VCPI StormReady Supporter Ceremony

In a brief, recognition ceremony at 10:00 A.M., Wednesday, July 22nd, VCPI of Milwaukee, WI, was presented two StormReady® Supporter Informational signs, as well as a couple certificates.  VCPI is the first business in southeast Wisconsin to earn this type of designation.  This is quite an achievement! 

Two pictures are shown below.  In the first picture, from right to left, are Loren Claypool, CEO of VCPI, Rusty Kapela, WCM from the Milwaukee National Weather Service office, and Bill Lang, VCPI Business Continuity Program Manager. Bill spearheaded VCPI's efforts to earn StormReady® Supporter certification.  In the second picture, the certificates are shown along with two VCPI baseball hats with the StormReady logo.

vcpi certificates

 vcpi hats

Businesses, schools, and other non-governmental entities often establish severe weather safety plans and actively take part and promote severe weather safety awareness activities.  An entity that promotes the principles and guidelines of the StormReady® program may be eligible to become a StormReady® "Supporter."

Examples of potential StormReady Supporters might include, but are not limited to businesses, hospitals, shopping centers and malls, schools, and nuclear power plants.

StormReady® Supporters are local entities that promote the principles and guidelines of the StormReady® program into their severe weather/tsunami safety and awareness plans. Entities may be eligible as a StormReady® Supporter based on the bylaws of the local NWS StormReady® Advisory Board and the endorsement from local emergency management. Final approval for StormReady® Supporter designation is made by local StormReady® Advisory Boards.

StormReady® is a national community preparedness program that uses a grassroots approach to help communities develop plans to handle all types of severe weather.  In general, a community or entity must possess a solid communication network, and provide verification of its multi-hazard emergency operations plan. Specifically, in order to become StormReady® , the community or entity  must:

 • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
 • Have multiple methods to receive and disseminate severe weather warnings, and information for their community;
 • Have various methods to monitor weather conditions locally;
 • Promote the importance of public readiness;
 • Develop a formal hazardous weather action plan, including severe weather spotter training and drills.


Communities in Wisconsin that have been designated StormReady® include the cities of Lake Mills, Whitewater, Cedarburg, Waupaca,  Belleville, Viroqua, Dousman, and Hillsboro, and the counties of Lincoln and Oneida.  Hortonville High School in Outagamie County, and Weather Central Inc./My Weather, LLC, in Madison, WI, are  StormReady® Supporters.  Several other Wisconsin cities and/or counties are currently working toward their StormReady® designation.

Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.