Red Flag Warning
Issued by NWS Goodland, KS

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
000
WWUS83 KGLD 011555
RFWGLD

URGENT - FIRE WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE GOODLAND KS
955 AM MDT WED APR 1 2015

COZ254-KSZ027-028-041-042-020200-
/O.CON.KGLD.FW.W.0007.150401T1600Z-150402T0200Z/
CHEYENNE CO-WALLACE-LOGAN-GREELEY-WICHITA-
955 AM MDT WED APR 1 2015

...RED FLAG WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 8 PM MDT /9 PM CDT/
THIS EVENING FOR WIND AND LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY FOR FIRE WEATHER
ZONES 027...028...041...042 AND 254...

* AFFECTED AREA...IN COLORADO...FIRE WEATHER ZONE 254 CHEYENNE
  CO. IN KANSAS...FIRE WEATHER ZONE 027 WALLACE...FIRE WEATHER
  ZONE 028 LOGAN...FIRE WEATHER ZONE 041 GREELEY AND FIRE
  WEATHER ZONE 042 WICHITA.

* WINDS...WEST 15 TO 25 MPH WITH GUSTS UP TO 35 MPH THEN TURNING
  TO THE NORTH BY EARLY EVENING AND GUSTING UP TO 35 MPH.

* TIMING...WEDNESDAY FROM THE MID MORNING TO THE EARLY EVENING.

* RELATIVE HUMIDITY...AS LOW AS 11 PERCENT.

* TEMPERATURES...RANGING FROM THE UPPER 70S TO MID 80S.

* LIGHTNING...SCATTERED HIGH BASED THUNDERSTORMS COULD PRODUCE A
  FEW DRY LIGHTNING STRIKES.

* IMPACTS...FIRES WILL BEGIN EASILY AND SPREAD QUICKLY.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A RED FLAG WARNING MEANS THAT CRITICAL FIRE WEATHER CONDITIONS
ARE EITHER OCCURRING NOW...OR ARE IMMINENT. A COMBINATION OF
STRONG WINDS...LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY...AND WARM TEMPERATURES CAN
CONTRIBUTE TO EXTREME FIRE BEHAVIOR.

&&

$$

FOR MORE INFORMATION FROM NOAA/NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE VISIT...
HTTP://WEATHER.GOV/GLD (ALL LOWER CASE)


USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.