Kentucky State Parks Recognized as StormReady Supporters

During a brief ceremony at the Kentucky State Capitol this afternoon the 34 State Parks with overnight accommodations in Kentucky were recognized as StormReady Supporters. Kentucky is the first state to have all the state parks of this type in their system recognized as StormReady. Kentucky Lieutenant Governor Jerry Abramson, the Commissioner of the Department of Parks, Elaine Walker, and Secretary of the Tourism, Arts, and Heritage Cabinet, Bob Stewart participated in the ceremony. Representatives from the five NWS forecast offices serving the state of Kentucky were also on hand for the ceremony.

Elaine Walker presents StormReady Supporter Certificates to Bob Stewart (left) and Lieutenant Governor Jerry Abramson (right).

NWS Representatives, Front Row: Faith Borden (Charleston, WV), Erin Rau (Louisville, KY), Julia Dian-Reed (Wilmington, OH), Back Row: Joe Sullivan (Louisville, KY), Tony Edwards (Jackson, KY), John Gordon (Louisville, KY), Ricky Shanklin (Paducah, KY), Shawn Harley (Jackson, KY) 

Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.