Coastal Flood Warnings/Watches/Statements
Issued by NWS

Home | Current Version | Previous Version | Text Only | Print | Product List | Glossary On
Versions: 1 2 3 4
000
WHUS42 KTAE 011423
CFWTAE

COASTAL HAZARD MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE TALLAHASSEE FL
1023 AM EDT WED APR 1 2015

...HIGH RISK OF RIP CURRENTS TODAY AT BAY COUNTY BEACHES...

.ONSHORE WINDS AROUND 10 KNOTS AND SURF HEIGHTS AROUND 1 TO 2 FT
TODAY.

FLZ112-020000-
/O.NEW.KTAE.RP.S.0018.150401T1423Z-150402T0000Z/
COASTAL BAY-
1023 AM EDT WED APR 1 2015

...HIGH RIP CURRENT RISK IN EFFECT UNTIL 8 PM EDT THIS EVENING...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN TALLAHASSEE HAS ISSUED A HIGH RIP
CURRENT RISK...WHICH IS IN EFFECT UNTIL 8 PM EDT THIS EVENING.

* TIMING...THROUGH 7 PM CDT TONIGHT.

* SURF...1 TO 2 FEET.

* BEACH FLAGS...RED.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

THERE IS A HIGH RISK OF RIP CURRENTS.

RIP CURRENTS ARE POWERFUL CHANNELS OF WATER FLOWING QUICKLY AWAY
FROM SHORE...WHICH OCCUR MOST OFTEN AT LOW SPOTS OR BREAKS IN THE
SANDBAR AND IN THE VICINITY OF STRUCTURES SUCH AS GROINS...
JETTIES AND PIERS. HEED THE ADVICE OF LIFEGUARDS...BEACH PATROL
FLAGS AND SIGNS.

IF YOU BECOME CAUGHT IN A RIP CURRENT...YELL FOR HELP. REMAIN
CALM...DO NOT EXHAUST YOURSELF AND STAY AFLOAT WHILE WAITING FOR
HELP. IF YOU HAVE TO SWIM OUT OF A RIP CURRENT...SWIM PARALLEL TO
SHORE AND BACK TOWARD THE BEACH WHEN POSSIBLE. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO
SWIM DIRECTLY AGAINST A RIP CURRENT AS YOU WILL TIRE QUICKLY.

&&

$$


USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.