Bayside, WI, StormReady® Ceremony was Tuesday August 21, 2012

stormready logo



National Weather Service Forecast Office

Milwaukee/Sullivan, Wisconsin
Contact: Rusty Kapela                                                                                    For Immediate Release                                                                                    August 17, 2012
Village of Bayside Certified as StormReady®

In a brief ceremony on Tuesday, August 21, 2012 at 1 P.M. CDT, the Village of Bayside was recognized as the first community in Milwaukee County to be certified StormReady®. Two 2’ x 2’ informational signs and a certificate were presented to Village officials. This certification is valid for three years through July 6, 2015. Bayside originally satisfied StormReady® criteria on July 6, 2012.

The ceremony was held at the Bayside Village Hall, 9075 N. Regent Rd,

Below is a picture of the ceremony.  Click on image for larger version.

Bayside StormReady group picture

From left to right...Rusty Kapela, WCM, WFO Milwaukee; Barry Mitchell, Milwaukee County Emergency Manager; Ben Schliesman, Southeast Regional EM Director; Steve Brueske, MIC, WFO Milwaukee; J.J. Wood, Forecaster, WFO Milwaukee; Mike Pedersen, Bayside Management Fellow; Sgt. Dale Schoessow, Bayside Police; Andrew Pederson, Bayside Village Manager; Bruce Resnick, Bayside Police Chief & EM Coordinator; Steve Bronner, North Shore Fire Department.

StormReady® is a national community preparedness program that uses a grassroots approach to help communities develop plans to handle all types of severe weather.  In general, a community must possess a solid communication network, and provide verification of its multi-hazard emergency operations plan. Specifically, in order to become StormReady®, the community must:

 • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
 • Have multiple methods to receive and disseminate severe weather warnings and information;
 • Have various methods to monitor weather conditions locally;
 • Promote the importance of public readiness;
 • Develop a formal hazardous weather action plan, including severe weather spotter training and drills.

Communities in Wisconsin previously designated StormReady® include the cities of Lake Mills, Whitewater, Cedarburg, Waupaca,  Belleville, Viroqua, Dousman, Hillsboro and now Bayside. Counties of Lincoln, Oneida, and Racine are StormReady® as well. The Green Bay Packers; Hortonville High School in Outagamie County; Weather Central, Inc./My Weather, LLC in Madison; VCPI in Milwaukee; Oxford Camp Freeland Leslie BSA; the Girl Scouts of the Northwestern Great Lakes in Green Bay; the Experimental Aircraft Association in Oshkosh, and NBC-15-WMTV in Madison are StormReady®  Supporters.  Several other Wisconsin cities and/or counties are currently working toward their StormReady® designation.

Here is a link that shows a map of these StormReady® sites (it does not include StormReady Supporters):
Nationally, as of August 13, 2012, there were 1951 StormReady® Sites in 50 states, Puerto Rico & Guam.

Please contact Michael Pedersen, Bayside’s Management Fellow at for details concerning the Village of Bayside.  Mr. Pedersen spearheaded their StormReady® efforts and worked closely with J.J. Wood, Forecaster at the Milwaukee/Sullivan NWS Forecast Office.

The National Weather Service (NWS) would appreciate extensive news coverage of Bayside’s StormReady®  designation. This will increase the public’s awareness of the program.

Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.