NBC15-WMTV Madison StormReady Supporter Recognition Ceremony May 10, 2012


At 2:00 P.M. CDT, Thursday, May 10, 2012, twoStormReady® Supporter informational signs were presented to NBC15-WMTV Madison personnel in a brief recognition ceremony in their studio at 615 Forward Drive, Madison, WI.  

NBC15-WMTV Madison earned their StormReady® Supporter designation on March 28, 2012. This designation is valid as long as they meet the StormReady®  Supporter guidelines. In doing so, they become the 7th StormReady® Supporter in Wisconsin, and the first commercial TV station in Wisconsin.

Below is a group picture of individuals at the 2:00 P.M. StormReady® Supporter presentation in the NBC15-WMTV studio.  From left to right, Chris Gegg, News Director, Geoff Shields, Director of Operations, Bob Smith, Regional VP/GM Gray Television, Charles Koch, WMTV Meteorologist, David George, WMTV Chief Meteorologist, Rusty Kapela, WCM, WFO Milwaukee, Ed Townsend, Meteorologist, WFO Milwaukee.  Click on image for larger version.

TV-15 gropu picture

StormReady® is a national community preparedness program that uses a grassroots approach to help communities develop plans to handle all types of severe weather.  In general, a community or entity must possess a solid communication network, and provide verification of its multi-hazard emergency operations plan. Specifically, in order to become StormReady® , the community or entity must:

 • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
 • Have multiple methods to receive and disseminate severe weather warnings, and information for their community;
 • Have various methods to monitor weather conditions locally;
 • Promote the importance of public readiness;
 • Develop a formal hazardous weather action plan, including severe weather spotter training and drills.
Communities in Wisconsin that have been designated StormReady® include:
1)    Cities of…Lake Mills, Whitewater, Cedarburg, Waupaca,  Belleville, Viroqua, Dousman, and Hillsboro,
2)    Counties of…Lincoln, Oneida, and Racine,
3)    Entities/Businesses of…Camp Freeland Leslie BSA, Oxford; Experimental Aircraft Association, Oshkosh; Girl Scouts of the Northwestern Great Lakes, Green Bay; Green Bay Packers; Hortonville High School, Hortonville; Virtual Care Provider, Milwaukee; Weather Central Inc./MyWeather, LLC, Madison; and WMTV- NBC15, Madison.

Several other Wisconsin cities and/or counties and/or entities are currently working toward their StormReady® designation.

Nationally, as of May 9, 2012, there were there were 1913 StormReady® Sites in 50 states, Puerto Rico & Guam:
932 Counties            760 Communities    111 Universities       11 Indian Nations
  47 Commercial         31 Military                 19 Government
107 TsunamiReady® Sites in 10 states, Puerto Rico and Guam
216 StormReady® Supporters

Here is a link that shows a national map of these StormReady® sites (it does not include StormReady Supporters sites):  http://www.stormready.noaa.gov/communities.htm. Click on Wisconsin to obtain more Wisconsin details.

The National Weather Service would appreciate extensive news coverage of NBC15-WMTV Madison’s StormReady®  Supporter designation to increase the public's awareness of the program.  If you have any questions about the StormReady® program, please contact Rusty Kapela, Warning Coordination Meteorologist, National Weather Service at rusty.kapela@noaa.gov.

Return to News Archive

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.