Dousman has earned their StormReady Re-certification!

 StormReady logo


National Weather Service Forecast Office
Milwaukee/Sullivan, Wisconsin
Contact: Rusty Kapela                                                                                                  For Immediate  Release                                                                                                February 16, 2011
Editor's Note: The program's name is StormReady® (one word)
Village of Dousman StormReady® Re-certification Ceremony
Occurred on Monday, February 14, 2011

At 7:15 P.M., February 14, 2011, there was a brief StormReady® re-certification ceremony for the Village of Dousman, Wisconsin, at the Municipal Building on South Main Street. Two renewal decals were presented to the Village for their two StormReady® informational signs, as well as a certificate.

Below is a picture taken at the Dousman Municipal Building.  From left to right, Rusty Kapela, Assistant Fire Chief Robert Leonard, and Bill Stolte,  Waukesha County Emergency Management Director.  Click on image for larger version.

 dousman stormready

Dousman initial earned their StormReady® designation on January 25, 2005. They earned their first renewal on January 25, 2008, which make the current re-certification their second. This is quite an accomplishment!

StormReady® is a national community preparedness program that uses a grassroots approach to help communities develop plans to handle all types of severe weather.  In general, a community must possess a solid communication network, and provide verification of its multi-hazard emergency operations plan. Specifically, in order to become StormReady® , the community must:
 • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
 • Have multiple methods to receive and disseminate severe weather warnings and information for their community;
 • Have various methods to monitor weather conditions locally;
 • Promote the importance of public readiness;
 • Develop a formal hazardous weather action plan, including severe weather spotter training and drills.

Communities in Wisconsin that have been designated StormReady® include the cities of Lake Mills, Whitewater, Cedarburg, Waupaca,  Belleville, Viroqua, Dousman, and Hillsboro, and the counties of Lincoln, Oneida, and Racine.  The Green Bay Packers, Hortonville High School in Outagamie County, Weather Central, Inc./My Weather, LLC in Madison, and VCPI in Milwaukee are StormReady®  Supporters.  Several other Wisconsin cities and/or counties are currently working toward their StormReady® designation.

Nationally, as of February 11, 2011, there were there were 1719 StormReady® Sites in 50 states, Puerto Rico & Guam:
864 Counties, 709 Communities
68 Universities, 10 Indian Nations, 35 Commercial Sites, 16 Military, 17 Government Sites
82 TsunamiReady® Sites in 10 states, Puerto Rico and Guam
129 StormReady® Supporters

Here is a link that shows a map of these StormReady® sites (it does not include StormReady Supporters):
Please contact Assistant Fire Chief Robert Leonard at  for details concerning Dousman. Mr. Leonard spearheaded their StormReady® efforts.
The National Weather Service (NWS) would appreciate extensive news coverage of the Village of Dousman’s  StormReady®  designation. This will increase the public's awareness of the program.  If you have any questions about the NWS's StormReady® program, please contact Rusty Kapela, Warning Coordination Meteorologist, National Weather Service at

Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.