City of Cedarburg StormReady® Renewal was September 10, 2012

stormready logo

The City of Cedarburg was renewed for the third time as a StormReady® community on September 10, 2012.   They continue to meet the StormReady® criteria.   This is quite an accomplishment!

On September 10, 2001, Cedarburg became the 3rd community in Wisconsin to earn a StormReady® designation. Lake Mills was the first StormReady® community (city-village or county) in Wisconsin

StormReady® is a national community preparedness program that uses a grassroots approach to help communities develop plans to handle all types of severe weather.  In general, a community must possess a solid communication network, and provide verification of its multi-hazard emergency operations plan. Specifically, in order to become StormReady®, the community must:

 • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
 • Have multiple methods to receive and disseminate severe weather warnings and information for their community;
 • Have various methods to monitor weather conditions locally;
 • Promote the importance of public readiness;
 • Develop a formal hazardous weather action plan, including severe weather spotter training and drills.

Communities in Wisconsin that have been designated StormReady® include the cities of Lake Mills, Whitewater, Cedarburg, Waupaca,  Belleville, Viroqua, Dousman, Hillsboro, and Bayside, and the counties of Lincoln, Oneida, and Racine.  The Green Bay Packers, Milwaukee Brewers-Miller Park, Hortonville High School in Outagamie County, Weather Central, Inc./My Weather, LLC in Madison, Oxford Camp Freeland Leslie BSA, Girl Scouts of the Northwestern Great Lakes, Green Bay, Experimental Aircraft Association in Oshkosh, NBC15-WMTV Madiaon, and VCPI in Milwaukee are StormReady®  Supporters.  Several other Wisconsin cities and/or counties are currently working toward their StormReady® designation.

Nationally, as of October 15, 2012, there were there were 1978 StormReady® Sites in 50 states, Puerto Rico & Guam:
956 Counties, 761 Communities
118 Universities, 13 Indian Nations, 58 Commercial Sites, 36 Military, 27 Government Sites
120 TsunamiReady® Sites in 10 states, Puerto Rico and Guam
248 StormReady® Supporters

Here is a link that shows a map of these StormReady® sites (it does not include StormReady Supporters):

Please contact Kevin Runkel, Cedarburg Emergency Management Director or Franklin Even, Deputy  Emergency Management Director for Cedarburg details concerning Cedarburg’s StormReady® efforts.

If you have any questions about the NWS's StormReady® program, please contact Rusty Kapela, Warning Coordination Meteorologist, National Weather Service at


Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.