Jefferson County, IN Receives StormReady Recognition

At a brief ceremony held June 20, 2012 in the county courthouse in Madison, Jefferson County, Indiana was officially recognized as a StormReady County

Two County Commissioners, President of County Commissioners, and District 9 Coordinator (IDHS) joined Jefferson County Emergency Manager Dave Bell in accepting StormReady road signs and documentation designating the county's status.  NWS Louisville WCM Joe Sullivan provided a short overview of the StormReady program and requirements in earning this designation.  NWS Louisville MIC John Gordon then took the floor to present county officials with a certificate acknowledging the county's preparedness activities, including the recruitment of 5+ CoCoRaHS observers in the county. Noting that StormReady is part of the National Weather Service's overall goal of creating a WeatherReady Nation, Gordon mentioned that snow storms, heat waves, and floods pose threats that can be mitigated by incorporating the same concepts of increased preparedness, situational awareness, and interaction with local NWS staff.   

(L-R): Doug Cooke (District 9 Coordinator, IDHS), Dave Bell (Jefferson Co. EMA Director), Mark Cash (Jefferson Co. Commissioner), Tom Pietrykowski (Jefferson Co. Commissioner),  John Gordon (MIC, NWS Louisville), Julie Berry (President of County Commissioners), Joe Sullivan (WCM, NWS Louisville), Andrea Schoettmer (StormReady Program Leader, NWS Louisville)

Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.