Auburn Observer Honored with the Thomas Jefferson Award

 The National Weather Service presents its most-prestigious award for cooperative weather observers to Auburn, Neb., volunteer with 31 years of service.
Meteorologist in Charge James Meyer of NOAA’s Omaha weather forecast office will present the Thomas Jefferson Award to Auburn cooperative weather observer Daryl Obermeyer.   Mr. Obermeyer has been a volunteer weather observer since July 11, 1977.

 The presentation will begin at 6:30p.m., September 12, 2008 at the NWS Forecast Office, 6707 N 288th St., Valley, Nebraska. Participants will include National Weather Service officials, Daryl Obermeyer and family members, other relatives and friends, American Meteorologist Society members and local dignitaries.

 The National Weather Service’s most distinguished award for cooperative weather observers is named for Thomas Jefferson, who was one of the first people in the United States to collect daily weather information. Data Program manager Terry F. Landsvork of the Omaha forecast office will be on hand to participate in interviews and provide details about the cooperative observer program, which claims more than 11,000 volunteer observers. Additional information on the program may be obtained from the web page at

Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.