www.crh.noaa.gov   
NOAA logo - Click to go to the NOAA homepage NWS logo
, MI
Enter Your "City, ST" or zip code   

Lakeshore Flood Advisory

LAKESHORE HAZARD MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
1059 PM EDT THU OCT 30 2014

INZ003-MIZ077-311100-
/O.CON.KIWX.LS.Y.0001.141031T1200Z-141101T0900Z/
LA PORTE-BERRIEN-
1059 PM EDT THU OCT 30 2014 /959 PM CDT THU OCT 30 2014/

...LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 8 AM EDT /7 AM
CDT/ FRIDAY TO 5 AM EDT /4 AM CDT/ SATURDAY...

A LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 8 AM EDT /7 AM
CDT/ FRIDAY TO 5 AM EDT /4 AM CDT/ SATURDAY.

VERY STRONG NORTH WINDS WILL DEVELOP ON LAKE MICHIGAN FRIDAY
RESULTING IN HIGH WAVES WHICH WILL CAUSE MINOR BEACH EROSION AND
LAKESHORE FLOODING. THE WAVES WILL ALSO BE HIGH ENOUGH TO WASH
OVER PIERS AND BREAKWALLS. DO NOT VENTURE ONTO PIERS OR
BREAKWALLS WHILE THE HIGH WAVES ARE OCCURRING OR RUN THE RISK OF
BEING SWEPT INTO THE LAKE.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A LAKESHORE FLOOD ADVISORY INDICATES THAT ONSHORE WINDS WILL
GENERATE FLOODING OF LOW AREAS ALONG THE LAKESHORE.

&&

$$








Wind Advisory

URGENT - WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE NORTHERN INDIANA
953 PM EDT THU OCT 30 2014

...STRONG NORTHWEST WINDS FRIDAY...

.STRONG NORTHWEST WINDS WILL DEVELOP EARLY FRIDAY AS AN UPPER
LEVEL SYSTEM STRENGTHENS ACROSS THE REGION. NORTHWEST WIND GUSTS
OF AROUND 45 MPH ARE POSSIBLE FROM FRIDAY MORNING THROUGH
PORTIONS OF FRIDAY EVENING. WIND GUSTS MAY APPROACH 55 MPH CLOSER
TO THE LAKE MICHIGAN SHORELINE ACROSS BERRIEN AND LA PORTE
COUNTIES. WINDS WILL BEGIN TO DIMINISH LATE FRIDAY EVENING AS THE
STORM SYSTEM BEGINS TO PULL OFF TO THE EAST.

INZ003-MIZ077-311000-
/O.CON.KIWX.WI.Y.0003.141031T1200Z-141101T0300Z/
LA PORTE-BERRIEN-
INCLUDING THE CITIES OF...MICHIGAN CITY...LA PORTE...NILES...
BENTON HARBOR...ST. JOSEPH...BUCHANAN
953 PM EDT THU OCT 30 2014 /853 PM CDT THU OCT 30 2014/

...WIND ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 8 AM EDT /7 AM CDT/ TO
11 PM EDT /10 PM CDT/ FRIDAY...

HAZARDOUS WEATHER...

 * TIMING...FRIDAY MORNING THROUGH FRIDAY EVENING.

 * WINDS...NORTHWEST 25 TO 40 MPH WITH GUSTS AS HIGH AS 55 MPH.

IMPACTS...

 * DRIVING MAY BE DIFFICULT...ESPECIALLY FOR HIGH PROFILE
   VEHICLES.

 * SMALL TREE BRANCHES MAY BE BROUGHT DOWN.

 * ISOLATED POWER OUTAGES POSSIBLE.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A WIND ADVISORY MEANS THAT SUSTAINED WINDS OF 30 MPH...OR GUSTS
OVER 45 MPH ARE EXPECTED. WINDS THIS STRONG CAN MAKE DRIVING
DIFFICULT...ESPECIALLY FOR HIGH PROFILE VEHICLES. USE EXTRA
CAUTION.

&&

$$




National Weather Service
Central Region Headquarters
Kansas City, Missouri
Last Modified: March 29, 2004
Privacy Policy
Disclaimer