City of Belleville, WI, is Re-designated as StormReady!

storm ready logo


National Weather Service Forecast Office,  Milwaukee/Sullivan, Wisconsin

Contact: Rusty Kapela                                                              For Immediate Release                                                            August 18, 2010
Editor's Note: The program's name is StormReady® (one word)
Belleville, WI, Re-designated as StormReady®
The City of Belleville (Dane County) was re-designated as a StormReady® community on July 13, 2010. A brief ceremony highlighting their re-designation was conducted at the Belleville City Hall at 3:00 P.M., Thursday, August 19, 2010. The media was invited.
The Belleville re-designation is valid through July 13, 2013. Belleville was the 7th jurisdiction (community or county) in Wisconsin to receive StormReady® certification.  
StormReady® is a national community preparedness program that uses a grassroots approach to help communities develop plans to handle all types of severe weather. In general, a community must possess a solid communication network, and provide verification of its multi-hazard emergency operations plan. Specifically, in order to become StormReady®, the community must:
            • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
• Have multiple methods to receive and disseminate severe weather warnings and information for their community;
            • Have various methods to monitor weather conditions locally;
            • Promote the importance of public readiness;
• Develop a formal hazardous weather action plan, including severe weather spotter training and drills.
Communities in Wisconsin that have been designated StormReady® include the cities of Lake Mills, Whitewater, Cedarburg, Waupaca, Belleville, Viroqua, Dousman, and Hillsboro, and the counties of Lincoln, Oneida, and Racine. Additionally, there are four StormReady® Supporters in Wisconsin: Hortonville High School, Weather Central Inc., VCPI, and the Green Bay Packers. Several other Wisconsin cites and/or counties are currently working toward their StormReady®  designation.
Nationally, as of August 10, 2010, there were 1641 StormReady® Sites in 48 states, Puerto Rico &Guam: 839 Counties, 679 Communities, 58 Universities, 7 Indian Nations, 29 Commercial Sites, 16 Military, 15 Government Sites, 76 TsunamiReady™ Sites in 10 states, Puerto Rico and Guam, and 124 StormReady Supporters.

The National Weather Service would appreciate extensive news coverage of Belleville’s StormReady®  re-designation to increase the public's awareness of the program. If you have any questions, please contact Rusty Kapela, Warning Coordination Meteorologist, National Weather Service at; or April Little, Belleville City Administrator, at (608) 424-3341.

Here is a link for the StormReady® program -


Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.