Thomas Jefferson Award Recipient

Thomas Jefferson Award Thomas Jefferson Award
L-R, Bob Bonack-CR DAPM, Terry Landsvork-OAX OPL, Daryl Obermeyer, and Jim Meyer-OAX MIC Omaha/Offutt AMS Chapter members give a round of applause to Thomas Jefferson Award recipient Daryl Obermeyer


Daryl Obermeyer of rural Auburn, Nebraska was presented the U.S. Department of Commerce Thomas Jefferson award at an American Meteorological Society meeting at the NWS office in Valley, Nebraska on September 12th. The Thomas Jefferson award is the most prestigious national award given to Cooperative Weather Observers. The Thomas Jefferson Award honors volunteer weather observers who have provided outstanding and unusual achievements in the field of meteorological observations. The award is named for our third President, who kept an almost unbroken series of weather records from 1776 to 1816. This award is given to very few observers each year, usually not more than five. Daryl received the John Campanius Holm award in 2003 (a prerequisite to receiving the Jefferson award) for his flawless record of unbroken observations from July 11, 1977 to July 2003. Reverand Holm was a Lutheran minister, the first person known to have taken systematic weather observations in the American Colonies.

Return to News Archive is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.