SAME Codes for Western South Dakota & Northeastern Wyoming

Programmable weather radio receivers allow you to set the county or counties for which you want to receive warnings and block out alerts for storms that won’t affect you. The feature is called SAME, for Specific Area Message Encoding. When programming your SAME weather radio receiver, you may want to add a neighboring county if you live near the county line. For example, Belle Fourche residents may want to receive warnings for Crook County (Sundance). This will only work if the adjacent county is included on the same NOAA Weather Radio transmitter (so residents of Sturgis cannot receive warnings for Lawrence County (Deadwood) on the Rapid City transmitter).Use the following codes for the counties in western South Dakota and northeastern Wyoming served by NOAA Weather Radio:

South Dakota

bullet Bennett County SD: 046007
bullet Butte County SD: 046019
bullet Custer County SD: 046033
bullet Fall River County SD: 046047
bullet Haakon County SD: 046055
bullet Harding County SD: 046063
bullet Jackson County SD: 046071
bullet Lawrence County SD: 046081
bullet Western Meade County SD (WEST of Highway 79 and Ellsworth AFB), including Sturgis, Tilford, Piedmont, Black Hawk, Ellsworth AFB, Bear Butte State Park, Ft. Meade, and Interstate 90: 446093
bullet Southern Meade County SD (EAST of Highway 79 and Ellsworth AFB and SOUTH of Highway 34), including Union Center, Enning, White Owl, Plainview, Howes Corner, Hereford, Elm Springs: 846093
bullet Northern Meade County SD (NORTH of Highway 34), including Faith, Mud Butte, Stoneville, and Red Owl: 246093
bullet Mellette County SD: 046095
bullet Western Pennington County SD (WEST of Hisega, Rockerville, and Hayward), including Hill City, Keystone, Mt. Rushmore, Deerfield, Rochford, Johnson Siding, Pactola Reservoir, Sheridan Lake, Deerfield Reservoir, and Highway 385: 446103
bullet Rapid City Area SD (CENTRAL Pennington County), including Black Hawk, Box Elder, Ellsworth AFB, Rapid Valley, Rapid City Regional Airport, and Highway 79: 546103
bullet Eastern Pennington County SD (EAST of Box Elder and Caputa), including New Underwood, Wasta, Wall, Quinn, Creighton, western Badlands National Park, Farmingdale, Scenic, Interstate 90, and Highway 44: 646103
bullet Perkins County SD: 046105
bullet Shannon County SD: 046113
bullet Todd County SD: 046121
bullet Tripp County SD: 046123
bullet Ziebach County SD: 046137


bullet Campbell County WY (use only with the Sheridan station): 056005
bullet Crook County WY: 056011
bullet Weston County WY: 056045

Use the following codes with the GILLETTE station:
bullet Northern Campbell County WY (NORTH of Taylor, Cow Creek, & Spring Creek Roads), including Weston, Recluse, and Spotted Horse: 256005
bullet Central Campbell County WY, including Gillette, Rozet, Gillette-Campbell Co Airport, and Interstate-90: 556005
bullet Southern Campbell County WY (SOUTH of 4-J School and Highway 59/Belle Fourche River) including Wright and Pine Tree Junction: 856005

A list of SAME codes for the entire United States is available on the National Weather Service Headquarters’ NOAA Weather Radio Internet site or by calling 1-888-697-7263.

To find out if NOAA Weather Radio broadcasts are available at your home, office, or travel destination, contact your local National Weather Service office for a brochure listing locations and frequencies of stations nationwide or visit the NOAA Weather Radio homepage.

Back to NOAA Weather Radio is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.