Belleville's 3rd StormReady® Renewal was July 13, 2013

stormready logo

The City of Belleville (Dane County) became re-designated for the 3rd time as a StormReady® community on July 13, 2013.  This re-designation is valid through July 13, 2016.

Belleville earned their initial recognition on July 13, 2004.  Belleville was the 7th jurisdiction (community or county) in Wisconsin to receive StormReady® certification.

Collectively, as of July 9, 2013, there are 24 StormReady® entities in Wisconsin.

StormReady® is a national community preparedness program that uses a grassroots approach to help communities develop plans to handle all types of severe weather.  In general, a community or entity must possess a solid communication network, and provide verification of its multi-hazard emergency operations plan. Specifically, in order to become StormReady®, the community or entity must:

 • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center;
 • Have multiple methods to receive and disseminate severe weather warnings, and information for their community;
 • Have various methods to monitor weather conditions locally;
 • Promote the importance of public readiness;
 • Develop a formal hazardous weather action plan, including severe weather spotter training and drills.

StormReady® Supporter criteria are similar, but not as strict, as the criteria a community must satisfy.

Communities in Wisconsin that have been designated StormReady® include:
1)    Cities…Lake Mills, Whitewater, Cedarburg, Waupaca, Belleville, Viroqua, Dousman, Hillsboro and Bayside,
2)    Counties…Lincoln, Oneida, and Racine,
3)    Entities/Businesses…Hortonville High School, Hortonville; Weather Central Inc./MyWeather, LLC, Madison; Virtual Care Provider, Milwaukee; Green Bay Packers; Camp Freeland Leslie BSA, Oxford; Girl Scouts of the Northwestern Great Lakes, Green Bay; Experimental Aircraft Association, Oshkosh; Milwaukee Brewers – Miller Park; WMTV- NBC15, Madison; Infinity Fields operated by Five Diamonds, Inc., Waukesha; Edgewood High School of the Sacred Heart, Madison; and WISN-TV12, Milwaukee.
4)    Several other Wisconsin cities and/or counties and/or entities are currently working toward their StormReady® designation.

Nationally, as of July 9, 2013, there were there were 2090 StormReady® Sites in 50 states, Puerto Rico & Guam:

1005 Counties              800 Communities    136 Universities       13 Indian Nations
     67 Commercial          50 Military                 28 Government
   146 TsunamiReady® Sites in 10 states, Puerto Rico and Guam
   289 StormReady® Supporters    7 TsunamiReady® Supporters

Here is a link that shows a national map of these StormReady® sites (it does not include StormReady Supporters sites): Click on Wisconsin to obtain more Wisconsin details.

The National Weather Service’s StormReady®  program is part of the Service’s Weather Ready Nation initiative (WRN). The purpose of the WRN initiative is first and foremost to save more lives and livelihoods. By increasing the nation’s weather-readiness, the country will be prepared to protect, mitigate, respond to and recover from weather-related disasters.

Additional preparedness information can be found at this site:

Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.