports in east central and southeast Illinois from this storm.  Stations labeled "COOP" are official NWS observing stations. 

Location Total Source

Clark County:

Casey 2.5 COOP
Martinsville (10 miles south) 1.0 COOP

Champaign County:

Champaign (2.3 miles north-northwest) 0.2 CoCoRaHS
Champaign (4 miles south-southwest) Trace CoCoRaHS
Dewey (2 miles north-northwest) Trace COOP
Ogden 0.9 COOP
Philo (2 miles east-northeast) Trace CoCoRaHS
Savoy (1 mile north) Trace CoCoRaHS
Sidney (1 mile north) Trace CoCoRaHS

Clay County:

Clay City (6 miles southeast) 3.5 COOP
Flora 4.0 COOP

Coles County:

Charleston 3.3 CoCoRaHS 
Mattoon 1.0 COOP

Crawford County:

Hutsonville 4.1 COOP
Palestine 9.0 COOP
Robinson 4.5 COOP
Trimble 6.5 COOP

Douglas County:

Tuscola Trace COOP

Edgar County:

Paris 2.5 COOP

Effingham County:

Beecher City Trace COOP
Effingham (3 miles southwest) Trace COOP
Effingham Water Plant 0.2 COOP
Watson 1.0 SWOP

Jasper County:

Hidalgo (3 miles southwest) 4.1 COOP
Newton 3.5 COOP

Lawrence County:

Lawrenceville 11.5 COOP
Sumner 10.0 SWOP

Moultrie County:

Lovington Trace COOP
Sullivan (3 miles south) Trace COOP

Richland County:

Olney (2 miles south) 3.1 COOP

Shelby County:

Windsor Trace COOP

Vermilion County:

Bismarck (3 miles west) 1.0 COOP
Danville 3.0 COOP
Henning (3 miles south-southeast) 1.0 COOP
Hoopeston 0.2 COOP
Sidell (5 miles northwest) 2.5 COOP


Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.