Crawford County, IN Receives StormReady Recognition

At a brief ceremony held Aug 21, 2012 at the Judicial Complex in English, Crawford County, Indiana was officially recognized as a StormReady County

Crawford County LEPC Member Wade Bell and previous Crawford County EMA Director Kent Barrow joined the current Crawford County EMA Director Larry Allen in accepting StormReady documentation designating the county's status.  NWS Louisville WCM Joe Sullivan provided a short overview of the StormReady program and requirements in earning this designation.  NWS Louisville MIC John Gordon then took the floor to present county officials with a certificate acknowledging the county's preparedness activities, including the recruitment of 5+ CoCoRaHS observers in the county. Noting that StormReady is part of the National Weather Service's overall goal of creating a WeatherReady Nation, Gordon mentioned that snow storms, heat waves, and floods pose threats that can be mitigated by incorporating the same concepts of increased preparedness, situational awareness, and interaction with local NWS staff.   

(L-R): Wade Bell (Crawford County LEPC Member), Kent Barrow (previous Crawford County EMA Director), Larry Allen (current Crawford County EMA Director), John Gordon (MIC, NWS Louisville), Joe Sullivan (WCM, NWS Louisville)

Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.