Racine County Recertified as StormReady®


Press Release

For Immediate  Release -   June 25, 2012
Editor's Note: The program's name is StormReady® (one word)
Racine County Recertified as StormReady®
Back on November 23, 2011, Racine County was re-certified for the second time as a StormReady® county. This recertification is valid through November 23, 2014. For a variety of reasons, a recertification ceremony was never scheduled. Nonetheless, Racine County has maintained a high level of preparedness and is very deserving of their designation!
Racine County initially earned their StormReady® designation on November 23, 2005. Their first renewal was on November 23, 2008
StormReady® is a national community preparedness program that uses a grassroots approach to help communities develop plans to handle all types of severe weather.  In general, a community must possess a solid communication network, and provide verification of its multi-hazard emergency operations plan. Specifically, in order to become StormReady® , the community must:
 • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
 • Have multiple methods to receive and disseminate severe weather warnings and information for their community;
 • Have various methods to monitor weather conditions locally;
 • Promote the importance of public readiness;
 • Develop a formal hazardous weather action plan, including severe weather spotter training and drills.


Communities in Wisconsin that have been designated StormReady® include the cities of Lake Mills, Whitewater, Cedarburg, Waupaca,  Belleville, Viroqua, Dousman, and Hillsboro, and the counties of Lincoln, Oneida, and Racine.  The Green Bay Packers; Hortonville High School in Outagamie County; Weather Central, Inc./My Weather, LLC in Madison; VCPI in Milwaukee; Oxford Camp Freeland Leslie BSA; the Girl Scouts of the Northwestern Great Lakes in Green Bay; the Experiemental Aircraft Association in Oshkosh, and NBC-15-WMTV in Madison are StormReady®  Supporters.  Several other Wisconsin cities and/or counties are currently working toward their StormReady® designation.

Nationally, as of June 22, 2012, there were there were 1926 StormReady® Sites in 50 states, Puerto Rico & Guam:
937 Counties, 758 Communities
112 Universities, 11 Indian Nations, 50 Commercial Sites, 32 Military, 24 Government Sites
110 TsunamiReady® Sites in 10 states, Puerto Rico and Guam
228 StormReady® Supporters
Here is a link that shows a map of these StormReady® sites (it does not include StormReady Supporters):  http://www.stormready.noaa.gov/communities.htm
Please contact David Maack, Racine County Emergency Management Director at  david.maack@goracine​.org for details concerning Racine County.  Mr. Maack spearheaded their StormReady® efforts.
The National Weather Service (NWS) would appreciate extensive news coverage of Racine County’s StormReady®  designation. This will increase the public’s awareness of the program.  If you have any questions about the NWS’s StormReady® program, please contact Rusty Kapela, Warning Coordination Meteorologist, National Weather Service at rusty.kapela@noaa.gov
WFO Milwaukee, WI 

Return to News Archive

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.